We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel which is a true reflection of this beautiful city”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #21 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hotel which is a true reflection of this beautiful city”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We enjoyed every moment of our stay in Prague. The city is stunning, the people friendly and the food and hospitality are all first class. This hotel is a microcosm of all that. Hotel General does a first class job of providing all the usual things you'd expect. The rooms are clean and tidy, well decorated and have all the necessary extras (fridge, safe, air con). The beds are comfy and the showers are fantastic. The hotel breakfasts are delicious and cooked fresh to order. Where Hotel General goes above and beyond though, its with its staff. They are friendly, helpful and make you feel completely at home. Nothing is too much trouble and as other reviewers have mentioned, we even got great advice on places to visit when we first arrived (alongside a very welcome cold Czech beer!).
The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the centre, but we didn't even use the frequent nearby public transport, as the short walk was perfect for familiarising ourselves better with the city (and takes you along the river, to boot).
There is nothing to fault here. If you insist on being slap bang in the centre of Prague then don't book. Otherwise, don't even bother looking elsewhere. This hotel is superb!

Room Tip: If you like sleeping with the window open, ask for a courtyard facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickitay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Vickitay,

On the behalf of our hotel team I would like to thank you for your stay and for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that you would visit us again.

With warm regards from the General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,225
    141
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
177
867
54
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alfriston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic hotel. Made so by wonderful staff in all roles. Always a genuine smile and a kind word from them all. They really make you feel at home and like a valued guest. The hotel is clean and well fitted with enormous comfy beds and spacious beautiful bathrooms. I didn't think the website photos do the rooms justice. Do yourself a favour and book the General Suite - worth the extra!! It is a bit further out but we loved the 20 mins walk along either side of the river to reach the historic centre and you can easily get the tram or tube if you prefer. Excellent breakfas too. Will be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wentthereandback_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Wentthereandback_11,

ON the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with other travelers.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that our staff was able to make your stay more comfortable and you have felt home away from home.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to see you soon at the General.

With warm regards from Prague and the General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked this holiday through Travelzoo, which was a great deal. Only read about this Hotel after the booking and hoped it lived up to its excellent Tripadvisor reviews, it did, we were definitely impressed with all aspects of the Hotel. The reception staff, Dasha and Vicky, could not be more attentive, nothing was too much trouble and made you feel genuinely welcome. Our room was immaculately presented and spotlessly clean, the little touches like the towel swans and rose petals on our second night was a pleasant surprise. The hotel has a very peaceful and relaxing enviroment. We were offered a welcome drink on arrival which we decided to take in the bar at the end of the evening, here we met Ibrahim the barman, who mixed us various cocktails over our long weekend stay. At breakfast we were presented with a delicious hot and cold buffet selection all washed down with a glass of sparkling wine, all thanks to Mustufa and Rumi. Sorry if we have not mentioned you by name but all staff are a credit to Hotel General. Our long weekend in Prague and Hotel General exceeded all expectation, even the weather was great, we are already recommending to friends and will definitely return, sooner rather than later. It's a lovely 20 minute walk to town along the river.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Adrian G,

On the behalf of the hotel General team (incl. all the mentioned persons) I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your warm review.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able not only to meet but even exceed your expectations and you have really enjoyed your stay with us. I also thank you for your kind words towards our personnel - Dasha, Vicky, Ibrahim, Mustafa, Rumi and the others - as your kind words are the best reward for their work.

With best regards from hotel staff and looking forward to welcome you back at the General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Came to Prague for a weekend city visit. Hotel is about 20min walk from old town. Good hotel friendly and clean with great staff always happy to help with reservations and advise. We asked for places to eat and drink and enjoyed all we tried. Great breakfast choices with optional complimentary sparkling wine. Hotel was quiet and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tipster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Tipster23,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

First class experience throughout the stay at Hotel General.

Although the hotel is not in the central tourist area, it is very close to all transport lines and a shopping mall a few hundred metres away makes the location perfectly fine.

Very efficient and friendly check-in - Dasha was most helpful to explain about the hotel, its amenities, and nearby restaurants and transport services. A welcoming coffee or champagne if you prefer at check-in was a nice touch.

Rooms were perfectly decorated and gave the feeling of warmth and welcoming. Pictures depicting past General's such as Admiral Nelson add to the class of the Hotel. Wifi worked well and bathrooms provided all the amenities expected of a five star hotel. Beds were comfortable and huge duvets and good pillows.

Breakfast was fantastic - a wide selection of fruit, yoghurts, cheeses, eggs, bacon, breads and cereals was available. Over and above an a la carte menu provided for even more choice such as eggs with salmon, pancakes, and other breakfast delights. The waiters and breakfast staff were excellent! Most welcoming and attentive - refills of any kind of coffee were brought without asking and nothing was too much of a problem for them.

A very special word of thanks to Dasha and Vicky the front office staff. The went the extra mile for any request, and made a special attempt to recognise all staff by name and room. Very efficient printing of boarding passes was done even before I managed to get downstairs to reception - and they were ready and waiting for me.

The last night a complimentary bottle of wine was brought to the room with a thank you letter. This personal touch was very much appreciated and a true reflection of the class and style of this hotel.

Finally, do choose the hotel-airport transfer service. It is very affordable and use luxury A-class Audi vehicle and were absolutely on time and ready at the scheduled time.

A wonderful stay at this hotel and highly recommended.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have a sloping roof making the room somewhat smaller - but it has a skylight wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear PeterCF44,

On the behalf of the hotel General team, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting such detailed and warm review on our services.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

With warm regards from Prague and hotel team (including Dasha and Vicky)
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed here at Easter and were extremely pleased with our stay. We were greeted with a complimentary drink upon arrival while our bags were taken to our room which was a very pleasant surprised after a long day of travelling. The concierge could not have been any more helpful and polite throughout our stay. The hotel was extremely clean and the breakfast was also spot on!! The hotel is slightly out of the center but we didn't mind at all since it's no more than a ten minute walk and the public transport here is really handy (and cheap!). Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Make use of the metro as it's really cheap and close by!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Paolo C,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers.
It gives us a great joy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel General with friends for a long weekend and I just wish it was longer. From start to finish we were treated like royalty. The staff are so attentive and friendly nothing is too much trouble, Vicki and Dasha are a wealth of knowledge with a welcoming smile. The service from Ibrahim, Mostafa, Romi and Pavel is second to none they are there for you in an instant with more or less whatever you want. The room was kept spotless by Olga and what a room it was fantastic decor and lovely touches. The staff are a real credit to the hotel, sorry I did not get everyones names but thank you, you should be really proud of yourselves. The hotel location was just right for us not in the centre of everything but only a 20 minute stroll along the river, which was lovely in the sun. Prague itself was amazing, when walking around look up as so much architecture. So much to cover in four days so a return trip is definitely on the cards and definitely to the Hotel General!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MjPicklePuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear MjPicklePuss,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for such warm and kind review.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest. Your kind words towards our personnel are the greatest reward for their work and we thank you for that.

With warm regards from all the team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#26 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#6 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#18 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing