We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau with piece of Czech history”

State Chateau Telc (Statni zamek Telc)
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Telc
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Valasske Mezirici, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
145 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Chateau with piece of Czech history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Chateau is one of the most beautiful in Czech republic, more than 60 Czech fairy tales were shooted here and a lot of history take place here. There is big collection of arts, weapons, throphies and most beautiful are decorative cellings. Interesting about them is that they are a lot motives against the church ( like burning pope, devil with symbol of founder of castle, jew riding the pig etc. ) . Definetly worth of visiting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stanislavholis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    37
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
1,043 reviews
942 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
“The gem of Moravian Renaissance architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

In addition of visiting the central urban plaza in Telc, with the rows of picturesque renaissance houses, we went,accompanied by our tour guide, to see the State Chateau or Statni zamek Telc, that is located very near, to the west from plaza, toward the Telc Creek or rather we can name it as Telc Pond. There are three of them, that surround this old town quart.
This Chateau is very attractive by its gothic style of architecture and You can see that original interiors are preserved in very good condition, that's only telling us about the very careful approach of the owners to its heritage. The most noticeable influence is of Italian art on the Czech territory and also of its variations in the area north of the Alps.
Very nice, indeed, are the ceilings in every room, You pass through,painted and decorated in own way. So, You can perceive here the paintings, woodcarvings and trophies.
Also, much impressive is the Golden Hall, stretching across the entire wing of the younger Renaissance Northern Palace, with some beautiful portraits of the local historic persons.
Too, You may perceive the carvings on the squares of the waffle ceilings. These are the mainly figures of ancient gods and mythological heroes.
There is a Church Tower, within the walls of the Chateau, that we mounted to take some wonderful view on the old town Telc and pleasant surroundings of the countryside, at the top of it.
Not to miss when You are in Telc.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oleg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Famous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Actually this chateau is probably not the best place around, but it’s quite famous due some fairy tales were filmed here and because it is in Telc. On the other hand it is just a regular chateau with common historic interiors, but you know. When you come, you should go to see it ;-) In fact for someone it may be confusing that even to entry garden you need to pay a fee.
But when you are a fan of history or chateaus you should go there as it is always somehow interesting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank warman_cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Check out the ceilings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent a delightful afternoon at the Chateau, mainly with a tour guide (which is the only way you can go inside). The history of the place is most impressive. The ceilings in each of the rooms were so unique and gorgeous. Unfortunately, photography was not allowed, so I couldn't take any photos of them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Telc is such a small town, you can see it all. We did not go through a tour of the Chatueau (because of time), but enjoyed some of the grounds. We did, however, go up into the church tower there to see the huge bells and the magnificent views at the top. The countryside was beautiful! We felt we were looking out over a magical town, nearly expecting to see Willy Wonka at any moment!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Chateau Telc (Statni zamek Telc) also viewed

 

Been to State Chateau Telc (Statni zamek Telc)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing