We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located, Great Value, Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Small Luxury Palace Residence
Ranked #373 of 651 Hotels in Prague
CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Centrally Located, Great Value, Cozy”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We are budget travelers, Palace Road Hotel (or formerly Castle Steps) offers reasonable rates in this relatively expensive city. Be aware that the lowest price offer refers to another building, and none of which was photographed in the web site. In fact some rooms do not even have a bathroom. We had the cheapest room in the hotel, the one on the top floor, a few steps below the eating area. The room is decently decorated and very quiet. For the price I paid, I am not complaining. I did wish that the bathroom was en suite, we had to bump into morning breakfast crowd to get to the bathroom. The hotel location is awesome, right below the Prague castle and minutes walk to the bus line. The staff was very helpful, even helped us to lift our luggage to the top most floor.

A few practical details:
1) Ask if your room comes with an en suite bathroom.
2) I recommend purchasing Prague daily pass because the bus / tram line does get expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rcmessier73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    106
    31
    12
    9
See reviews for
49
150
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with my auntie and was pleasantly surprised. Before we arrived I needed to change a couple of details, emailing the hotel I got responses within minutes to the number of questions I asked. On arrival we booked a taxi from the hotel, English speaking and waiting for us at the airport :) once at the hotel we were told we had been allocated the 2 bed apartment as we had requested a twin room. This apartment was wonderful allowing us to have plenty of space. Clean and lots of lovely soft towels we had a very enjoyable stay. Nicholas on reception is very helpful and friendly! Great asset to the hotel. Only small areas stop this hotel from being perfect.. The hill it's located on can be a bit tiring after a long day but its definitely not overly steep as some suggest and it's not that far from anywhere. No more than 30-35 minutes to the main tourist areas although many are closer within 10-15 mins. A wonderful base from which to explore Prague! I want to go back already!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeninikolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xoangelxoabbs
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in September. We had the room with the jacuzzi tub, which was amazing! I have to admit I was a little scared walking up to our room at night in the dark for the first time... I literally felt like I was staying in an old castle! The location is very good and the staff was helpful in accommodating our late flight departure of 7 pm. I would definitely stay here again if in Prague.

Room Tip: Get the room with the jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cupcake985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
201 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

As I am writing this review, I should be at Palace Road Hotel. Unfortunately, I'm not. The company uses the pictures, name and star rating of Palace Road to sell rooms also for another hotel they have.

To make the long story short: you may expect to have a room in a four stars hotel, but actually be given one in a low quality hostel. That happened to me.

The long story is the following:

I arrived in the morning at Palace Road Hotel. The guy at the reception desk apologized that was an error in their reservation system and they are overbooked, but they will transfer me to a nearby hotel (50 - 100 m from Palace Road).

I could not help noticing the "client orientation" of this guy when he didn't offered to help with my luggage, that I had to carry up the hill.

Arriving at the new hotel I was told that the room was not ready (I didn't expect it to be as it was 10AM) so I left my luggage and went to visit the city. (I've noticed that the reception looked poor, but, as I was promised the same quality of the room, I didn't say anything. Huge mistake!!!)

Coming back at the hotel in the evening and seeing the room that would hardly qualify for a 2* hotel I decided to go back to Palace Road and ask for what I signed up for. Surprise: there was nobody there!!!

Consequently, I called them. And now they had another version, different form the one in the morning: that this was what I booked as the hotel has different quality rooms in different buildings. It seemed right to them that on my reservation writes "Palace Road" and on the door of the hostel where I was supposed to stay writes "Little Quarter Hostel".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mishaellla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I visited Prague with my wife and we wanted to book a hotel closer to the castle. We did not regret about our choice. It is located 10-15 min by the Castle's entrance and 20-25 min by Charles's bridge.Unfortunately I do not remember the room number but it is located at the 2nd building (not the main) at the top of the hill where is more romantic and very quiet. The main building (where the breakfast is served) looked more modern.

The personnel is very helpful. They arranged a taxi for us to wait at the airport and bring us to the hotel for a reasonable price. The same on our departure day. In general they help you whatever you ask.

The apartment was very clean and they were cleaning every day. We had a huge leaving room with 2 extra beds and sofas, one separate romantic bedroom and a private bathroom with shower (no bathtub). It was located to the top of the building so we had to walk around 80-100 wooden stairs (there is no elevator). Lot of exercise , right?

Regarding the room facilities, I believe it is kind of poor (no bathtub, no AC, no modern TV or other luxurious stuff that you can find in modern hotels. But for us this was not a disadvantage because the room was very cozy and romantic. We did not go to Prague for this. We also had a private bathroom so make sure to ask if you have a shared one.

Some tips:
*** Please keep in my mind that when we visited the hotel on May 2011 they were renovating it so many rooms might have changed now.

*** The hotel has two buildings so do not forget to ask in which one you are located. One is located bit closer to the center and the other one is on the same street but on the top of the hill.The distance is about 500m or 8min walk. Definitely I would not recommend to those with mobility problems to book a room in the top of the hill. But for the others i think its a perfect idea because its very quiet and it has a nice view. However we were too lazy to walk every day this distance to have breakfast.. it was kind of annoying..

I would recommend this hotel to the people that want to have something romantic, traditional and authentic in Prague instead of a new modern hotel room like in every city around the world.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Efthymios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We enjoyed a fair time at Palace Road hotel since March 23rd. It is very well located, about 300 meters from the Saint Nicholas square and at reach of Praga Castle. The staff can arrange for you the transfer service from and to the airport. The room was clean, and fills with premium bath amenities. But…

A huge problem: prior to our arrival (booked months ago), the hotel suffered a great damage at their gas pipe. When we arrived on Friday, we saw a big hole at the street in front of the hotel and people working; the staff said to us that they are having a problem with the hot water and will be solved quickly. It did not happened, so we only have cold water at the shower.

I can understand that the problem was out of their control when it happened, but my concern was that if they told us the problem with anticipation, we could arrange another accommodation or accept the fact and maintain our decision.

When the problem resulted unsolved, was late to book another hotel on the same fare and location. We received, after negotiating, a 20% discount.
All right, but I do not like lies and lack of information; these kind of attitude is not acceptable.

Praga has a various accommodation offer, you can choose another one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Comando23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Location was excellent, staff were so lovely and helpful. It was a little bit noisy. Situated in an old building which could be classed as "charming", don't expect a huge modern hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the ground floor, as you hear everyone coming in at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ang3586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Residence Green Lobster
Hradcany & Letna
Residence Thunovska 19
Residence Thunovska 19
#356 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Red Lion
Hotel Red Lion
#142 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Krize
Hotel U Krize
#218 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Residence Bijou de Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#137 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Palace Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Palace Residence

Property: Small Luxury Palace Residence
Address: Nerudova 255/7, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Formerly The Castle Steps Hotel Prague)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Small Luxury Palace Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Small Luxury Palace Hotel lies in the heart of this beautiful but vibrant city, and is the perfect venue to discover and enjoy the country's capital city, and what it has to offer. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the historical center of Prague called Mala Strana.Each room at the Small Luxury Palace Hotel has its own individual style, en-suite facilities and WI-FI, some of them also a fully equipped kitchen area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Small Luxury Palace Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing