We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Rooms and Wobbly Beds!”
Review of Old Prague Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Prague Hostel
Ranked #138 of 691 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Reviewed September 5, 2009

This hostel is fantastically located for the Old Town, but for that you have to put up with tiny, overcrowded rooms and service that leaves something to be desired. We booked a 6 bed dorm, and were really pleased we did, as although it was cramped, we had a peek inside one of the 10 bed dorms and it was insane. Beds everywhere! The top bunks don't have a bar to prevent you falling out, and wobbled like crazy.

Breakfast is free, but not particularly edible. I would recommend you head to the nearby Milla supermarket (there is another nearby, called Albert, but Milla has a better range, IMO) and pick something up from there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiniBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 436 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2009

The Hostel is cheap and in an excellent position in the Old City. it's in waliking distance to all the major sights, but also near the subway. the hostel is pretty clean, the rooms are big eneough and there are common areas were it's easy to meet people.

thumbs up!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gianpippero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We took a private double for 3 days. The staff people I remember seeing were American and friendly. The location was convenient to the old town, we walked everywhere. The room was spartan but large enough and I slept well, except for the last night when a huge group checked in after midnight upstairs, and we had an early train the next day. 30 minutes later there was still a lot of banging around, so I complained at the front desk and the guy said he'd check it out. It quieted down enough for me to sleep, and in the morning the same guy was there and asked if it got better. Bathrooms were clean. A bit pricey, but Prague was pricey.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobFromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

great location, was having hard time locating it in the first day. a bit of a long walk round the block at night when the shortcut through the shopping centre is close but the lane is safe and sufficiently lighted so no problem, moreover there is a police station right across the hostel, Big point for location, walking distance to all atractions. nice restaurant around the area and cheap too! not much about the breakfast, enjoy the juices but the sandwich is so hard I ends up using it to feed the birds in the park . ha ha. another good point informative and nice staff, not friendly but try to meet your needs and are patient, Nice room, got a double that is so huge it can sleep 6 on floor, surprisingly comfortable bed cover and pillow! Definately Value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaymalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

My boyfried and I stayed at the Old Prague Hostel this past summer. We booked a private room, but we were right next to the common area. Although quiet hours are technically in place, nobody followed the rules and we couldn't sleep for the noise. If I were to own a hostel, I would place the large dorm style rooms closest to the common areas and the more private single or double rooms the farthest away, it just makes the most sense.
Our room was basic with minimal ammenities, but it just didn't feel clean.
The common areas were nice with TV/movies and small but adequate kitchen facilities.
Oh, and they allow smoking in the common areas, which was quite bothersome. At least those who smoke shouldn't be smoking where people are preparing food.
Having stated my complaints, if you are a single traveler and enjoy socializing late into the night, and are comfortable with just minimal furnishings/ammenities, then I would definitely recommend this hostel. I think we were just hoping for more.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny_Lynn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

Stayed with 7 in 1 room for a football match in November. Room was quite big, with plenty of locker sapce. Clean enough, and decent to get your head down when you have ahd a few beers. 5 Minutes from Old Town Square, so a good location,. Given a towel on arrival, which was a boonus, and the free breakfast was adequate, but not really my thing. Best part of the whole stay was the HOT reception girl who greeted us when we arrived. Bathrooms did the job as well!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ah1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2008

i've been, with a friend, in this hostel 3 nights in october and i found it really good. The location is great, only 5 minutes walk from the old city square, and it was very clean,warm and confortable. Even bathrooms were very clean, and on my floor there were 4 of them,so it never happened that i found it not free.

The only thing that bothered was the room's door that was a bit squeaky, so everytime someone entered or exited the room i woke up.

overall, a nice place to stay on a budget, also because of the common areas, that included kitchen, free internet room with 4 pcs, public phones and free breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank firestart80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Prague Hotel
Old Prague Hotel
#281 of 646 in Prague
403 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hostel Mango
Hostel Mango
#45 of 691 in Prague
318 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#7 of 691 in Prague
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Safestay Prague Hostel
Safestay Prague Hostel
#15 of 691 in Prague
601 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel One Prague
Hostel One Prague
#3 of 691 in Prague
432 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#11 of 691 in Prague
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Prague Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Prague Hostel

Address: Benediktska 685/2 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 691 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range: $19 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Prague Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Prague Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing