We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not tasty, don't come, nothing to look for here.”
Review of U Kroka

U Kroka
Ranked #34 of 5,427 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $18
Cuisines: European, Czech, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Praha 2
Description: We are non-smoking small family restaurant focused mainly on Czech cuisine. All of our meals are made without any glutamate, dyes, condiments and other preservatives. To flavor dishes we use just salt, pepper and fresh herbs. Permanent menu starts at 3pm every weekday. The lunch menu is available from 11am till 3pm until then, but with very limited offer and especially for local people. Regular menu is then available all weekend plus we do weekend specials.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not tasty, don't come, nothing to look for here.”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

The food is not tasty, the portions are small. Service is ok, but the waitresses are on nerves. I wouldn't come here again, wonder how it's so high on tripadvisor rating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shumsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomas H, Owner at U Kroka, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hello, I'm sorry about what happened. Unfortunately, in the past we have repeatedly happened that guest us confused with another restaurant similar name far from us, as you can read in older reviews. Personally, I was present every day and I am not aware of any complaints on 20 - 22 November 2012 about the food or perhaps a service. If you've visited us really is a shame that you did not report right away and we were able to solve your comments immediately. Tomas Hayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,116
    974
    169
    39
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic dinner. Great hosts. Great food. Was busy and they made space. Worth the trip across town. Would go again anytime.

Helpful?
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very nice restaurant in very nice place near Vysehrad.
Food was great, I really enjoyed it.
The service was great. Waiters very very nice and very helpful.
I higly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Prague.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomas H, Owner at U Kroka, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hello it is my pleasure to thank you for your review. We'll see you again. Tomáš Hayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Seen previous reviews and decided to try it. nice atmosphere, waiters were very busy but still gave you lots of attention and made some good recommendations for food. nice choice from menu and also a menu of the day. Good quality and excellent prices. As it is very busy, booking is recommended. we had 3 course with beers and coffees and cost approx £25 for two. will be going back again before we leave.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fuerte100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We decided to eat here after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and can throughly recommend it. We booked in advance and were glad we did as several people were turned away. The food,drink and service were excellent. We had 2 carafes of wine, a couple of beers, main courses and pudding followed by 2 whiskys and the bill was about £30! The whole place was buzzing, mainly with locals, including a small wedding party who seemed to toast each other every 10 minutes! It is a bit off the beaten track but well worth the effort.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emgjdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Kroka also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to U Kroka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing