We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel staff we have ever met”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #23 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have just returned to the UK from a long weekend in Prague. We travel a lot and I don't tend to do reviews but it would be so unfair not to single out the General for praise. Without any doubt, the staff are the most welcoming and warmest that we have ever met - nothing was too much trouble for them, and they were so accomodating at recommending and booking restaurants, cars etc, but they also went the extra mile and tried to anticipate what might make our stay even better - for example, one of the waiters, realising that we are keen on coffee, made a point of warming our cups as soon as we arrived for breakfast and put on extra coffee before we asked for it (sadly that time we had to get out early and couldn't take advantage of his forethought - maybe that's why we became aware of it) . The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the main tourist sites, but that meant it was very quiet and actually it was good to be able to walk off the generous portions of Czech food. It isn't the most fashionable hotel, but it is spotlessly clean and warm and welcoming, and very good value besides - we would wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazkGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear cazkGloucestershire,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your opinion on our hotel and its services.
Your personal opinion is very important to us as a source of further possible improvement and your welcoming words is the best reward for our efforts. We thank you for that and hope that you will visit us again on you next trip to Prague.

With warm regards from the hotel General team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have decided to stay in this hotel after numerous reviews of hotels in Tripadvisor, and want to say THANKS to all of reviewers for recommending this hotel. We have stayed in this hotel, for a week vacation with my family.
Location- comfortable because is near to subway and tram station.
The hotel is small, clean, and a beautiful one. The rooms and all the hotel are decorated with a great taste, and the staff was one of the best staffs I have ever meat. Always smiling, assisting in any question arising, helping to plan for sightseeing....we had a feeling that we were in a family of friends, who take every possible effort to make my stay as pleasant as possible.
I will stay in this hotel definitely, if I am back to Prague again

Room Tip: We have booked 2 rooms and both of them were excellent, So I can say that all the rooms should be go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ANNMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear ANNMoscow,

I would like to thank you for choosing hotel General for your stay and for your warm review on our services.
It is a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet all your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel General to the fullest.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General on your next trip to Prague.

Sincerely,

Ringaile Radojevic & hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel staff has an excellent service, especially the breakfast, despite the location of the hotel is near metro and tram station. The hotel is small and the staff strives to meet the maximum fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LEONARDO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear LEONARDO C,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for sharing your experience with the others.

Sincerely,

Ringaile Radojevic
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked the hotel without checking, because it was part of a package deal. But we could not have chosen a better place to stay in Prague! The friendly staff at the desk or at the door, and off course the waiters with their gloves on. It gives you quite a special feeling. I will certainly recommend the hotel to friends and will stay here again when we make another visit to Prague!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan Pieter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Jan Pieter R,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your impressions with the others.

Sincerely
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have just got back from 3 nights in Prague with 4 friends. We booked this hotel because of the Trip Advisor reviews. They were spot on. It was absolutely excellent. We had a room upgrade to a suite wIthout asking, which was splendid. Everything about the Hotel General was first rate. The staff were absolutely the best. We ate in on the first night and were not disappointed. On our last night we decided to have a 'weekly special' meal in the hotel restaurant; 4 courses and 5 star at a terrific price, served beautifully by Ibrahim and cooked by Gohar, two of the very attentive staff of the Hotel General.
I had wondered what made the Hotel General's guests write such effusive reviews but now find myself doing the same. From the beautiful, helpful receptionist to Khalid, the barman in our favourite cellar bar we cannot speak too highly any aspect of this hotel. Try it for yourselves. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Ibesol,

On the behalf of all hotel General team I would like to thank you for your kind and warm review.
It gives us a great pleasure that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your warm and welcoming words are the best reward and encouragement for our team and we thank you for that.

With warm regards from Prague and looking forward to welcome you back at the Hotel General

Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I visited prague in October 2012. We stayed at the Hotel General which we can highly recommend. The hotel is locate one block from the river and about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the old town and the castles. We were glad that we stayed here as the old town beautiful though it is, was very crowded and hotels there would be noisy. The Hotel General is across the river from the old town and a short walk away. Also, it gave us an opportunity to see a part of prague that we might not otherwise have seen.

Best of all, the rates were reasonable and the staff were friendly, helpful and responsive to all of our needs. we highly recommend this hotel and thank their staff for their help and attention.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elise-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Elise-Doug,

I would like to thank you for choosing hotel General for your stay and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

With warm regards from Prague and hotel General
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I want this to be the best review I have ever written for tripadvisor for any hotel or restaurant I have visited. We stayed in Prague for 7 nights at the Hotel General. I booked the hotel based on the reviews on tripadvisor. The reviews were numerous for this hotel and excellent. I was making arrangements for my wife and I and two other couples, so I was a bit anxious that everything be perfect. After our stay at the Hotel General, I can enthusiastically and honestly say that this was the best hotel experience I have ever had anywhere ( maybe the Fairmont Hotel in SanFrancisco could be tied!). Upon arrival, you are personally greeted by either Vicky or Dasha with a glass of champagne or another beverage of choice. They sit with you and go over hotel and Prague information that is so helpful. The rooms are beautiful, clean, comfortable, quiet, and well appointed. This is a small boutique hotel so you are treated like a guest in their home. The breakfast is extensive and beautifully presented and the dining room is lovely. The downstairs bar is cozy and extremely comfortable ( very Prague). There is a private parking garage that is very secure. The hotel is a short walk to the tram stops and virtually every beautiful sight in Prague is within walking distance or a short tram ride away. The river is one street away from the hotel, so you have the city and yet the hotel is in a quiet area so you are able to rest and relax and regroup for another active day sightseeing. This a hotel where we were told to call ahead and let them know if we would want the bar to stay open later for us on any given night that we knew we would be out late and that they would make sure someone was there to serve us a beer, cognac or even a cup of tea. We had trouble with our bank card and Pavel and Dasha were so helpful and understanding and resolved the problem for us. We never had to worry about a thing. Everything about this hotel is outstanding. They have well deserved and hard earned five star rating. The hotel is terrific, but the people that work there are the real beauty of this hotel. As soon as you step out of the Mercedes van they send for you at the airport and are greeted by Martin you know you are in a special place. We want to thank Ibrahim, Matrin, Arsen, Pavel, Vicky, and Dasha for making us seem like family guests and we will remember them fondly for many years. I hope we can return very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostontables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear bostontables,

On the behalf of all hotel General team I would like to thank you for such warm and informative review. It gives us a great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest and that hotel General became a part of your wonderful Prague experience.
We thank you for your kind words towards our services and personnel and hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Prague.

With best regards from all hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 646 in Prague
1,097 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 646 in Prague
1,733 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#22 of 646 in Prague
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
3,004 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#7 Family Hotel in Prague
#21 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $82 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing