We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #21 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

we stayed in this property for 4 nights this Nov 2012. everything from airport pickup till checkout was fantastic. we were treated very well by the entire staff, specially Vicky & Pavel They were extremely courteous and helpful. well located near Andel.

we strongly recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to prague.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohit10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Rohit10_12,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your experience with the others.
It gives us a great joy, that we were able to meet your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

Once again I would like to thank you for your kind words and invite you to visit us on your next trip to Prague.

With warm regards from hotel General (including Vicky and Pavel)
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    142
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
178
873
55
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a very nice small hotel with a unique theme. It was a bit off the path of the tourist scene but an easy walk or ride. They have a wonderful breakfast. My wife and I were thoroughly impressed by the attentiveness of the staff. I have never stayed in a hotel with better service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank afmcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear afmcguire,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for your warm words concerning our hotel services and team.
We really appreciate your acknowledgement and your kind words are the best reward for our team.

We thank you once again and send you the best wishes from hotel General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Néa Smírni, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

General is a great hotel close to Mala Strana. When we arrived Dasha gave us a warm welcome and all the information needed for sightseeing and move around the city. The guys at the breakfast buffet were always waiting us with a big smile, so kind and willing to help and making sure that we had the perfect breakfast every day!! Excellent job!! In general I totally recommend the hotel as we had a great stay. VERY-VERY friendly staff, speaking English, always willing to help, perfect breakfast, easy to reach city center by bus, tram or metro.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Manos P,

On the behalf of all hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing hotel General and for your warm and supportive review.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make it even more memorable.
We thank you for sharing your thoughts with the other travelers and hope to meet you at the hotel General on your next trip to Prague.

Sincerely,

Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

it was a great honeymoon trip to PRAGUE our hotel was general hotel the best hotel ever ,the service was excellent ,the room Cleanliness , the breakfast ,the restaurant everything was perfect i love this hotel sure my second trip to prague will be at the same hotel ............

Room Tip: the 4th floor first room are so calm room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear johnnysuzy,

On the behalf of hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for your review.
We were really honored that you have chosen our hotel for such special occasion and we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we were able to make it more special and memorable.
We thank you for your kind words and hope that you will visit us again some time in the future.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We are concluding our stay at Hotel General after five days in room 405, a General Suite. The room was spectacular, spotlessly clean and perfect for us. All of the hotel staff were very helpful and the restaurant staff were wonderful. After losing a diamond earring down the shower drain, the hotel manager brought a plumber to remove the drain to help find it. They were also very helpful resolving Internet/technology issues. Overall, our stay was wonderful and we would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Suites are wonderful with two full bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eiffeltexas76049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Eiffeltexas76049,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing hotel General for your stay and for sharing your opinion on our hotel.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that our hotel has left you warm memories and you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you for your review and hope that you will visit us once again on your next trip to Prague.

Sincerely,

Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Straight from the check-in the hotel gives the right impression. The receptionist was most helpful and keen to provide information about the many places of interest in Prague and how best to reach them. The previously mentioned free welcome drink is a nice touch and immediately puts you in a holiday mood.

We stayed in a standard room on the Fourth Floor and it was lovely with all the touches that you would expect from such an establishment.

My wife and I particularly enjoyed breakfast there. Not only was the food wonderful, but the waiters were attentive and no requests were too much trouble.

As long as you don't mind being the aforementioned twenty minutes away from the city centre, the Hotel General is a delight...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter11435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Peter11435,

I would like to thank you for staying at the hotel General and for sending your review.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that our hotel has left the right impression for you, that we were able to meet your needs and expectations and you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel General to the fullest.
On the behalf of all hotel team I thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with other travelers.

With warm regards from Prague and hotel General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife , my 3 years old daughter and me spent 4 days in this hotel . The room we got was like an apartment ! The hotel is in a perfect area ... very quiet and safely . The guys who works at the hotel are very kind and nice including the waiters !!!! Their selection of wine is amazing and their restaurant ad well ! Anyway , everything was perfect !!! I thanks them again for made our days in Prague easy and wonderful . Hugs to everybody from venice !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Friuldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear VenezianiAKFL,

I would like to thank you for your kind and warm words towards our hotel and our team.
It gives us a great pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest and that the hotel General became a part of your wonderful Prague experience.
We thank you for that and hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Prague.

With warm regards from Hotel General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 649 in Prague
607 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 649 in Prague
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,675 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
749 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#18 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing