We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place - thanks TA”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of U Kroka

U Kroka
Ranked #36 of 5,365 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $17
Cuisines: European, Czech, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Praha 2
Description: We are non-smoking small family restaurant focused mainly on Czech cuisine. All of our meals are made without any glutamate, dyes, condiments and other preservatives. To flavor dishes we use just salt, pepper and fresh herbs. Permanent menu starts at 3pm every weekday. The lunch menu is available from 11am till 3pm until then, but with very limited offer and especially for local people. Regular menu is then available all weekend plus we do weekend specials.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great local place - thanks TA”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I took some friends here based on TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed. Prices were good for the quality of food, atmosphere and service were good. Seems like a nice little unspoiled local spot that's both nice and casual inside. All three of us guys had the duck with dumplings, and we all loved it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,048
    950
    163
    39
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Introduction to Czech Food”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a wonderful restaurant. If you are staying in Old Town, walk down the river to Vyton, or take the 17 Tram from Karlovy Lazne. The food is really lovely, mixing a Czech influence with the more 'Western' takes presentation and variety. I lived in Prague for several months, and this was a great place to go get a salad or some soup when I needed a break from the heavy meats and potatoes. There is an English menu as well. You may also bump into a number of other Americans because the apartment complex next door houses a number of students from CIEE (such as myself!) I definitely recommend this place, and was there almost once a week.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“U Kroka is not Krok!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

There seems to be a lot of Trip Advisor confusion over this one. TA routes you to Krok. Follow the address to Vratislavova 12, close to U Semika. U Kroka is very clean, nicely decorated (Modern style), staffed courteously, and an amazing value! We had delicious soups (cauliflower and chicken noodle w/vegatables), a great salad, roast pork w/creamed spinach & potato dumplings, and a chicken roulade stuffed with liver. Everything was great. I'll definitely try to make it back here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JosephRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went for dinner and after getting lost were pleasantly surprised by the friendly service and excellent food. I had the goulash and my wife had the stuffed chicken, both every tasty. By far our best meal in Prague. 21 euros including 2 beers and 2 glasses of wine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cptmorgan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hidden place to eat”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We read about the restaurant in this app and wanted to try it. Make sure you go by the adress of the place! The link in the app can be wrong, because there is a pub with a similar name (Krok) near by. Don't mix it up.
After searching for a decent restaurant in the center of Prague and not finding one, we were positively surprised entering the U Kroka. The place is modern, staff is very friendly and speaks English. The menu offeres a big variety, not easy to choose! The food was served quickly and tasted very good. We had a soup each an a main cousre one with beef the other with rabbit. It was all delicious and the prices are very reasonable. We payed for the food and 2 drinks each 500 czk. Way better than every tourist hotspot in the old town!

Helpful?
2 Thank justnavy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed U Kroka also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to U Kroka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing