We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cheap place”
Review of Hostel Fleda Brno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Fleda Brno
Ranked #18 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Brno
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have stayed at Fleda with a group of friends last month and it was okey. I mean, if you want to stay in Brno and dont pay much, it is a great deal. It is not far from the city centre too, Vila Tugendhat is pretty close. The services are simple, but I really loved how they designed the place, the colours and the furniture is great! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Moreover, there is a cool club and bar downstairs, where we started and finished our pub tour around city.

Room Tip: If you travel in a group, it is good to ask for your own room. You do not even have to pay all beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 49 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Worst hostel I have ever been. I stayed in a room with one more friend for €19 per night wich is a reasonable price. Now we know where the price comes from. There was gum amd dirt on the floor, the shower was disgusting, the toilet seat was broken and there was a party going on till 4 next door. Also the city was not much. We were supposed to stay for three days, but after just one we fled to Vienna. Don't waist your money on this [--] place!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betilde, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Fleda Brno, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hello Beberson,
I am sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with Fleda. To be honest, we were aware of this situation, it was a disaster, so we decided to do some radical steps, changed the management and turned the situation 180° around! We have cleaned it all, painted the walls colourfully, bought new furniture and equipment.
If you visit Brno again, come to Fleda and we will convince you.
Cheers,
Betilde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Hi there!
Brno is definitely a place worth seeing. I was there in the Fall of 2010 just for a brief visit with my girlfriend. I read the reviews after we booked a room in Fleda hostel so my expectations were low but I don't mind cheap old grafittied furniture or filthy bathrooms, and I don't even mind the loud music pub under the hostel.
As we came and and checked in there were two rooms joint together. We were told that since it is a room for 6 people, no one else was going tonight. So we let our luggage in the room and went in the city. As we expected, the rooms were very poorly furnished, the shower was half-broken, but it did not matter much to me.
When we came back, to our surprise, we found that 3 guys from Sweden got the keys from the room as well and got the same room!!! The staff told us that its just a business and that the Swedish guys did not mind our presence in the room. Enough said, we took asked for our money back and left it. Luckily, although it was in the middle of the night, we found a nice place in the centre of the city for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Any other hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank V K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I don't think this Hostel deserves the reputation it appears to have developed, obviously it is no Hilton but it is friendly and has a cheap bar and a very nice cellar bar. During our stay here we didn't have any problems and enjoyed the chilled feel it had. The nightclub was only open Friday night so the noise levels aren't too bad though i do agree the tram is a little but for the money i would happy recommend staying here for the genuine Czech feel.

Room Tip: Room 5 we had was fine, nice wood floor and large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jw238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

A group of 11 lads booked into here for one night of a stag weekend (Prague, Brno, Bratislava).

You arrive on the main road to a graffitti ridden alleyway that stinks of urine and sweat. After checking in we made our way up to room 8 (if i recall correctly) which was at the top of what seemed like a derelict stairwell. On opening the door we were greeted by a small kitchenette which I think housed every form of bacteria and disease known to man.

We had two bedrooms in our area, both containing three sets of bunk beds. The paper thin 'mattresses' were stained beyond recognition, the carpet was coverered with and ingrained with hair and there was blood stains on the grimey padded door.

Onto the bathroom! - shower door was hanging off with the panelling smashed. The toilet hadn't seen bleach or any form of cleanliness in its entire existence and was thick with dirt and faeces in the bowl.

It is the most horrible accomodation I have ever seen and although I like a little luxury, I genuinely don't mind roughing it on occasion. This was just too far.

I, along with another of the stag party, checked out and stayed in a 4 star hotel about 4-5 minutes walk away called Bobycentrum (adjoining the karting place). We paid a little more but were able to sleep, wash and eat in a safe, secure and clean environment and it was well worth doing.

Even if you are on a stringent budget, there has to be better hostels or cheap hotels around, that are 1,000,000% better than this!

Room Tip: Filthy - (to sum up)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

If you like staying in crack dens then this is the place for you. I'm backpacking around europe and have stayed in a few hostels, but this is NOT to be considered as a place to sit, nevermind sleep. When we arrived we walked under a filthy graffitied tramp like alleyway and came to an abandoned bar. We were told by two druggy looking people to wait, so we did for about 10 minutes, until a greasy man beckoned us and threw the keys at us. He was extremely rude and didn't care about us one bit. We went up some dirty graffitied old steps and came to a corridor which was cold, graffitied and to our horror the corridor to our room. There were two disgusting toilets in the corridor which have probably never seen cleaning products, and some old broken kitchen appliances stuffed to the side of the corridor. Vulgar disgusting graffiti EVERYWHERE. We walked into our room which had two bunkbeds at either end of a dArk damp dog hair infested floor, so couldn't even sleep with my partner in our promised double room. The room had a dirty metal prison desk in the corner and a shelf and an old smelly stained bean bag covering even bigger stains on the floor. The staff seem to just work in the bar and just take your money and put you in an empty crack den. I literally sat down and cried when I saw my room and that is not like me. There is a grotty club beneath you and they play the loudest music until half 4 every morning, so you can't even sleep. You must absolutely not stay here! It is a drugs nest, not a hostel, seriously!!! You are not safe here, from people or disease!!! This shouldn't even be considered as available accommodation. Brno is disgusting too, just don't even bother.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannahmonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Do not stay at this hostel it is terrible. We were greeted after waiting at the hostel for 15 minutes by a less than enthusiastic man who didn't seem to care we were staying at the hostel, and seemed surprised that we wanted breakfast. Then we were given our keys and found our room up some grotty graffiti ridden stairs that felt like we were entering a top notch crack den.

Our room looked as if it had been home to hundreds of abandoned dogs as there were hairs all over the floor. Then around 10 o clock until 4.30 in the morning, there was extremely loud terrible base music coming from the club underneath which made it rather hard to sleep.

The breakfast was very basic served in the seemingly abandoned bar downstairs. The only thing good about breakfast was the music they played.

The toilets were damp and had not been cleaned for ages. Do not stay here, the owners don't seem to give a flying monkey about this place so it probably won't change. Brno seems terrible too so don't stay here go to Prague instead.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#9 of 57 in Brno
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#11 of 57 in Brno
175 reviews
1.0 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#4 of 57 in Brno
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hostel Eleven
Hostel Eleven
#22 of 56 in Brno
52 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostel Cafe Mitte
Hostel Cafe Mitte
#2 of 56 in Brno
145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostel John Galt
Hostel John Galt
#34 of 56 in Brno
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Fleda Brno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Fleda Brno

Address: Shtefanikova 95/24, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Brno
Price Range: $11 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Fleda Brno 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to enjoy your stay the best way possible, but not pay too much? Come to Fléda! Fleda is a pulsing place, low-cost, but cozy, with all the facilities a backpacker needs, and many opportunities to have fun around. WHAT IS THE ATMOSPHERE LIKE? Hostel Fleda is a place where history meets the present day- here you can feel the breath of the old days together with the contemporary rhythm of the city. How is this possible? Situating a centre for free-spirited travellers and the most modern venue for musicians in a building which used to house an art nouveau cabaret did the trick. WHAT HAVE YOU HEARD ABOUT US? Hostel Fleda is the oldest hostel in Brno. We have had our ups and downs throughout the years, but we have pulled together all our professional experience , improved the place the best way we could and are ready to fulfill all the traveller´s needs and wishes like never before! Do you want to know exactly what we have done? Ok then: we have painted the walls tastefully, bought antique furniture and accessories, cleaned the bathrooms with a toothbrush (no kidding) and livened up the balconies by planting flowers and herbs. We do not want to pretend that Hostel Fleda will ever be a fancy three star hotel; what´s much more important for us is that the place has a soul. WHERE IS IT? Hostel Fleda is located close to the city centre and the most popular attractions: it's five minutes by tram or fifteen minutes walk through Luzanky, the oldest park in the city, a very popular place to have a picnic or play a game. The famous UNESCO-listed Villa Tugendhat is just behind this park. WHAT´S IN AND AROUND? Hostel Fléda offers both private rooms and dorms, which consists of bunk beds or single beds with good mattresses and comfortable pillows and blankets. Lockers are available in every room. Extra beds and childrens beds are also at your disposal , and pets are welcome. Sheets and towels are available for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Fleda Brno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing