We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel in the Czech Republic”
Review of Hotel Celerin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Celerin
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Telc
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Favorite hotel in the Czech Republic”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

The town was lovely, the hotel is right on the square, our room (number 4) was at the front of the hotel and overlooked the square with fantastic views. The room was large and well appointed. The other room (5) had lots of character and good views also. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was excellent (one of our favorites in Europe). Don't miss Telc, a quiet hidden treasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the square. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
42
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

First the positives: the service is EXCELLENT: the cleaning lady, the receptionist and the owner are all delightful and exceptionally so. There is always someone at hand to help you and you are always assisted with a smile. This is priceless!
Also, I found the bed - though basic - very comfortable and I did get a good night sleep despite waking up at dawn each night (the curtains are light in colour and let in too much light). The view (my room looked over the garden at the back) was soothing and it was a pleasure to have the windows open and let in a bird song.

BUT ...

for the price asked, the shower should not be clogging up, the carpets should go, the lighting should be a bit brighter, the furniture less 90s, the bathroom less "clinical", the walls a bit more sound-proof ...

Basically, back in 2001, when I first stayed in Celerin, it was the best hotel in town. With a make over, it could still be that ... the potential is there: wonderful position, wonderful building and wonderful staff .. but not with those carpets on the floor!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were on the third floor facing the town square. It was very warm and stuffy upon entering but after opening the windows and turning on the fan it cooled off. Service was friendly and helpful.
The room was very quiet as is the town. We got a great nights rest. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean but could use some fabric changes and cosmetic dusting up. Bathroom was on the smaller size but I would recommend this place to a weary traveler. The town is nothing special other than the facades.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popeyebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This was the second hotel we stayed in on our cycling trip from Prague to Budapest. The location was excellent and the staff was helpful and friendly. We had a triple which was enormous. The furnishings were very dated but room was very clean. The only negative was that there was no shower curtain and after the 3 of us showered we needed many towels to mop the floor!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

1. Very attentive. The clerk went to book a place to park
2. We were served immediately when we require two cups of hot water for tea
3. The Breakfest is excellent
4. The rooms and bathroom very clean
5. Recommended two great restaurants

Room Tip: 1. Located in the great square 2. It has a grocery store next to a stop mandatory
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio Seiji I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I can highly recommend this hotel, as it is well positioned at the main square of Telc and the staff will make you feel very welcoming and is always smiling and professional at the same time. Rooms are spacious and clean, however the decorating and furniture needs to be improved as the rooms look like in a typical Czech hotel 20 years ago. This is the only down downfall and why I can't give a 5-star score. Also the price would be more reasonable if the rooms are enhanced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KubaJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberchirder, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel, which is easy to find by car, is tucked in a corner of the architecturally amazing Square in Telc and our room at the front of the building gave us a partial view. We received a warm welcome, including tourist literature, from the charming lady at reception and our room was spacious and comfortable with a well-appointed bathroom.
No evening meals were provided but a pub (U Marusky) and restaurant (U Zachariase) are within five minutes' walk. We had an excellent buffet breakfast in the basement looking out on to a garden area.
Our only problem was the lack of a lift, which left us (over-70s) to carry luggage up and down a steep staircase, with no offer of assistance. For this reason we have awarded a Very Good rather than Excellent overall rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telc
19.2 mi away
EA Hotel Joseph 1699
EA Hotel Joseph 1699
#1 of 3 in Trebic
79 reviews
13.7 mi away
Besidka
Besidka
#1 of 1 in Slavonice
28 reviews
24.0 mi away
Chateau Heralec - Boutique Hotel & Spa by L'OCCITANE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Hotel Concertino Zlata Husa
Hotel Concertino Zlata Husa
#1 of 3 in Jindrichuv Hradec
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chornitzer House
The Chornitzer House
#1 of 22 in Telc
60 reviews
10.1 mi away
Resort Svata Katerina
Resort Svata Katerina
#1 of 1 in Pocatky
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celerin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celerin

Property: Hotel Celerin
Address: Namesti Zachariase z Hradce 43, Telc, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > Vysocina Region > Telc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Telc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celerin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celerin is a charming family-owned hotel in the heart of Telč - right on the square. We offer nice and spatious rooms and friendly enviroment. You're welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Celerin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celerin Hotel Telc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing