We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Essential People Watching”
Review of Cafe Slavia

Cafe Slavia
Ranked #28 of 148 Dessert in Prague
Cuisines: Cafe, Czech, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
499 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,195 helpful votes
“Essential People Watching”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

A visit to Café Slavia is almost a tradition for us, an essential place for people watching, especially if you can get a window seat. On our most recent visit, early on a Saturday evening, it was very busy but we managed to find a table. Once we had caught the attention of the waiter, the service was very efficient, all things considered.

The Budvar is reasonably priced, the coffee very good and some of the cakes absolutely fabulous – try the Sacher ( chocolate cake )

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fatbear2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    532
    180
    94
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always a great meeting place”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A popular mainstay over the years, I've used it for meetings because it's central and well-known. This time I discovered that they charge more for a light coke than for a beer! Also, we had an ice cream dessert which was to die for.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unreliable”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have been to Kavarna Slavia about 5 times, and each experience is different. This is due to the staff. Food and atmosphere-Great, service-unreliable. It hasn't been particularly awful, you just feel neglected by some of the members of staff at certain points, and they have been quite abrupt. I have also been served by some absolutely great waiters there-
The food is good, but a little expensive. Great soup at lunchtimes!

Il be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OutOfTheFamiliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't go there if you have a baby”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We went there for our first dinner in Prague because it was close to our hotel and it looked nice and busy from the outside, and it had a lovely view of the river. When we went in, all the waiters kept walking past us and didn't look at us or greet us, I finally had to go to one and ask if we had to seat ourselves and if they had a non-smoking section. I got pointed to the back corner, where all the tables were full. All the window seats and middle section were smoking, and we ended up sitting there because there was no other place. Coming from Stockholm where smoking is banned inside restaurants, it was quite difficult to enjoy a meal in such a smoky environment. Our waitress was not friendly or helpful at all. We asked for a high chair for our baby and she said they didn't have any, shocking for such a large restaurant. We had to feed our son on our laps, not a pleasant way for any of us to eat. The food was reasonably priced and decent, my husband really enjoyed his duck dish. They have lots of cake and ice cream desserts, and we enjoyed the chocolate cake a lot. I would not go back there due to the rude service, lack of high chairs, and preferential service given to smokers (all the window seats).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetStockholmSity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Location and history great, service and styling not so much”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

It only is still alive because of the location. It is the place where actors and disidents met under communism and before. Since then it is downhill. Bad service, average food, smoky place. Wonderful view though, .. For food I wouldn't come, for coffee also not so much.. so I wonder why would I go there again.. The reason is not found..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michalnajman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Slavia also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Slavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing