We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel out of my entire trip”
Review of Old Prague Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Prague Hostel
Ranked #121 of 660 Specialty Lodging in Prague
St. Louis,
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hostel out of my entire trip”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My friends and I backpacked for 2 months around Europe, and this was by far our favorite hostel. It is located within walking distance of everything (all the historical sites, museums, bars, restaurants, and train station). It is extremely clean. They don't make you pay for towels, linens, breakfast, keys, etc *which a lot of hostels do*. The staff is overly friendly. I felt completely safe. The beds were nice and big. The price is just right!

Room Tip: The 6 bed dorms were very spacious with nice big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    173
    86
    37
    42
See reviews for
11
54
75
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed at Old Prague Hostel for 2 nights in an 8 bed dorm. I wandered around a little to find the place, but the detailed directions provided in my confirmation email helped me find the hostel. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and they provided everything needed for the stay including breakfast, towels, linens, lockers (with built in locks), toiletries and even earplugs upon request. The hostel was clean, beds were comfortable and it was within walking distance to public transportation and most sites I was interested in visiting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amersalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here on Jan 1-2, 2011. The entire experience kicked off poorly. I had reserved an 8-bed dorm for my party (or at least, had reserved 8 beds in an 8-bed dorm....) about two months in advance, but when we showed up, they had lost the reservation and claimed it wasn't in the system. Having printed the confirmation beforehand and having already paid our 10% deposit, this was unacceptable. I handed him the confirmation PDF and he said there "might" be something he could do. After a wait, we were split up 5 and 3 between two 8-bed rooms. I didn't think the reception guy was particularly friendly, either.

The rooms themselves were fine, and we felt they were clean (white sheets always help). Our room had 4 bunk beds and lockers. It was odd that we were only given one key for a locker in each room despite having paid for 8 beds, but it didn't really matter. I was glad to have locked away my stuff, but I wouldn't leave anything too valuable in there. They were flimsy and a good kick could probably have made the door give in. The luggage room isn't that secure as it's just a holding room where anyone who had access could rummage through your things. A group who stayed at the sister hostel (Prague Square Hostel) had his external hard drive stolen from the luggage room.

The bathrooms down the hall were just fine, although if you are more prudish, definitely be aware that this is truly like a dorm. In the morning, you might have a Swedish dude climb down from your top bunk in his briefs, and the Austrian girls might be changing right there. Don't take it as too much of a shock.

There were spots to hang out in the hostel, but we didn't spend much time there as we were out and about. I'd give the location a B+ or A, given that it's 10 mins or less from Old Town Square, shops, and other attractions (take public transport if you're seeing the Castle Quarter).

We slept fine despite sharing a room with so many people. My bunkmate came in late, but he was very courteous. We enjoyed meeting others and ended up being glad our party was split.

FYI, breakfast isn't the best. We got handed some egg salad sandwiches and there was dry cereal and coffee, but it wasn't one of the better meals we had.

Overall, I'd say I'd never stay here again - not necessarily because of the poor value, but because of the low level of service and the theft at their sister hostel. I shudder to think what would have happened had we checked in later (and we were there at noon....) - would they not have been able to accommodate us at all? Having only about 30 hours in Prague, we didn't want to waste time trying to find a place to stay . I wouldn't return, but it wasn't an outright disaster.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midnightswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you're looking for a fun place to stay in Prague, look no further! The rooms are clean and comfortable and the common area is a great place to meet people. Great location. I will stay here again if I go to Prague! Staff was great and very helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at Old Prague Hostel for five nights, it's a very nice place, the staff is cheerful and helpful and they provide all informations you may ask always with a huge smile upon the face! Bedrooms are quite big, like many other hostels I've visited before, they are warm and with big windows. Common spaces are clean and big, and you can enjoy your stay with people from all over the world! When I'll go to Prague again, I'll stay at this hostel for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williamperugini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Incredibly friendly and warm atmosphere. We have spent two nights here and where very happy to have booked here. The hostel is situated just a few steps away from the old town square but at night everything was really silent so we had an undisturbed rest. Breakfast was free and included coffee, cereals and sandwiches. That's just what I need in the morning!
The hostel is very clean. Toilets and showers are cleaned several times a day. Really spotless!
Maybe they could do something about the matresses because they are a bit thin. Just a detail, because it's hard to say anything bad about this great place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hostel is in a prime location! less than 5 minutes from the main squares and churches! The rooms are good, the toilet and bathrooms clean! There r a lor of free things included in the price, so u won't get charged extra for almost anything! They offer discounts in many restaurants, museums and tours!

Room Tip: Avoid the room at the common area where people go for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiompalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#4 of 660 in Prague
1,212 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hostel Mango
Hostel Mango
#43 of 660 in Prague
300 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Travellers'Hostel
Travellers'Hostel
#129 of 660 in Prague
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Ananas
Hostel Ananas
#21 of 660 in Prague
326 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel One Prague
Hostel One Prague
#7 of 660 in Prague
375 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#34 of 660 in Prague
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Prague Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Prague Hostel

Property: Old Prague Hostel
Address: Benediktska 685/2 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 660 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Old Prague Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing