We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic hostel in total centre of prague”
Review of Hostel Bridge 2

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Bridge 2
Ranked #480 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed August 30, 2011

loaction - great, everything is few minutes away by walk, so you donť need to travel by tube (metro)
rooms - basic and simple, they should improve cleaning, noisy if you have open windows, but you are in center, so you have to accept this!
access - quite strange for those who have no sense of direction, as you have to enter pizzeria and past it, and there you will find steps to upper floors :)
there are few better hostels in this price category, but i booked it one week before coming to prague, and they were full, so i tried this one and i was fully satisfied, as i expected just location, bed and shower, cause i spent day and night in the city!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterSK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Bridge 2
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 43 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2011

The staff were incredibly nice and helpful. The rooms had a lot of space. 5 of us had two rooms which allowed us to have the whole floor to ourselves. It was right in the middle of the old town so very near everything. There are a lot of steps to get there so do not bring too much stuff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crayonlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I had a great stay at the Hostel Bridge, sharing a room with two friends. While many hostels of similar size (maybe 30 guests) and price would be nothing more than functional and practical, Hostel Bridge was unique because of the friendly staff and their willingness to help out. I was welcomed by Phil, who gave us recommendations around the city and taught me some phrases in Czeck. There is no wifi, but there is a computer and also an internet line if you have your own laptop. The Hostel also provides free coffee and tea.

Above all, I appreciated its great location (literally a minute from the Charles Bridge), its safety (multiple doors to get through with locks), and its cleanliness. The bathroom is shared but kept very clean, and you can also do laundry.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cchen501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

old building, but they all are in prague. the facilities were very clean. the shared bathrooms were also very clean. our room was a good size with 3 twin beds. high ceilings. right in the heart of everything. it is a few minutes walk from staromestska metro station and half a block away from charles (karlov) bridge. when you first arrive, it is difficult to find. there is no sign. it is above a restaurant. you must look for "bridge" on the intercom buttons on the front at street level. the person that checked us in was not there at the time, so we had to call a local number. fyi, if possible, it would be useful to have a mobile phone to do so. we tried a pay phone and it was broken. luckily, the host showed up about 30 minutes later to check us in upstairs. you have to walk up several flights of stairs. no elevator. if that's of concern to you.

the host's name was petra and she is a really nice lady. she volunteered all kinds of advice and gave us tips, such as never exchange money on the street, always lock your doors, etc. she was also more than happy to show us the laundry, the internet, the best supermarkets nearby, the best resturants, and the best money exchange place (eXchange is the name of the place. corner of radnice and platnerska. good rates and no commission. get there early in the day. otherwise, there might be a long line. hours: 9 am to 20 (8 pm)). the laundry is free. there is one desktop computer for everyone to use and that has free internet. free instant coffee and tea in the rooms. free towels and linens. rack to hang and dry clothes. free shampoo in the bathroom. free detergent next to the free washing machine. free snacks in the common area. can use the communal fridge. no microwave. no free breakfast. no wifi in the rooms. small tv and dvd player in the common area. the other people staying at the hostel were respectful, quiet, and clean. very unlike the "stereotypical" hostel guests.

i would definitely stay here again. i would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank climber22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

First off I didnt really enjoy my time in Prague, it was miserable weather and constantly raining so that may reflect badly on this accommodation.

We struggled to find this hostel as there were no signs or the like, it was basically a big door that was locked. But eventually we were greeted by the host. He took us up some steps through a back door, over a small bridge inbetween buildings and finally into the apartment. Being wet and tired this was a little annoying with our bags but we made it. And I guess it makes it a bit more memorable.

The room was roomy and good enough, it wasnt flash but what do we expect for a hostel in Prague? To be honest it was nicer than expected and the host was very gracious. He gave us a map and directions to all the must see places.

From my recolection the bathroom was shared which we are not fans of but we booked it what that known so we cant complain.

The entire apartment was a little bit dark but that may have been due to the fact it was dark and miserable outside.

Overall I probably would stay here again if I wanted something cheap and clean, plus it was in a really central location just steps away from Charles Bridge.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

This hostel is located in the center of all the tourist areas in Prague. We loved being in walking distance to everything and being able to stop back to the hostel during the day. We could look out our window and see Charles Bridge. It was about 5 blocks from Old Town Square.

We stayed in a one bedroom private room. Since it is a hostel, we shared a full bathroom with another 2 rooms (about 5 other people). There, however, was an additional bathroom without a shower on the same floor that we were one.

There is nothing fancy about this hostel, but it was clean and had everything we needed. They have free coffee, a kitchen, and free internet. Additionally, it was reasonably priced for the location.

One caution: This hostel is hard to find. It is on the top of a restaurant. You will probably need to ask the restaurant waiters and they will buzz the hostel employee to come down and bring you up when you first arrive

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We took the advantage of some cheap flight deals and visited Prague for a few days in early June. Travel from the airport was fairly straightforward and it did not take us long to find the accommodation.

It was not obvious from the street where exactly the hostel was but we followed the instructions given and were met by very friendly staff. The location is excellent, very central and literally steps away from Karluv Most. We were staying on the top floor which meant a lot of steps, but also a nice view of the nearby rooftops and the bridge itself (if you leant out the window a little). Despite the location above a busy street we didn't notice too much noise.

The room was big and clean. The bed was fairly basic - two singles pushed together, however it was perfectly adequate. The bathroom facilities were shared but lockable, and kept nice and clean. The shower was good.

There was a communal fridge and free internet access which came in handy. The code was provided for the mini-safe without additional charge and overall the staff were very helpful, even pointing out places we could go to eat.

The accommodation mainly served as a base for us to explore the city for a few days. It seems ideally suited for small groups of people who want a nice clean and comfortable place stop for a few nights at a reasonable price.

Overall very impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Daniel_Siddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#191 of 647 in Prague
519 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Aurus
Aurus
#129 of 647 in Prague
371 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension U Lilie
Pension U Lilie
#282 of 647 in Prague
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,308 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#132 of 647 in Prague
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Bridge 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Bridge 2

Address: Karlova 10, Prague, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #480 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Number of rooms: 281
Also Known As:
Hostel Bridge 2 Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing