We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Service a bit Slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Zelena Kocka

Zelena Kocka
Ranked #124 of 872 Restaurants in Brno
Cuisines: Bar, Czech, Central European, European
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Food, Service a bit Slow”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've visited the Zelena Kocka location on Kounicova Street and the one just off Ceska Street in the centre multiple times.

Both offer good quality food and outdoor seating during the summer months. The atmosphere in both locations is largely rustic and comfortable.

I've usually received somewhat faster service at the Kounicova location than at the Ceska one. However, most of my visits to the Ceska location have been around the lunch hour when it was much busier than usual.

If you're on a schedule, particularly around lunch time, you might want to look elsewhere for a meal as you might be in for a bit of a wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeyondPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food/ bad service”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The food is very good and generous portions are served but the servers are slow and rude. my husband doesn't speak Czech and didn't know how to give waitress the tip and she literally threw coins at him, he usually just leaves the tip on the table or give it when we leave. but this way we got so angry, we were picking money from the floor where they fell as she threw them back....

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a place for a quick drink...”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Avoid this place if you are just hanging around in the downtown of Brno and get some thirst... Even if they offer some excellent kinds of beer, you must be really patient to quench your thirst... It was not the first time I visited this restaurant, but I remember every time we had to wait at least 5 minutes for the waiters just to notice us... Last time (and I beg it was really my last time there) this annoying waiting with terrible thirst lasted for 10 minutes and ended with us standing up and leaving the place without having been served or even greeted on a normal Sunday afternoon when the place was not packed at all....

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NenezZeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average menus for reasonable price”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Sometimes the service is slow, especially during lunch time

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Michal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

as a steak fan I have to say - one of the best steaks in Brno and for very good price too!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Iv O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zelena Kocka also viewed

Brno, South Moravian Region
 
Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 

Been to Zelena Kocka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing