We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #21 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The General is an excellent hotel, and the staff are the best. When we arrived, Vicky sat with us and gave us a briefing on the city (and a glass of champagne!) with lots of useful information and good maps. She recommended some good restaurants, and made reservations for us.
The hotel is a good base for first time visitors to Prague, because they take such good care of their guests. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, and really care whther you like Prague (we do!). Ibrahim and Mostafa in the restaurant are excellent servers and make great coffee -- ask Mostafa what the weather will be, because he's always right. Vicky on the desk is excellent, and so is Marian at the door. Olga did a great job keeping our room nice.
We thought the location would be a bit of a problem, but, while it is across the river and a bit removed from the centre of the city, it is not a long walk to anything you might want to visit.
Stay here. Seriously.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ursula312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear ursula312,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for your warm and informative review on TripAdvisor, that has become our 601 review on this site.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations towards the hotel and the city and you have truly enjoyed your stay in Prague and our hotel team has become a part of your Prague experience.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General whenever your travels will bring you to Prague.

With warm regards from hotel team (Vicky, Ibrahim, Mustafa, Olga and all that were not mentioned)

Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    142
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
178
873
55
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

One rarely has the opportunity to stay at a bona fide 5-star hotel at a reasonable price. The elegant room, delightful staff, and fabulous breakfast, were superb. To top it off, the maids left flowers in the room for us. Highly recommend. Also very quiet and near transportation and restaurants.

Room Tip: I suspect that all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeannette115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Jeannette115,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will visit us again some day soon.

With warm regards from Prague and the General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed a year ago for our honeymoon and the reception service was brilliant.
Our room was not particularly big but in some way that is also what it makes the room special. Breakfast was included, and you can have your omelette you desire among a lot of other things.
The location of the hotel if you check in a map is not right in the centre of Prague but it is in a quiet zone, and is really easy to get to city centre using tram.

Totally recommendable, if we go back to Prague, we will definetely go back to Hotel General.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank javibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear javibs,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing hotel General and for sharing your impressions with the others.
It gives us a great your to know that even after a year you still remember your stay with us and haven't hesitated to share some words on TripAdvisor.
We thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back at the General any time soon.

Sincerely,

Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent three nights in early May 2013. Hotel is well located, more of a industrial area, area is safe and with walking distance of buses and street cars. Service was excellent. The breakfast was excellent. The service in lounge/breakfast was extraordinary. The front desk was very helpful. I would recommend for any future trips.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Brian R,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visited Prague in the end of April and beginning of May on our honeymoon.
The pickup service from the airport was very good, the driver was very friendly and gave us a lot of information about the town on the ride to the hotel, the trip took approx 30min.
The service we got when we checked in was one of the best I have encountered.
We got a lot of good information about the city, how to get around in the best way with tram, metro and bus. And also what's worth visiting.
We had ordered the junior suite, but got upgraded to the General Suite.
The bedroom and the living room was quite small but very elegant. We had a computer with internet access in the living room. In addition there was also free wireless internet throughout the hotel..
The bathroom was generous, and there was also an additional bathroom with shower.
Service that we got at breakfast was great, a fresh buffet and possibility to order example pancakes, omelets and so on.
The hotel is located next to the Staropramen brewery, approx 20 min by foot to town center.
Tram or subway is a very cheep and good way to get around town.
We will definitely return to this hotel next time we go to Prague.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AceLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear AceLobo,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for such special occasion and for sharing your impressions.
It gives us a great joy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make your stay even more special and memorable.
We thank you fr your kind words and hope to welcome you back to the General on your next trip to Prague.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at The General Hotel in April and had a wonderful time. Having travelled alot due to being a travel agent in the UK I can honestly say I could not fault this Hotel, it is a perfect city break . It is small but amazingly friendly and helpful and although situated not right in the centre we didn't find this a problem atall. It may be worth thinking through your plans each day though as we found the walk into town pleasant , then after walking round all day and then walking back to the hotel , we did not feel like walking back into town , therefore we chose to eat in the restaurants close to the Hotel. The only downside to this was there is not nearly as much choice , so if you want to take full advantage of the choice of restaurants town , it may be worth using public transport or cabs for some journeys ! Loved the breakfast room at the hotel and pancakes were yum ! The small bar downstairs very cosy and service so attentive. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear jojosay,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with other travelers.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you have truly enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and review and hope to welcome you back any time soon.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the minute we arrived we were blown away by the hotel and staff. Our bags were carried in by the door man then we had our welcome meeting. The receptionist presented us with information on the city and gave advice and information on public transport, restaurants and places of interest. shown up to our room, which was well equipped and extremely clean, tea and coffee facilities, mini bar, everything was just perfect. A fantastic hotel away from the hustle and bustle but fantastically located for public transport, and large shopping centre, and if like us you like to walk, it's only a short walk to the heart of the city. The breakfast caters for all tastes, and again the waiters were attentive, friendly and welcoming. All in all a fantastic hotel that we would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Dianne D,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing hotel General and for posting such warm review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to know that we were able to meet all your expectations and you have truly enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at hotel General whenever your travels will bring you to the lovely city of Prague.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 649 in Prague
607 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 649 in Prague
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,675 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
749 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#18 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing