We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding atmosphere”
Review of Restaurant Peklo

Restaurant Peklo
Ranked #172 of 5,536 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $3
Cuisines: European, Czech, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hradcany & Letna
Skaevinge, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding atmosphere”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

One of the most magnificent restaurants we have ever seen.
This place is, as fare as we know, the winecellar of the Strahov Monastery.
Compared to danish prices and standards, this place is very cheap.
We had: Welcome drinks, starters, main dishes, desserts, sherry, coffe and a bottle of checz wine for only 2500,-CZ (835,-DKR).
In DK this would be at least 3 times as much.
We had a varity of both checz and international dishes.
All very well prepared and cooked.
The service was relaxed and very nice.
We visited Peklo 17.08.2012
This place is absolutely worth a visit.
Peklo is placed a little outside the Prague center, in the Strahov Monastery so ask for directions to get there. Take tram 22 to Pohorelec station and you are close by. About 15 minutes from city center.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RassHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    158
    50
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood village
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Terrific ambiance off the beaten path”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just walking into the Monastery and then descending down to the wine cellar basement restaurant was worth the trek up the hill. We were warmly greeted by the staff and felt at home right away by the attentive waitstaff. The entrees were tasty and well presented and we had a wonderful local wine to go with it all. This all made for a truly memorable evening and one of the best meals we had on our European vacation. Would definitely recommend the restaurant but would encourage taking a cab up and then walking down after dinner for great views of the garden and city.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

i was recommended this place by a work colleague who said when going to Prague you MUST eat here! we were so pleased she suggested it to us. we had a superb meal which we could not fault at all, wonderful food which was fresh and tasty and beautifully presented, service was spot-on, very friendly and attentive without being overbearing. wonderful atmosphere, certainly the most unusual restaurant we have eaten at. well worth going out of your way to eat here, it was superb, but get a map as its hard to find!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank em123355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great wedding celebration at Peklo”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I held my wedding reception at Peklo in June 2012 and cannot recommend it highly enough. We took the whole of the property for our wedding and had 49 guests, we held our dinner in the private section of the restaurant and our disco and dancing where the restaurant seats normally are – it worked very well.

Elena the Restaurant Manager was fantastic, she was very helpful in advance and with the pre-meetings. The waiters and bar staff where excellent providing attentive service with a smile. We as a group only spoke English and this was not a problem to the staff.

We enjoyed good wine with dinner and the open bar proved very popular with our guests after dinner, so many people commented on how good the bar staffs service was - remembering what everyone was drinking. The food came out promptly and good timing considering the size of our group - 49 to feed, no complaints whatsoever. One table didn’t have their coffee’s come out but after speaking with a member of staff this was rectified.

The Manager was flexible in that we hired our own dance floor, DJ and lighting for the wedding, they also stayed open for another 2 hours after our agreed finishing time!

I really recommend this restaurant – it is a unique setting that has the wow factor which was perfect for our wedding. We have also eaten on two other occasions in the restaurant just two of us – each time the food has been wonderful, the background live music enjoyable and the service great. A romantic setting and never too busy, sometimes a shame there aren’t more people there. I look forward to returning on my next visit to Prague.

Thanks Peklo and all the staff!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NeveragaininKavos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful birthday dinner !!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Being in Prague for my wife's birthday I wanted to find a restaurant that was memorable. Restaurant Peklo was certainly that. Situated in an old wine cellar dating back to where King Charles wandered to pick out his wine. My wife, one college age daughter and myself had a truly wonderful evening there. It was on a Monday night, a traditionally slow restaurant night, but on this occasion, we had the entire restaurant to ourselves. It turned out it was the first night of their new menu, something they change about twice a year. Wow... what a wonderful dinner. Starting with a couple bottles of Czech champagne (sparking wine) followed by some sophisticated twists on traditional Czech dishes, we dined for over two hours. Truly a memorable meal. All for the price of one person at a good restaurant back in the U.S. We will make it our first stop when we return to Prague.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Peklo also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Peklo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing