We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #21 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a visit to Prague. We stayed for 2 nights and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We were upgraded on arrival to a Junior Suite. The room was exceptionally clean and well presented with every thing necessary in the room, even an umbrella should the weather let you down. Breakfast was a choice from a self service buffet, plus freshly cooked omelette's, scrambled eggs, French toast etc at no extra charge. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who work very hard but always have a smile on their face. We walked to all the attractions from the hotel. Although slightly away from the centre for us it was perfect to be able to walk into and out of the hustle and bustle to a more sedate area with plenty of good restaurants a short stroll from the hotel door.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel may be noisy if you want to sleep with the window open, but if kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill9034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Jill9034,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel team was able to make your stay in Prague even more memorable. Your kind words and recommendations are the best reward for our everyday work and we thank you for that.

With best regards from Prague and hotel General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    142
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
178
873
55
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

As others have said, the hotel staff has made this an absolute gem of a hotel. We stayed in early May 2012 for 4 nights and it was probably the best hotel we've ever stayed at (tied for Little Arches in Barbados). We paid for the hotel to pick us up in their Audi A6 from the train station after arriving from Munich. Once we arrived at the hotel, we received one-on-one attention from the hotel staff explaining all the sights to see in Prague and showing us on the map where to go, and which trams and subways to take to get there.

We had breakfast each day at the hotel and it was exceptional. We had just come from Le Meridian in Munich, where breakfast was 20-Euro a day per person, so having it included with the hotel rate was fantastic. The servers were in white gloves and always had a smile. The breakfast food was a combination of American continental but also had some items to order from a menu. The food is great, but not exceptional, but the 5-star service made the difference which made the dining experience feel special.

Only two hiccups the entire time.
1.) The hotel driver couldn't find us at the train station, and proceeded to leave. We had to call the hotel to have him turn around and pick us up.
2.) The power went out in part of the hotel suite. The staff electrician/maintenance person had to come in and fix it while we were out for the day.

We wanted to give a special recommendation to one of the bellmen (the younger one). On our last day, we purchased a bunch of pictures from street vendors on the Charles Bridge (make sure to haggle). We asked the front desk staff if they could provide us with some old cardboard, perhaps from the kitchen, that we could use to protect the photos to keep them from bending in our suitcase. The bellman offer to do this for us. So, we gave him our photos and then went up to our room. 10 minutes later, he knocked on our room door showing us a small cardboard and tape case he made with all of our pictures in it.

Fantastic service!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the General Suite which was phenomenal. Two bathrooms plus a sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul9luap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear paul9luap,

On the behalf of the hotel General I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy that we were able to meet all you expectations and after your visit in May you still keep good memories about your stay.
We thank you for sharing your experience once again and hope that you will visit us again whenever your travel plans will bring you back to Prague.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in all ways. It is a little out of the main town but if you don't mind walking or catching the tram/metro I would stay here for sure.
We were greeted by the staff when we arrived in such a friendly way and offered a welcome drink while they sat us down and talked us through the map that they provided, showing us how to get around using the public transport and what we should see. We were then taken to our room with our bags delivered for us.
Breakfast is amazing with many choices available as well as items that you can order fresh such as omelettes etc.
Overall, amazing service, fantastic room....all round a great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaAshmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear AndreaAshmore,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing hotel General and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that you would not hesitate to visit us again on you next trip to Prague.

Sincerely,

Hotel General team and Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

we spent 2 nights at this hotel and with kids, it was an excellent choice the service was great, breakfast was good to start the day. the room is clean and well maintained. for the location, there is various restaurant on the vicinity. and its only a tram ride going to the historical center around 15min. ride for 24krn.we'll definitely stay there again if we do go back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marigold_ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear marigold_ong,

On the behalf of the hotel General team, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your opinion about the stay with us.
It gives us a great joy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you and your family have enjoyed your stay to fullest. Your recommendation and warm words are the best reward for our daily work and we thank you for that.

With warm regards and best wishes for 2013,

Hotel team & Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is what all hotel experiences should be measured against. From the moment the doorman opened the door upon arrival, to the moment he shut the car door when we departed we could not have asked for a better experience. Doorman Martin took special care of my 82 year old mother and the instant he saw her offered his arm to walk up the steps or out to the taxi. Mom just adored his special attention. The entire staff was always pleasant and eager to help. They were very knowledgeable about the city and arranged taxis for us. When mom was not feeling well, they wrote down the names of the medicines for me so the pharmacy would know what we needed. The dinning room staff were gems. Breakfast was wonderful and a great way to start the day. We ate in the dinning room for dinner a couple of nights and the food was absolutely fantastic. the housekeeping staff were magicians, we barely blinked and the room as perfect. We spent 8 nights at the Hotel General and each one was great. We were looking for an old world type stay and did not need a pool and business office etc. We were not interested in modern amenities, although I must say the wifi connections were really good. If you love crown molding and crystal chandeliers, old world charm, and a staff that takes care of your every need, the Hotel General is the place to stay. The hotel is on the same side of the river as Prague Castle, but a bit away from the main attractions of the city. Old Town, New Town and Lesser Town are maybe a 20 minute walk, depending on how much gawking around you do when you walk! but the wonderful public transportation is a 2 minute walk away. The nice part about the hotels location is you are in a neighborhood where the residents of the city work, eat, and drink. There are numerous pubs and restaurants just a block or two from the hotel. It was very fun to be a bit off the beaten path and try the food the locals enjoyed and the prices were great too. An absolutely wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Catherine C,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for your warm and detailed review.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that you and your mother have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was able to make it even more comfortable and exceptional. Your warm and kind words are the best reward for our teams everyday work and we sincerely thank you for that.

We do hope that you will not hesitate to visit us again if your travels will bring you back to Prague and until then we truly remain yours,

Hotel team and Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The team at this hotel are working very hard to make this a very special place and are succeeding every bit of the way. This was a beautiful hotel, from the welcome drink, the advice from staff, the wonderful restaurant food and housekeeping making the hotel room so special with extra finishing touches.
We had two lovely meals in the restaurant - great service and good humour, the staff were all really friendly and made us feel really comfortable. Excellent quality food and served in 5 star style.
The bed was large and comfy, the rooms clean and hotel quiet. A very well maintained hotel.
Cant recommend it enough and chose it thanks to reading trip advisor reviews.
Brilliant!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Karen B,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing the hotel General for your stay in Prague and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy that we were able to meet all your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay to the fullest.
We thank you for your kind words towards our service and staff as they are the best reward for our team everyday work.

With warm regards and best wishes for 2013,

Hotel General team & Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived to be greeted by very friendly receptionist, Victoria, and a glass of champagne. She took time and trouble to explain the transport system and places of interest. The room was well appointed and the minibar prices were the lowest I've seen. Breakfast is so big and the choice is very good. We were offered yet more champagne!

It's true that the hotel is in the business area and not close to the centre, but it really doesn't matter; the metro, bus and tram terminus is just 5min walk, and the ride in only takes about 15min.

We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening: we were the only ones there so the service was exceptional. The cuisine was nicely presented and tasted fantastic. My wife is veggie and was well catered for.

Our room was kept very clean and on our last night we found rose petals on the bed and a bottle of wine, with a handwritten thank you note, for choosing to stay at the hotel.

Ignore the negative comments elsewhere, they seem to be very nit-picky. What could be improved? Perhaps some more English speaking channels on the tv; only news in English at present.

Would I go back? You betcha!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petercaulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Petercaulf,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for your warm and detailed review on TripAdvisor.
We give a great concern on our guest comments as we feel that guest comments and recommendations are the best guidance for the further possible improvement therefore we thank you for not only sharing your experience but also giving small recommendations concerning possible improvement. I will personally make sure that they are given to the person responsible for such implementations and hope to make the changes in the nearest future.
We thank you once again for sharing your experience as it gives us a great joy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us.

With warm regards from Prague and hotel General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 649 in Prague
607 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 649 in Prague
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,675 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
749 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#18 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing