We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice, still a little bit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Brno Palace
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Goettingen, Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good choice, still a little bit pricey”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I picked up this hotel because of the pretty pictures I saw at booking.com, and yes, the hotel and its modern design is really nice. Although my room was rather dark toned with "antique-styled" furniture, altogether it looked distinguished and not too pretentious. Bathroom with babble bath was very clean, as the spacious room itself. They have to best towels ever, they smelled so fresh and not artificial at all! I was glad that I could check-in early in the morning (few hours before the hour indicated in my reservation) and leave my luggage in the room.

But if a certain location wish to be a 4* hotel and already has very high prices (it's Brno, not Prague!), my expectations are also high. Although the staff at the reception was helpful and friendly, they work in a very slow way. Quite disturbing. As to my deluxe room - the bed was comfortable but rather tiny - I would rather expect at least queen size - mine was sized like my dormitory bed I used to sleep on few years ago. There was enough free space in the room for bigger sized bad. I missed tea facilities and slippers for very cold floor in the bathroom. They could improve the quality of the breakfast's products: awful bakery, not really nice-looking salmon, coffee - total disaster. On the other side - best scramble eggs I ever had in a hotel. Do not go the the hotel bar! They cannot make proper cocktails - their Bellini was just faked, tequila sunrise tasted badly.

I know only one other hotel in Brno (Old Town Hotel), but it's located rather far away from the city centre, although I would rather recommend it than Barceló, which is perfectly located but too expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me_not_likey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    213
    45
    14
    12
See reviews for
111
310
41
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
111 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Having stayed in this hotel for one night I can fully recommend it. The room was very spacious, the bathroom was clean and modern. The room was nicely decorated, the windows were soundproof, waterpressure in the shower perfect and there were some very comfy towels.
The location is perfect, right in the old town. Breakfast was also very good, very nice choice of food!I can really recommend the hotel and if I ever come back to Brno will stay there again.
ps. the only thing to skip are the drinks at the bar, even though they aren't expensive, they're not the best ones...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed 2 nights for business in a deluxe room. I thought the hotel was stylish and clean with modern decor inside a traditional building. The room was comfortable and I found the service to be very good. I did not get a chance to use the hotel facilities like the spa.

Reception was very organised, efficient and helpful throughout my stay.

Minor coments from my perspective was the wifi was quite slow, and I prefer my double bed not to be made up of two singles pushed together.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel 23-25 November and only have good things to say about the hotel. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from where the airport bus drops you (it drops outside the Grand Hotel). The airport bus costs 25kc for a ticket valid for 60 minutes, which is more than enough to get you to the centre of town it took us 20 minutes. The buses leave every half-hour and you can buy a ticket from inside the airport either out of the machine if you have change, or from the little shop inside if you don’t have change. I believe you can also buy from the bus driver – although this depends on if he/she has change and will cost a little bit more.

Our check in at the hotel was dealt with professional and friendly, we were allocated room 405 on the 4th floor with a nice view over the park. One of the best things to mention about the hotel is how sound proofed the window’s are, we could hear no noise from outside despite a main road being close by. The other best thing about the hotel is the stunning design - everything is very tasteful and modern I loved it if only I could apply the same deco at home. The bedroom was of a good size and well equipped there was an in room safe, robe, toiletries – even a toothbrush and paste in case we forgot ours!, mini bar and a pillow menu. The only negative was that 2 single beds where pushed together - so not very couple friendly. However, it did save arguing over the duvet!

We took breakfast both mornings in the hotel as it was included in our rate – it was plentiful you could have hot breakfast or continental and it was help yourself. We had drinks one evening in the hotel bar after returning to the hotel and whilst more expensive than in-town no way near the prices of other hotel bars in Europe so was a pleasant retreat although they did stop serving at 12.30.

I would recommend this hotel – we got a great deal on hotels.com, 2 night with breakfast for £157. I cannot comment on the Spa or hotel restaurant as we did not use these.

On the day of our departure we asked if we could keep the room for an extra hour and this was possible, they also looked after our luggage till departure time and lent us an umbrella. Perfect if we are staying in Brno we will return to this hotel – it was everything we wanted it to be!

A little tip if you want to visit the Starobrno brewery it is a 10 minute walk down hill from the hotel, the brewery do guided tours just email them in advance – it costs 150czk and you get the tour, a souvenir glass and 2 beers – good value, fun and informative.

If you find this review helpful please don't forget to give it a helpful vote!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeveragaininKavos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

My fourth stay here and as always it is clean and the rooms are excellent value. It's a superb hotel in a great location with really nice facilities. This time round I found a failing in respect of room service. It was 2310 and I was told that room service finishes at 2300. They could do me a cheese sandwich but that's all. So, even though they advertise late night service, if cheese is not your thing make sure you call early.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medichops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stay regularly in the Barcelo Palace. It is a clean and nicely decorated hotel located in the city center of Brno. The rooms are large and have very comfortable beds. The service of the hotel staff is perfect. The restaurant has an excellent menu with friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We where 8 friend visiting Brno for a long weekend, we spent 3 nights at thehotel. Everyone in the group was very satisfied with the hotel. The location is very good. It was short distance to a lot of the sights. All our rooms was big and clean, and very quiet, no trafic. If you needed help from the staff they was always there to help you. The breakfast was very good and tasy. If you consider visiting Brno this is a place that we recommend, it is good value for the money.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EventReiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.3 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 56 in Brno
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel International
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Brno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Ricc
Hotel Royal Ricc
#11 of 56 in Brno
174 reviews
5.4 mi away
Maximus Resort
Maximus Resort
#4 of 56 in Brno
193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 56 in Brno
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Brno Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Brno Palace

Property: Barcelo Brno Palace
Address: Shilingrovo namesti 265/2, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Brno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Brno Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Brno Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comsa Brno Palace Hotel Brno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing