We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I just love this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Slavia

Cafe Slavia
Ranked #25 of 147 Dessert in Prague
Cuisines: Cafe, Czech, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I just love this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

There is nothing I didn't like it (maybe smoking just a little bit). Slavia has beautiful architecture, great view and good old time atmosphere. Nice place to eat something small and drink coffee/ beer::). Good service!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    524
    176
    91
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fantastic Waiter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was the first evening meal in Prague NOT onboard our river cruiser. There were 8 of us from the Avalon cruiser, Tranquility. The café was recommended by our Hotel Intercontinental concierge. Good thing too, the food was heavy on meat but oh so flavourful. The waiter was charming and would flash his mug in our photos... he was hilarious. He even told us to take evening shots across the river with the bridge just outside the cafe's doors. The only thing that was not so pleasant was the smoke that drifted too easily into our non-smoking section.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoalieDad26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Classic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I think most people love Cafe Slavia just for its place in architectural history. If, however, you're looking for great food quite frankly there's better. But they do serve up decent coffee and breakfast and typical Czech fare.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharisePRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A relaxing establishment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The food, ambiance and location - all worth visiting and sampling! No dislike - except the smoking - yes! patrons are allowed to smoke - Ask for the non-smoking area(s) if you don't want the smell of tobacco filling your lungs!!!.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Posh sarnies!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was our first experience of food in Prague and what an experience! The decor is very grand and the service in keeping with it. We had open sandwiches on rye bread. They were delicious and the presentation was stunning.
Like other reviewers I was shocked at the smoking but we had assumed everywhere in Europe was no-smoking. We did intend to have an evening meal here but the atmosphere was more cafe-like so we went elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Slavia also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Slavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing