We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #23 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's all been said -cannot be faulted in any respect. A really great team of caring people are the key to the deserved consistently high rating enjoyed by this hotel!
Looking forward to returning in the future to discover more of this beautiful city and using Hotel General as our base.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 53ras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear 53ras,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

With warmest regards from hotel team and looking forward for your next visit
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

We love this hotel in Prague. It may not be in the centre but once you step inside you are treated like royalty. Every member of staff especially Thomas, Ibrahim and Dasha are very friendly and will do all they can to make your stay special. We arrived when the Christmas decorations were up and the hotel looked beautiful. If you want a hotel where your every need is catered for this is the one. We went for my birthday and the hotel game me a card and a complementary bottle of wine - a lovely gesture. We plan to return next year. Thank you so much to all the staff.

Room Tip: An ideal location to explore Prague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funnigirld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear funnigirld,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers.
It gives us a great joy to see that you have enjoyed both your first and the return visit to the General.
We thank you for your kind words and wait for the next possible visit.

With warm regards from the hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend and was made welcome from the moment we arrived to when we left. We had an extensive overview of places to visit and even checked on the ice hockey games that were on over the weekend.

Was greeted with a smile every morning at breakfast and the guys couldn't be more helpful.

Hotel is spotlessly clean and our room was lovely. Thank you all for making our stay even more enjoyable.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Mark T,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest and visit to the ice hockey match was a cherry on the cream that made your stay most memorable.

We thank you fr our kind words and review and send the best wishes from all of the hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is unbelievable, we used the car service to pick us up at the airport, he was great.
The doorman (2 we met) are great, friendly and efficient. Vicky and Dasha at reception are wonderful and helpful..Ibrahim and the rest of the staff in the restaurant and wine bar are by far the best in the business! We loved housekeeping, it's spotless! A great hotel, beautiful rooms, we stay twice upon arrival and before departure back to Canada after 2 1/2 weeks in Europe.
Good location, slightly outside of of Old Town but if you are the least bit adventurous and know how to navigate public transportation you'll be fine. Highly recommend! Best hotel in Central Europe.

Room Tip: Spend the money on a General suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear henney88,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers.
It gives us a great pleasure to see that we were able to meet your expectations during both of your stays and that our hotel has become a part of your not only Prague but the whole Europe experience.
We thank you for your kind words of support and truly hope that you will choose to visit us again whenever your travels will bring you back to the lovely city of Prague.

With warm regards from the hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Hotel General in Prague was a fabulous place to stay and booking on Trip Advisor will save you a few bucks. You are treated like royalty from the moment we were were picked up at the bus station till we left.

Vicky at the front office was very good at explaining all the hotel amenities and also other aspects of the surrounding area. The location is walking distance to most attractions.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VEJY1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear VEJY1404,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your impressions with the other travelers.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic - DOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at the Hotel General and we just couldn't fault it. From the time we arrived everything was just perfect. The staff, from the doorman who greeted us, Vicky the receptionist, barman (Ibrahim) who also helped serve us a delicious breakfast, could not do enough to help us.
The bedroom had everything you could wish for, fresh flowers, dressing gown, slippers, hair dryer which all helped to make us feel at home.
The hotel is situated away from the city centre which was fine as it was only a short tram ride into the centre itself. The trams run every few minutes from just around the corner.
There was good local food and drink only a few minutes walk away from the hotel. Would love to return and would definitely recommend to anyone travelling to Prague.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank CamelStgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear CamelStgang,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were not only to meet your expectations towards the quality of the services but our staff was also able to make your stay in Prague a truly memorable experience.
We thank you for your warm words and hope to welcome you back at the General during your next trip to Prague.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay. Hotel was excellent, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The staff were very welcoming, polite and friendly and were keen to help in any way they could. It was nice to have a welcome drink and a brief explanation of the main points of interest, together with information leaflets and a map when we first arrived. Being in the business part of the city, it was an easy tram ride into the centre. There was a good selection for breakfast and the coffee was particularly delicious, all served by the very attentive and friendly waiter, Ibrahim, and his colleagues, who also served in the cosy cellar bar. Definitely would stay there again and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colinmc1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear colinmc1960,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Prague and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers.
It gives us a great joy to see that our hotel team was able to meet your expectations towards the quality of the services and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.
We thank you for your review and look forward for your next visit to the lovely city of Prague.

With best regards from the hotel team (incl. the restaurant team)
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 646 in Prague
1,096 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 646 in Prague
1,731 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#22 of 646 in Prague
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,994 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#7 Family Hotel in Prague
#21 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $79 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing