We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rabbit!”

U Kostela (near church)
Ranked #3,962 of 5,470 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Description: This traditional restaurant with a rich history is situated in a house built in the 16th century. Not far from the Charles Bridges. Right on one of the most popular tourist routes known as the Royal Way (Královská cesta). Despite this, it has preserved its quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The interior is cosy, in the period style with spectacular vaulted ceilings with fragments of old hand paintings inspired by G. Arcimboldo. In the summer season, the restaurant's large windows are open directly onto the Lesser Quarter Square (Malostranské náměstí) and it is an ideal place for sitting back and enjoying your meal and the atmosphere of Old Prague. Our cuisine is modern and offers in addition to traditional Czech dishes several original specialities with game and duck, as well as burgers and pizza. Menu cards are available in Czech, English, German, Russian, French, Italian, Spanish and Portuguese. We have PILSNER URQUELL, traditional Pilsner lager beer, on tap. Our wine collection offers many quality wines from all over the world and includes also wines from Moravian winery MUSIL, whose wines are presented at the “Wine Salon” (collection of top 100 Czech wines) each year.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good rabbit!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was in this restaurant 5 years ago. Now, the food still very good, but the staff was rude. The rabbit is very good, one of the best! The place is nice and the location is excellent- near by Charles bridge. Just need to improve the service quality!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olasBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    85
    60
    36
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unfriendly Service & Hidden Charges”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. The staff where unfriendly showing very poor customer service. The food was overpriced and mediocre. The only positive factor about this place came from the slightly inebriated piano player who treated dinners to a fun repertoire from the 1980’s. There was also a hidden service charge in the hand written scribbled bill we received as well as an extra charge for a basket of bread we neither ordered nor ate. My partner and I were charged twice for this bread which we didn’t request or enjoy. Stay well away, not a pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington D.C.
1 review
“WATCH OUT & WATCH YOUR MONEY”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

please watch out in prague first time here of someone well travelled,and the rip offs started right airport taxi 500kr to hotel driver spoke perfect English checked it was 500kr tohotel,once we got there we were informed that was each person,so if there were 4 of us 2,kr000,thankfully he got 500kr and went onto abuse us.U Kostela,bought us bread never asked for them charged us both,put a service charge on we never knew about,while also gave a tip,bill was written down could not understand any of the writing.money exchange office tried a rip off too,with a much lower rate than advertised. come on prague great place,but we don,t come too get ripped off,and worry our way round the city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cardyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had food poisoning after eating in this Restaurant!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

One thing up front: DO NOT got there!! The staff is more than unfriendly, the food is greasy and you are being pushed to pay tip. If that wouldn't be bad enough, I was extremely sick after eating their Goulash in a bread so that I had to throw it all up during the night. I have still cramps in my stomach from dining experience over there. Just don't go!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluiceberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again! Terrible Restaurant!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I cant recommend this Restaurant. For the first view The prices are fair , but if the meels are served by the unfriendly Service u won't Pay anything for this untasty foods! Everthing we got was Coverd by Old fat. Absolutely disgusting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Surfreplica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Kostela (near church) also viewed

 

Been to U Kostela (near church)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing