We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand (Dictionary definition - Magnificent, of the highest class)”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #21 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Hotel General is indeed "Grand". On arrival the smiling Doorman took our luggage and Dasha checked us in with the minimum of fuss. She then sat us down in reception and with a welcome beer for me, and a cuppa for my very better half, proceeded to mark on a city map where all the important sites were and which tram/metro to use etc. With the map and guide which she gave us, we were escorted to our room and shown everything we needed to know (how to operate the safe, work the remotes for satellite TV etc.) This exceptional level of service continued throughout our stay. A special mention for Ramy who was so pleasant and professional at breakfast and in the basement bar. As you will have guessed, we rate the service "top notch" so what about everything else?
The hotel is spotlessly clean everywhere. Our bedroom was very elegant with wonderful décor and drapes. The breakfast is buffet with a good selection of what you might expect - cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit (+ f.f. salad) cheeses, meats, breads etc. but also a cooked option of Omelettes (various) and scrambled eggs (various) Try scrambled eggs with smoked salmon - the best I have ever tasted. Wonderful bar in the basement. We dined out each evening but, judging by breakfast, I am sure dinner would be quite special. As for location, (there are several eateries nearby) we caught the tram in to the centre (Tram stop 5 minutes walk) but also walked in one day 15 -20 minutes along the river if you walk at a steady pace or, as we did, take a few pictures and amble along 30 minutes.
We would go to Prague again it is so wonderful. Would we stay at the Hotel General again? - definitely!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Relionme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Relionme,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your impressions on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would not hesitate to recommend us to the others. Such evaluation and warm review are the best reward for our team and we thank you for that.

With warm regards from lovely city of Prague and hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,428)
There are newer reviews for Hotel General
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 695 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Ok, if you wanted to nit pick then you could, but i don't. I booked here as a special treat for my girlfriend, a general suite for a little bit of luxury and to make her feel a little special...it did not disappoint.

The hotel delivered in all areas, i would recommend and certainly stay there again

Room Tip: Just choose to stay here
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neville C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Neville C,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a terrific hotel with very attentive staff, an excellent location, great breakfast and quiet comfortable rooms. We chose the hotel on the basis of the excellent reviews--and I've just re-read the 5 star reviews on our return---they are all accurate. Thanks to Vicky for her patient advice and help and to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable. Our first choice on our next trip to Prague. Will recommend this hotel without hesitation to our friends.
Ian and Shelagh England

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanF186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Ian and Shelagh,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to know that we were able to meet all your expectations towards the quality of services and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

With warm regards from Prague
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was my third trip to Prague and by far was my best experience with accomodations.

The Hotel General made us feel welcome immediately upon arrival with a welcome drink and a smile. Dasha was exceptionally nice and helpful. She provided us maps and tips on where things were near by. Vicky was the other hostess near the end of our stay and was also very good.

Free slippers and robe in the room too!

The breakfast and food overall was incredible (not your typical eastern european hotel food!). The food was fresh, delicious and made quickly.

The serving staff was also very friendly and knowledgeable. Inparticular Ibrahim and Rommey went above and beyond to make us feel at home. They chatted with us in the beautiful wine bar, were prompt with service and recommended some excellent drink and food combinations. They were one of the highlights of our trip, they love what they do and it shows.

The hotel also arranged the driving service for us, which was timely, safe and convenient. It is close to the city center and all tourist areas. Some great food and drink spots right around the hotel too.

If you are going to Prague do yourself a favor and stay at the Hotel General. It is clean, the rooms are elegant, and the staff is amazing. 11 out of 10. Will absolutely be back.

Thanks to Martin as well who was a big help in organizing our trip from Toronto and making sure everything ran smoothly.

- Andy from Toronto

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor in the General Marshall junior suite. Fantastic room, comfortable beds, b...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndyMc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Mr. Andy,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you that you have chosen our hotel for your 3rd stay in Prague.
We were delighted to see your nice comments concerning our staff (Dasha, Rommey), rooms and services and moreover we are glad to know that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

With warm regards and looking forward for your next visit

Hotel General team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is located about twenty minutes walking distance from the Old Town, along the river. It is a very elegant place even though the rooms are not too spacious. The staff is very, very helpful and extremely polite - receptionists, waiters and bellboys. The rooms are very clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfasts are acceptable but, unfortunately the dinner menu is not satisfactory. We would definitely recommend the hotel for a stay but not for dining.

Room Tip: Noise proof windows, quiet AC.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aniaandrzej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear aniaandrzej,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review.
Your opinion is very important for us as a source of further possible improvement therefore we thank you for your comments concerning the dining menu, that I personally handled to the person responsible for the restaurant implementations.
Once more I would like to thank you for your review and kind words towards our hotel and our staff.

With kind regards from Prague and the General
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Service - The service at this hotel is the best I have come across in over 45 years of travelling abroad as an adult. Wherever you were in the hotel the staff were on hand to 'serve' you whether it was to open doors, give advice on Prague, book taxis, cook your meals or share a joke to make you feel comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble.

Room - We stayed in a twin room on the third floor overlooking the main road. It was a busy road but due to sound proofing heard nothing, so together with the comfortable beds and choice of pillows, we were able to sleep well each night. There were plenty of toilettries throughout our stay and the towels were plentiful and beautifully soft. Tea and coffee making facilities were welcome as was the complimentary water replenished on a daily basis. A negative would be the size of the table in the room if you were to decide on taking advantage of room service - it wasn't possible for two people to eat at this table.

Location and Amenities - The hotel is in the business district away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre and the tourists but what an added bonus that is. It is very near the river which you can follow to take a picturesque walk into the centre. However if walking isn't your thing the hotel is very near a metro station and tram stop. Really recommend you get a three day transport pass which we got from the Information Centre in the Metro Station. Take the leaflet entitled Getting Around Prague and you are set to see the sights as this illustrates how to access all the popular tourist attractions. If you want to 'stay local' at any point in your trip then this district has plenty of shops, a large shopping mall and bars/cafes/restaurants too.

Liked Best - The service from all the staff at the hotel. It was my sister-in-law's birthday while on holiday at the General and they made it special and made it last the whole holiday as they popped a bottle of wine into the room on the day of her birthday, the next day made the towels into two swans and on the third day added a vase of roses to the room as well as the waiters making sure we started each day as a celebration with a glass or two of Bucks Fizz at breakfast. We enjoyed the selection of foods at breakfast and took advantage of the 'In Addition' dishes such as scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and pancakes with fresh fruit as well as the Weekly Special meal offered in the restaurant where each course was cooked to order.

Great!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Judith C,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting such warm review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to receive such nice evaluation on our services and facilities and we are glad to know that you and your sister-in-law have enjoyed her birthday and stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and detailed descriptions of our services, staff and location and we do hope that you will visit us again.

With warm regards from Prague,

Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We enjoyed every moment of our stay in Prague. The city is stunning, the people friendly and the food and hospitality are all first class. This hotel is a microcosm of all that. Hotel General does a first class job of providing all the usual things you'd expect. The rooms are clean and tidy, well decorated and have all the necessary extras (fridge, safe, air con). The beds are comfy and the showers are fantastic. The hotel breakfasts are delicious and cooked fresh to order. Where Hotel General goes above and beyond though, its with its staff. They are friendly, helpful and make you feel completely at home. Nothing is too much trouble and as other reviewers have mentioned, we even got great advice on places to visit when we first arrived (alongside a very welcome cold Czech beer!).
The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the centre, but we didn't even use the frequent nearby public transport, as the short walk was perfect for familiarising ourselves better with the city (and takes you along the river, to boot).
There is nothing to fault here. If you insist on being slap bang in the centre of Prague then don't book. Otherwise, don't even bother looking elsewhere. This hotel is superb!

Room Tip: If you like sleeping with the window open, ask for a courtyard facing room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickitay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Vickitay,

On the behalf of our hotel team I would like to thank you for your stay and for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that you would visit us again.

With warm regards from the General team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#13 of 648 in Prague
1,042 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 648 in Prague
2,738 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#22 of 648 in Prague
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 648 in Prague
1,638 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 648 in Prague
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#19 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $97 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing