We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of U Kroka

U Kroka
Ranked #35 of 5,372 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $17
Cuisines: European, Czech, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Praha 2
Description: We are non-smoking small family restaurant focused mainly on Czech cuisine. All of our meals are made without any glutamate, dyes, condiments and other preservatives. To flavor dishes we use just salt, pepper and fresh herbs. Permanent menu starts at 3pm every weekday. The lunch menu is available from 11am till 3pm until then, but with very limited offer and especially for local people. Regular menu is then available all weekend plus we do weekend specials.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We went as a group of 6, each getting a different entree. No one had any complaints about the food - it was all outstanding! The prices were extremely good; ambiance was calm and modern. We didn't have any problems with the waitstaff, either.

I recommend getting reservations for dinner, as it is a smaller establishment. It is very easy to access via the #17 tram from the city center.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coffeegirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,060
    952
    165
    39
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good food, helpful friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Unlike previous reviews we found the staff very friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic and very good sized portion. 2 of us shared the 'manly' food...as its so labeled! It was the U Kroka dish of chicken breast, wings, pork ribs and knuckle....amazing! The whole restaurant is non smoking which is refreshing as every other restaurant seemed to be smoking with a tiny non smoking section. We booked a week in advance and glad we did as while we were there 3 couples were turned away. It was a 50/50 mixture of tourists ( I think due to trip advisor as I cannot believe that many people could find it by chance) and locals, but the atmosphere was good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
Level Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“so far it's good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

true is the staff is nothing to write home about and has lots to be desired. Food however thanks to the chef is excellent authentic and will change the image of local food as uninspiring.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stunning regional food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

A group of 9 of us were in Prague for a stag do and as best man I wanted to find a great place to try some Czech food.

I decided on U Kroka and we could not have been happier with the choice. To give you an idea of the level of respect that U Kroka has even with the locals, on the taxi ride over there the driver told us how amazing the restaurant was and that they make great local food!

As this was a stag we were obviously keen to try the beer which was excellent and the waitresses were really good at keeping us topped up during the meal but were not at all pushy.

Czech food seems to be very meat focused, which was perfect for our group. Between the group we had a big selection. Highlight of the starters was the sausage selection, which consisted of 5 or 6 local sausages, each with a very distinctive flavour.

For the mains we had one very brave man take on the largest plate of food they have, which was in the "Manly Food" part of the menu. It was 1kg of meat, yes you read they correctly a whole kilo of meat! This was a selection of chicken, beef, pork and sausage! It looked great but was a serious challenge for anyone to consume and would be difficult for even 2 hungry men to finish. Our challenger did eventually beat it though, unfortunately he was so full for the rest of the nigh he could not drink very much though. Another highlight was the pork knuckle, which looked stunning! All the portions, even in the non Manly Food section are large so make sure you come here with an appetite!

The quality of everything that came out was amazing, the speed of service was also really good, wonderful atmosphere and location, great friendly and helpful staff and the value of everything they offered was stunning.

I can't recommend this restaurant enough!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnUK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It used to be nice there...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We used to go there, because we are living on the same street, and it is really sad to see how the quality of service is going down. Food is still very good but staff is not really pleasant. You don't feel really welcomed here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuzana250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha_Tom_H, Owner at U Kroka, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We're sorry you haven't felt welcomed but we asure you, that we'll do anything to make our guests comfortable. We really care about providing great service to our customer, so please don't hesitate to let us know when any problem comes out.
We'll be happy to see you soon again. Tomas Hayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Kroka also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to U Kroka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing