We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very affordable. top of the range 5 star.”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #20 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very affordable. top of the range 5 star.”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

we spent 4 days in this beautiful hotel,the welcome from the staff,the rooms ,the restaurant were all just amazing.it was our first time in prague and certainly wont be our last we would really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms were of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Declan r,

I would like to thank you for your review and time.

It was a great pleasure to receive such positive review and acknowledgement of our efforts. We are glad that we were able to make your stay as comfortable and unforgettable as it is possible and hope that on your next trip to Prague you won't forget to visit us again.

With warm regards from hotel General team,

Mrs. Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,249
    144
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
181
885
56
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We had such a fantastic stay at this friendly five star hotel......every one was so friendly and helpful that you felt totally at ease and so comfortable in this beautiful hotel. Our suite was just fantastic, so quiet and comfortable for lounging around in. Breakfast was included in our deal and it really set you up for the day. We had booked this trip for my husbands birthday and to celebrate the hotel gave us a lovely bottle of wine which was so nice and considerate of them. All these little touches would make anyone want to visit again. This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who wishes to visit Prague as the Hotel General really will make your visit perfect in every way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard as it will be lovely and quiet
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth_rennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear elizabeth_rennie,

I would like to thank you for your review and time.

It was a great pleasure to receive such positive review and acknowledgement of our efforts. We are glad that we were able to make your stay as comfortable and unforgettable as it is possible and hope that on your next trip to Prague you won't forget to visit us again.

With warm regards from hotel General team,

Mrs. Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I got to travel to Prague and Stockholm recently (Jan) by my self I may add and I was very happy that I was booked into the Hotel General, they were very freindly and most helpfull (even helping me load a Local sim card in my US phone). I ate in the Hotel most nights and the food was very good, even brakfast made to order each morning.

Room Tip: Small hotel so any room was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Dan S,

I would like to thank you on the behalf of the all General team for choosing our hotel for you first stay in Prague. If gives us a great pleasure that our efforts towards provided services have made your stay pleasant and unforgettable.

With best wishes from Hotel General team
Ringaile Radojevic - DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We had a brillant 5 day stay with the lovely staff at the Hotel General. We stayed in the Napoleon Suite, two bathrooms, which was great as we travelled as a family group of 3. Really nice drivers to and from the airport, upon arrival at the hotel our concergierge sat us down with a complitmentary drink and showed us maps of the area and where we were located in ref to the old town square etc.

Breakfast was great, very attentive and capable staff, ensured we had what we wanted when we wanted it.

We really enjoyed our stay and were made to feel so welcome.

Thanks Hotel General.
Clare, Jo and Alanna

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCremin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Clare, Jo and Alanna,

On the behalf of the whole hotel General team I would like to thank you for your stay and such positive review. We are glad that our staff, service and the hotel were a part of your unforgettable Prague experience.

With the best wishes from Hotel General Team and hope to see you again at our hotel
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

"WOW!" pretty much sums up this hotel. My husband and I stayed here after an extensive trip through Europe and it was by far the best hotel we have come across in our travels.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Prague. Staying there added such a great dimension to our experience of the beautiful city.

Andrea Hugo

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndzF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Andrea Hugo,

I would like to thank you for your review and time.

It was a great pleasure to receive such positive review and acknowledgement of our efforts. We are glad that we were able to make your stay as comfortable and unforgettable as it is possible and hope that on your next trip to Prague you won't forget to visit us again.

With warm regards from hotel General team,

Mrs. Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff of the hotel, we were upgraded to a junior suite upon arrival as not many other guests were staying during our visit.
The room was vey quiet, though hot on the first night, but after turning the radiators down the rest of the hotel experience was excellent and only a pleasant 20 minutes walk from the attractions of the Old Town and Charles Bridge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Stephenm2010,

We would like to thank you for your stay with us and for such positive review on our provided services. Every review gives inspiration and guides for further possible improvement therefore we mostly appreciate your opinion on our services.
We are very glad that our efforts have made your stay in Prague an unforgettable experience and hope that you will chose to stay with us on your next visit.

With best regards from Hotel General team.

Ringaile Radojevic - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perm', Komi, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2012

we were so excited by the staff of the hotel! they are very friendly and they are always ready to help.
in the beginning of our trip we were met by the transfer service of the hotel. the driver Miroslav told some information about the city. it took us about 20 minutes to get to the hotel.
When we came we were given a map of the city and showed the places which we planned to see.
Speaking about rooms, I should say that each room is named according to the famous generals of the world. Rooms are cleaned everyday. I advise everybody who come to Prague to stay at this hotel.
Come to the hotel General and you won't be sorry for it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schraidmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Schraidmann,

Thank you very much for choosing hotel General and for your time for writing this review.

It gives us a great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your satisfaction and positive comments are the best motivation for all our team. Thank you for sharing this moment with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

On the behalf of the hotel General team - Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#13 of 649 in Prague
1,029 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#23 of 649 in Prague
641 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 649 in Prague
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
761 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,713 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#18 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing