We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely prague hotel”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #22 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely prague hotel”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

stayed for 3 nights this month,the hotel excels at customer service,nothing is too much trouble for the lovely staff.From booking taxis and restaurants to bringing fresh milk for tea.
The hotel is fairly small,glorios;y old fashioned and opulelent.Lovely rooms and bathrooms.The food was alwayscooked freash and very nice.
the hotel is quiet unfortunately the bar was always empty and shuts at 11pm.
Good location just a short metro ride into the wonderful xmas markets.First trip to prague and would stay at General again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Kay L,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your warm review on our hotels services and team.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

With warm regards from Prague and the best wishes for the upcoming Christmas and New Year.

Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    144
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
178
877
55
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

What a wonderful place, stayed with my partner for a chill time and was wonderful, rooms are all nicely decorated, staff exceptional and provided advice on where to eat in the area. The wine cellar was amazing and breakfast cooked fresh to order, will be back to this heavenly little hotel soon.

Room Tip: Close to metro and tram station
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank widowsinwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear widowsinwhite,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers.

With warm regards from Prague and the General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Any person or family come to Prague I suggest to them to stay in this hotel. I never seen like it in every thing . It is clean really very high services everything is suitable and nice . The breakfast is avert nice buffet many choices . To sum up I can say it really five stars hotel

Room Tip: It is very good hotel the people serving are very helpful , in good manner & friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahmed_ghazali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear ahmed_ghazali,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that you will chose to visit us again if your travels will bring you back to the lovely city of Prague.

Sincerely
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ely
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My partner and I visited Prague on the back of a 3 week trip I did to SEA staying in 5 star hotels in Korea, Taiwan, China, Malaysia and Singapore. Be assured, this hotel is as good as any of those!
Every time I go to Prague I struggle to find a hotel that meets my expectations but, at last, I have found a hotel that not only meets but exceeds those expectations.
This is a true gem of a place with wonderful service, excellent staff and really nice rooms. OK, we did get upgraded to a suite but I doubt the other rooms would be a cause for disappointment. The only quirk is that we had a double bed with two single quilts..strange.
The hotel is only a short walk to Andel station where you can get a Metro or Tram and the area itself has a wide selection of shops, restaurants and bars. Somewhat cheaper than the main center and all of good quality.
So bye-bye the plastic 'luxury' hotels of Prague and hello the wonderful Hotel General..See you soon!

Room Tip: With only 20 rooms in the hotel hard to say which are better. The General suites are for sure excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elypin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear elypin,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you and your partner for choosing our hotel and for sharing you impressions with the other travelers.
It gives us a great pleasure to see that we were able not only to meet but also exceed your expectations towards the quality of the hotel services and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.
We thank you for your supportive words that really serve us as a reward for our every days hard team work and hope to welcome you back at the General any time soon.

With warm regards from the hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic - DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Reading the other reviews on the Hotel General, I can only completely agree with all the positive and complimentary comments that have been made. We were a group of 5. We were very happy with the location, and Dasha's introduction was so clear...and enticing ! The restaurants she recommended were very good, the transport system was easy to use (and inexpensive !), and breakfasts were great. This was our first visit to Prague, and we all agreed that we would return. There is such a lot to see, and we had the added interest of the Christmas markets and decorations too. The combination of the Christmas lights and the beautifully floodlit buildings was totally magical. Add to that the evening concerts, a trip on the Vltava (Moldau) River, the Liebkowitz Palace, the Changing of the Guard, the view from the Tower and awesome churches...let alone the shopping !..... and you get a feel for what we enjoyed so much. But there is so much more, and we will return....and we will stay at the Hotel General ! Not only did the facilities suit us so well, but the housekeeping was immaculate, and the overall staff attitude without exception was 'we just want to help you enjoy your stay as much as we possibly can' - and we did!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are noisy with the window open but the double glazing is excellent and cuts out a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Peter B,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you and your friends for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable and memorable stay with us.
We thank you for your kind and supportive words towards our staff and services and hope to welcome you back at the General on your next trip to Prague.

With warm regards from the hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Booked based on reviews. We had a Junior suite, perfect for a couple used to some luxury when travelling. We had a very informative welcome by the front desk. The staff is fantastic, the best ever! The delicious breakfast made a wonderful start for the day. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Kristin Y,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us.

With warm regards from Prague
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Slightly alarmed when we were told that we were 30 minutes from the centre f town, but actually transport is so good in Prague the location is incidental. A really nice little hotel based in the New Town, next door to the Staropramen brewery and a 2 minute walk to one of the main bus, metro and tram hubs in the city. Really friendly staff who would bend over backwards to make sure you were happy. Comfortable and well equipped rooms (fastest internet speed I have ever seen!), although sleeping with the window open might be rather noisy!
Didn't test out the bar, but absolutely delicious breakfasts, and all in all fantastic value for what it is. Would recommend it highly

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidawatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear davidawatt,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting this review that depicts in details our location, services and staff.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic - DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,014 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 649 in Prague
622 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#26 of 649 in Prague
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,696 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
757 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#19 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing