We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudeness at its best”
Review of U Cerneho vola

U Cerneho vola
Ranked #736 of 5,470 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Hradcany & Letna
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rudeness at its best”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Difficult to recommend. Go only if you like to be patronized. I asked for an English menu, as the ones on the tables were in Czech. The Rude waiter ignored me twice. Only when I blocked his way in the kitchen 5 minutes after, he swore in Czech and gave me one. He charged us extra money for bread that we didn't even order. He tried to charge us twice the amount of money for beers we had already paid. I was about to start a quarrel & he backed off after realising his mistake.
No smiley faces here. The only good thing was that it was smokers only.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michalis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    128
    51
    19
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Kozel beer”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

It's good place to dring fresh and tasty Kozel beer. But the place seems to be a bit touristy on my opinion.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting and authentic”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Quelle surprise ! Outside belies the character of the beer Kellar - £1 a part pint ( froth excluded) - no cocktails here, and then there's the smoke - like going back in time ! It is very much for the locals, and why not? It's a refreshing change that somewhere is not tourist focused but remains true to the local people that it serves.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsakarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing really special”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Rudeness seems to be a "trademark" of the place, which makes it a good spot to enjoy the typical feeling of a czech pub in a "old times" location outside of touristic tours (lot of locals sitting at the big tables).
On the other side our experience wasn't that good: went there to eat something; after saying several times we where there to eat and beeing asked to take something to drink first, they told us there was nothing to eat anymore. It was rather late (8pm, they close at 10pm), but not beeing told eating was out of question since the beginning, sounds more like tourist scam than rudeness.

Beer is cheap, anyway, given the amount of great microbreweries in city, there're better places if you are into beer (like Pivovarsky Klub and Strahovsky Klaster).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old Czech Pub”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This pub is one of the last real old pubs in the center of Prague. They can offer you really good beer and mainly perfect atmosphere. Only disadvantage is, that it is only small chance to sit there, and usually you will neet to stand. Bud it is really the best place to visit Old Czech pub.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Cerneho vola also viewed

 

Been to U Cerneho vola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing