We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Prague

“Lovely authentic restaurant ”

U Modre Kachnicky II.
Ranked #118 of 6,454 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great dinner here lately. Food was lovely, local Czech cuisine. Staff is extremely polite and professional. Excellent place for both business and family dinners. Prices are above average though.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank rolandk736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 2,350 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We went here for local food with my friends , I can tell it's so yummy local cuisine with home style cooking , food is amazing portions are big and waiters are so polite gentlemen , highly recommend

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Magdy-DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

Absolutely beautiful traditional Czech meal, food very reasonably priced. Wine a little more expensive but worth it. Husband had pork shoulder, I had vegetarian potato cakes and spinach.
Deserts were small but perfect after a very filling meal.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Gemlouisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Utmost dining experience. Recommended by our hotel (the Dominika ) this turned out to be a highlight of our visit. Extensive menu of Czech fare and game, excellent wine selections, deserts that were simple and quite well prepared. Finally, the service was perfect for us and a quiet punctuation to the superb meal. We both chose duck my wife’s was more traditional Czech with Potato pancakes and I had the Plum sauce with raisins and shallot potatoes. Both dishes were well prepared and really made the duck special. Well done. We chose a simple green salad that was absolutely generous in its portions, a remarkable sheep cheese that was mild and very flavorful (worth finding out what kind). The desserts were well presented and prepared, a simple and delicate pear strudel and a gluten free, Carrot cake. Both were delicious and very tasty.

This Old Town site is somewhat out of the way but worth every turn and tunnel to get there. Reservations are a must for in-season visits and advised any other time.

Should be on your short list.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Sunking1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

It's a nice place, food is really yay and good, excellent service with sense of humor, and nice music as well.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank olkunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Modre Kachnicky II. also viewed

 

Been to U Modre Kachnicky II.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing