We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The General knows the secret to winning your heart”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #21 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The General knows the secret to winning your heart”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Certainly, the glowing reviews here are chiefly the because of the staff, who are universally helpful, attentive and just plain nice. It also helps that the beds are very comfortable.

Although the hotel is a little off the beaten path, It is within a few blocks of a major transportation and shopping hub.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highermath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear highermath,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.
It gives us a great joy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    142
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
178
873
55
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews. It is slightly outside the city centre but within easy walking distance along the river bank and a quick and cheap tram ride away from all Prague's main attractions with bars and eating places in a nearby square.

The accommodation is comfortable, clean and well appointed. However the greatest attribute of this hotel is the staff. We have never experienced more helpful or courteous staff. From collection at the airport to the very personal greeting at the hotel until we were returned to the airport it was excellent. The tributes on this site to Vicky and her colleagues in reception are thoroughly deserved but the same goes for all the other staff we met or for instance serviced our room. Meals were served with relaxed charm and were delicious.

Overall we would thoroughly recommend Hotel General.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear John S,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Prague and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to know that we were able to meet your expectations (that were based on the reviews) and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.
We thank you for your kind and warm words towards our reception team and other staff and hope that you will visit us again whenever your travels will bring you to Prague.

With warm regards from hotel General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel offered all the advice we needed for travelling in a forign country. The staff were very helpful with all questions answered in a courteous manner. The breakfast was excellent and the rooms very clean and comfortable. Being located outside the busy city centre it was quiet but it was only a short walk from a train and tram stop that made it very easy to get around to all the sight seeing locations.We bought a day pass that allows you to travel on trains, trams and the vanicular. We went to Petrin hill on the vanicular and enjoyed the beautiful rose gardens. I would recommend it to anyone who would like to visit Prague.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sue M,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.
We send our special thanks for your kind words towards our personnel and hotels services and hope that you will choose to visit us again if your travels will lead you to the lovely city of Prague.

With warm regards from the General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed in Hotel General last year in autumn, and I rated it here on trip advisor as a best hotel in my live. No wonder that when I was returning there this year I was afraid that I won't be impressed that much, but turned out they became even better! Same nice, clean rooms with luxurious interior design, lots of small details like welcome cocktail, personalized welcome paper, robe and slippers in a room, but is most important is the exceptional service - sometimes I don't understand how they manage to spend at least 30 minutes for each guest to tell them about the city and activities, give good advices on places to visit, and not leave anyone behind.
As a wrap up - good job Hotel General! Most enjoyable stay in Prague (and I stayed in different other hotels there, so I can judge). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavelbrylov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear pavelbrylov,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for your return stay and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.
It gives us a great joy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your second stay with us as much as you did last year.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back any time soon.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We loved staying in this hotel! A shuttle dropped us off from the airport and the desk clerk sat down with us and went over a map of the city and made suggestions of things to do, best methods do travel or transportation, etc. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and served until 11am. They provided robes and slippers and a complimentary bottle of water for each room guest each day. The rooms were large and very clean. Overall, this stay was wonderful and I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Lauren U,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us although it seems that our team and hotel due to some reason haven't received the highest score from you.
I would highly appreciate if you could contact me by e-mail and provide with more details and comments on your stay as I truly believe they could be helpful to us in our further possible improvement.

Once more I would like to thank you for your review and look forward for your further possible response.

Ringaile Radojevic
Director Of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
285 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights – having found it through Trip Advisor. What a find!
Well located in the newer part of the town, it was close to a couple of English speaking (non smoking) bar/restaurants, within an easy walking distance to a large shopping mall and tram stop.

We were pleasantly surprised to find upon arrival that our room had been upgraded to a
Junior suite (having booked and prepaid at the beginning of the year). The front desk receptionist (Vicki) made us welcome with a brief comprehensive description of the town (trains, trams and restaurants in the near area). We were welcomed with a complimentary glass of bubbles while Vicki took ran us through all that we needed to know about Prague.

The concierge/Bellhop Mariane greeted us at the door and then escorted us to our room -
explaining all of the aspects of our room, then brought our luggage directly to us. Mariane seems to really enjoy his job and helping guests - he helped us on many occasions.

We have only ever once before given a top rate to a hotel (based on service) and this hotel is the second. The hotel prides itself on its service and it’s this aspect that as an overseas traveller, especially one speaking a foreign language, that sets this hotel apart.

From the front desk, bellhop, restaurant and house keeping this hotel does not disappoint.

At breakfast each morning we were greeted with a warm reception, smiling faces and a readiness to provide us with anything that we needed. On our last day I noticed that there was champagne in a bucket and commented upon this, in the next minute we were sitting back enjoying a champagne breakfast and being made to feel very special!

If you want assistance with any sightseeing aspect, you have only to ask. Vicki booked us on the Prague Walking tour Inclusive (6 hours of a guided walking tour, (in English) morning tea aboard a boat and lunch) $70 AUD. Great value and a super way of orientating yourself around the town – both old and new. We also visited the Karlatejn castle on Mariane’s recommendation. This is an interesting summer place of Charles IV – some 30 minutes on train (from the main station). It was a nice way to get out and see the countryside of Prague. An English tour was offered at approx $18 AUD each (50 mins)- check times for tours. Take a tram #9 to the main train station then the domestic train to Baroun (approx $5AUD return).

Definitely take yourself into the town to see the old town lit – it’s absolutely magic! We
caught the number 9 tram into the town and with an all-day pass it can be an inexpensive option (we had already used it a number of times throughout the day)– there are plenty of restaurants on offer in town.

Our room was very quiet, airconditioned and the bed was Queen size with comfortable pillows. We requested a sheet (rather than just the doonas as per the European style) and this was provided without hesitation. The bathroom was large with a good sized bath. My only comment would be that you have to climb in and out of the bath to use the shower which may be an issue if you are a bit unsteady on your feet. Also there a good hairdryer in the bathroom. A safe is provided in the room. Tea and coffee making facitilities are also provided.

If you are visiting Prague, we could thoroughly recommend this hotel and thank them for their hospitality and their attention to detail - this is service that we don't see often.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a number of days - suggest a Junior suite as I think it provides a lot of spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear cruizin42,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.
It gives us a great joy to know that we were able to meet your expectations that were based on the TripAdvisor reviews and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General whenever your travels will bring you to the lovely city of Prague.

With kind regards from Prague and the General team,
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

From the welcome drink forward, you cannot find fault with the service of this staff. Excellent recommendations on restaurants, fabulous buffet for breakfast and clean, comfortable rooms. Located near the Ardel station, easy access to all of the important sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bink_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear bink_79,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to than you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We thank you for your kind words towards our personnel and provided services and hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Prague.

With warm regards from Prague
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 649 in Prague
601 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 649 in Prague
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
748 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,669 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#18 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing