We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better drink than food, but great drink though!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pegas

Pegas
Ranked #3 of 872 Restaurants in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Pub, Czech, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better drink than food, but great drink though!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

It's hard to compare restaurants when your knowledge of the local cuisine is poor. I thought it interesting, however, to take the time to recommend Pegas. Their home-made beers are delicious, and the place has a very cosy, pleasant atmosphere. My steak was charred, to be honest, but the rest of the food was definitely hearty and good enough. I'd go back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    222
    88
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice beer, not so nice staff”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The restaurant (and hotel) makes their own beer which really worths visiting and tasting. Nevertheless the service and staff behaviour is usually very bad. Just have 2 beers and visit other great places in Brno!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great beer and great Czech food!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We visited as a group of six for the sole purpose of sampling their excellent on-site brewed beer and wash down plates of meat, potato products and kraut. Excellent all round, it was a Friday night and heaving so we had to wait for a table but what do you expect from such a popular place. Once seated we had beer flowing and food was excellent Czech fare.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moretea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service awfull”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Visited tonight after reading great reviews. Appreciate a Friday night and you probably need to book but we were early so happy to have a drink or two and wait. Asked twice for a table and told no, waiters just walked off! Asked for a beer whilst waiting, twenty minute wait then plonked down in front of us- clear we were waiting for a table but no one even bothered speaking to us and played dumb when tried to speak to them- found a table and sat down and the waiter came over and spoke good English and said 'reserved, you can't sit here, not I'll try and find you somewhere else. Was in there one hour and ignored and left like they didn't care at all about helping an English couple out. Hugely disappointed

Helpful?
1 Thank Mattlondon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
233 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“If you want typical Czech”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Well, we have been to this place many times. We always liked especially their home-crafted beer, try the light one with lemon, it is great! The meals are usually typical Czech, which means they may feel little fat or salty to foreigners. But tastes great as well :-) Staff is good. I only dislike one thing and that is the smoking and non-smoking part being close to each other, so you always stink when you go out, even you were in the non-smoking part. Also be sure to make a reservation, as this place is very popular and it has a great location!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blodenwedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pegas also viewed

Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 
Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 

Been to Pegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing