We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very elegant place”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #20 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very elegant place”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is located about twenty minutes walking distance from the Old Town, along the river. It is a very elegant place even though the rooms are not too spacious. The staff is very, very helpful and extremely polite - receptionists, waiters and bellboys. The rooms are very clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfasts are acceptable but, unfortunately the dinner menu is not satisfactory. We would definitely recommend the hotel for a stay but not for dining.

Room Tip: Noise proof windows, quiet AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aniaandrzej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear aniaandrzej,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review.
Your opinion is very important for us as a source of further possible improvement therefore we thank you for your comments concerning the dining menu, that I personally handled to the person responsible for the restaurant implementations.
Once more I would like to thank you for your review and kind words towards our hotel and our staff.

With kind regards from Prague and the General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,249
    144
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
181
885
56
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Service - The service at this hotel is the best I have come across in over 45 years of travelling abroad as an adult. Wherever you were in the hotel the staff were on hand to 'serve' you whether it was to open doors, give advice on Prague, book taxis, cook your meals or share a joke to make you feel comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble.

Room - We stayed in a twin room on the third floor overlooking the main road. It was a busy road but due to sound proofing heard nothing, so together with the comfortable beds and choice of pillows, we were able to sleep well each night. There were plenty of toilettries throughout our stay and the towels were plentiful and beautifully soft. Tea and coffee making facilities were welcome as was the complimentary water replenished on a daily basis. A negative would be the size of the table in the room if you were to decide on taking advantage of room service - it wasn't possible for two people to eat at this table.

Location and Amenities - The hotel is in the business district away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre and the tourists but what an added bonus that is. It is very near the river which you can follow to take a picturesque walk into the centre. However if walking isn't your thing the hotel is very near a metro station and tram stop. Really recommend you get a three day transport pass which we got from the Information Centre in the Metro Station. Take the leaflet entitled Getting Around Prague and you are set to see the sights as this illustrates how to access all the popular tourist attractions. If you want to 'stay local' at any point in your trip then this district has plenty of shops, a large shopping mall and bars/cafes/restaurants too.

Liked Best - The service from all the staff at the hotel. It was my sister-in-law's birthday while on holiday at the General and they made it special and made it last the whole holiday as they popped a bottle of wine into the room on the day of her birthday, the next day made the towels into two swans and on the third day added a vase of roses to the room as well as the waiters making sure we started each day as a celebration with a glass or two of Bucks Fizz at breakfast. We enjoyed the selection of foods at breakfast and took advantage of the 'In Addition' dishes such as scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and pancakes with fresh fruit as well as the Weekly Special meal offered in the restaurant where each course was cooked to order.

Great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Judith C,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting such warm review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to receive such nice evaluation on our services and facilities and we are glad to know that you and your sister-in-law have enjoyed her birthday and stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and detailed descriptions of our services, staff and location and we do hope that you will visit us again.

With warm regards from Prague,

Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We enjoyed every moment of our stay in Prague. The city is stunning, the people friendly and the food and hospitality are all first class. This hotel is a microcosm of all that. Hotel General does a first class job of providing all the usual things you'd expect. The rooms are clean and tidy, well decorated and have all the necessary extras (fridge, safe, air con). The beds are comfy and the showers are fantastic. The hotel breakfasts are delicious and cooked fresh to order. Where Hotel General goes above and beyond though, its with its staff. They are friendly, helpful and make you feel completely at home. Nothing is too much trouble and as other reviewers have mentioned, we even got great advice on places to visit when we first arrived (alongside a very welcome cold Czech beer!).
The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the centre, but we didn't even use the frequent nearby public transport, as the short walk was perfect for familiarising ourselves better with the city (and takes you along the river, to boot).
There is nothing to fault here. If you insist on being slap bang in the centre of Prague then don't book. Otherwise, don't even bother looking elsewhere. This hotel is superb!

Room Tip: If you like sleeping with the window open, ask for a courtyard facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickitay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Vickitay,

On the behalf of our hotel team I would like to thank you for your stay and for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that you would visit us again.

With warm regards from the General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfriston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic hotel. Made so by wonderful staff in all roles. Always a genuine smile and a kind word from them all. They really make you feel at home and like a valued guest. The hotel is clean and well fitted with enormous comfy beds and spacious beautiful bathrooms. I didn't think the website photos do the rooms justice. Do yourself a favour and book the General Suite - worth the extra!! It is a bit further out but we loved the 20 mins walk along either side of the river to reach the historic centre and you can easily get the tram or tube if you prefer. Excellent breakfas too. Will be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wentthereandback_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Wentthereandback_11,

ON the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with other travelers.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that our staff was able to make your stay more comfortable and you have felt home away from home.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to see you soon at the General.

With warm regards from Prague and the General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked this holiday through Travelzoo, which was a great deal. Only read about this Hotel after the booking and hoped it lived up to its excellent Tripadvisor reviews, it did, we were definitely impressed with all aspects of the Hotel. The reception staff, Dasha and Vicky, could not be more attentive, nothing was too much trouble and made you feel genuinely welcome. Our room was immaculately presented and spotlessly clean, the little touches like the towel swans and rose petals on our second night was a pleasant surprise. The hotel has a very peaceful and relaxing enviroment. We were offered a welcome drink on arrival which we decided to take in the bar at the end of the evening, here we met Ibrahim the barman, who mixed us various cocktails over our long weekend stay. At breakfast we were presented with a delicious hot and cold buffet selection all washed down with a glass of sparkling wine, all thanks to Mustufa and Rumi. Sorry if we have not mentioned you by name but all staff are a credit to Hotel General. Our long weekend in Prague and Hotel General exceeded all expectation, even the weather was great, we are already recommending to friends and will definitely return, sooner rather than later. It's a lovely 20 minute walk to town along the river.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Adrian G,

On the behalf of the hotel General team (incl. all the mentioned persons) I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your warm review.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able not only to meet but even exceed your expectations and you have really enjoyed your stay with us. I also thank you for your kind words towards our personnel - Dasha, Vicky, Ibrahim, Mustafa, Rumi and the others - as your kind words are the best reward for their work.

With best regards from hotel staff and looking forward to welcome you back at the General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Came to Prague for a weekend city visit. Hotel is about 20min walk from old town. Good hotel friendly and clean with great staff always happy to help with reservations and advise. We asked for places to eat and drink and enjoyed all we tried. Great breakfast choices with optional complimentary sparkling wine. Hotel was quiet and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tipster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Tipster23,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

First class experience throughout the stay at Hotel General.

Although the hotel is not in the central tourist area, it is very close to all transport lines and a shopping mall a few hundred metres away makes the location perfectly fine.

Very efficient and friendly check-in - Dasha was most helpful to explain about the hotel, its amenities, and nearby restaurants and transport services. A welcoming coffee or champagne if you prefer at check-in was a nice touch.

Rooms were perfectly decorated and gave the feeling of warmth and welcoming. Pictures depicting past General's such as Admiral Nelson add to the class of the Hotel. Wifi worked well and bathrooms provided all the amenities expected of a five star hotel. Beds were comfortable and huge duvets and good pillows.

Breakfast was fantastic - a wide selection of fruit, yoghurts, cheeses, eggs, bacon, breads and cereals was available. Over and above an a la carte menu provided for even more choice such as eggs with salmon, pancakes, and other breakfast delights. The waiters and breakfast staff were excellent! Most welcoming and attentive - refills of any kind of coffee were brought without asking and nothing was too much of a problem for them.

A very special word of thanks to Dasha and Vicky the front office staff. The went the extra mile for any request, and made a special attempt to recognise all staff by name and room. Very efficient printing of boarding passes was done even before I managed to get downstairs to reception - and they were ready and waiting for me.

The last night a complimentary bottle of wine was brought to the room with a thank you letter. This personal touch was very much appreciated and a true reflection of the class and style of this hotel.

Finally, do choose the hotel-airport transfer service. It is very affordable and use luxury A-class Audi vehicle and were absolutely on time and ready at the scheduled time.

A wonderful stay at this hotel and highly recommended.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have a sloping roof making the room somewhat smaller - but it has a skylight wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear PeterCF44,

On the behalf of the hotel General team, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting such detailed and warm review on our services.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

With warm regards from Prague and hotel team (including Dasha and Vicky)
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#13 of 649 in Prague
1,029 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#23 of 649 in Prague
643 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 649 in Prague
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
761 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,713 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#18 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing