We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels we have stayed In !”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #21 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2009

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights/5 days at this hotel after seeing the excellent review on Tripadvisor and Expedia. This hotel was one of the highlight of our trip ! We highly highly recommend it.

***Location***
The hotel is in the "Andel" area of Prague (Praha 5) so it is about a mile from the old town or the castle. However, the area does boast a huge shopping centre (including a very big Tesco) and ample number of bars and restaurants. The price of food and drinks here is also cheaper compared to the very touristy old town and the Prague castle area. The nearest tube/subway/metro station is only 10 minutes walk away (on the yellow line, also called Andel)

***General Impression***
The hotel is absolutely beautiful, well designed and very very good value for money. You can score a very good discount by visiting sites such as Expedia, Lastminute or Wotif.com. We got a very very good deal for a 5 star hotel ! The rooms are beautifully decorated with nice touches such as bath robes, fine porcelain tea sets, slippers, cable TV (there are about 10 English channels out of 500 channels) and luxury bath sets.

***Service***
We agree with other Tripadvisor reviewers, the service of Hotel General was exquisite. On arrival you are giving a FREE welcoming drink and are shown to your room by the very friendly staff. You are also given free welcoming chocolate and spring water. We had the room with the breakfast each morning and it was a very good choice indeed. The breakfast had a good variety of pancakes, scrambled egg, bacons, bread etc. - absolutely gorgeous ! On the last day, we were even given a packed sandwich breakfast because we had to leave the hotel at 7am. Also, the fast braodband internet was free, which was great because we needed to book tickets to concerts etc.

We highly highly recommend this hotel. Excellent value for money and excellent service.

***IMPROVEMENTS***
No hotel is perfect of course. On our feedback form we wrote perhaps more English channels and maybe a shuttle bus from the airport. Despite these slight shortcomings, the hotel is one of the best we stayed in Europe.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolCyber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2009

5 stars? Maybe so. Only negative thing is where the hotel is situated: 2 miles south of Pragle Castle and Old Town. A little inconvenient, but not a big problem thanks to the excellent tram system. Rooms are not very big, but extremely clean. Ours faced a wall in the central yard. Not the best view, but no noise whatsoever. - In short: a very attractive hotel at a nice price. Stay there!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller14Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

A great hotel with excellent service. We had the Napoleon suit for a family of four the kids are 10 & 12 yesr old and loved the desk top computer with complementary internet access in the room as well as the pancakes (thin European) you could order in the breakfast restaurang.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aasa_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Brilliant value for money, had the huge suite - sooooo luxurious. Yes, neighbourhood a bit on the salubrious side, but you won't get so much for your money elsewhere. We certainly didn't feel threatened. Andel centre is great, too. To be honest, you get more of a feeling of foreboding in some areas of London! I'd heard Prague can be a pickpocket city and even travelled without my engagement ring (hubby's nan's), so couldn't really risk losing it, but my fears were unfound. Staff so very, very helpful. It's a fab place, we'll be going back with our children. I love champagne and, at £10 a bottle at 5* hotel prices, it's a sure winner! You really should also try the hotel's restaurant food. The tranlastions made me giggle, (flying drakes = duck), but so what? They all tried so very hard. Another visit worthwhile is the Admiral Botel on the riverl. Fabulous food, v reasonably priced. Excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoehhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

After many hours of searching through virtually every hotel in Prague we finally decided on the Hotel General mainly due to the reviews and price as worked out at £64 per night through a discounted deal with hotels.com. The room was excellent and the breakfast was probably the best I have ever had, everything you could name in a buffet format and fresh omelette made to order every morning.
The hotel staff were very helpful when we asked for a map of the city and pointed out the best places to start with. The only drawback is that the hotel is about 20 minutes walk to the old town which we did not mind as was beautiful weather and walked along the water front every day and evening and felt very safe.
There's some great little cafe's and bars on th same side of the river as the hotel which you would probably miss otherwise.
Overall highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

The fine folks at the Hotel General saved our Easter - it's that simple. After arriving in Prague with a booked hotel elsewhere, we discovered that our initial booking had not been processed (!!!). While I fought the urge to choke the hotel manager, my wife patiently and politely requested his help in finding an alternate place to stay - for Easter weekend! She found the Hotel General, and from there it only got better. We were able to get a suite for the four of us for $225 a night. Only later die we find out that the rack rate for this room is $460!
Because it was a last minute reservation, our room was not quite ready, but the hotel staff took excellent care of us, opening their kitchen to feed us a late dinner while the housekeeper tidied up our room. The suite itself was fine - the bathrooms (2), though, were quite nice. Bulgari products by the sink, nice marble tile, big mirrors, and a shower that felt like heaven (maybe it was because we'd been traveling all day - I don't know). Not only did we have an internet connection in the room, we had our own desktop computer to go with it! Breakfast was included in the rate, and it was a fairly typical European buffet - cheeses, bread, some meats, juices, etc. Not bad overall. You could also order omelettes and pancakes (more like crepes) a la carte, and these were good, to hear my son tell it.
Our walk to the metro was a 5-min one, and from there the city was easily accessible. Though at first glance the neighborhood might look a bit like warehouses and apartment blocks, I never felt unsafe walking to and from the metro, even in the evening with my wife and kids. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB-Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Stayed at The General from December 21st to the 25th. On this trip we stayed in 4 major cities in Europe and this was by far and away the best hotel we stayed at. From large spacious room to an excellant breakfast served to even better service given by the staff, what a wonderfull experience. This hotel was as nice as Prague itself was and I hope to get back in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#22 of 647 in Prague
711 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 647 in Prague
1,053 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 647 in Prague
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 647 in Prague
777 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 647 in Prague
2,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#19 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $96 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing