We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat.”
Review of Triton Restaurant

Triton Restaurant
Ranked #514 of 6,238 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $51
Cuisines: European, Czech, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Description: The Art Nouveau TRITON Restaurant is a unique of Prague architecture in the heart of the city on the Wenceslas Square. Built in 1912, it represents a stalactive cave with statues from antique mythology. TRITON Restaurant offers specialities of Czech and international cuisine, as well as more than 100 wines. Thanks to its uniqueness, Restaurant TRITON was a meeting place for prominent political and cultural personalities – e.g. Voskovec a Werich, Vlasta Burian, Emil Arthur Longen, Jaroslav Marvan, Jindřich Plachta, E. E. Kisch, Hugo Haas, and many more. Restaurant is an ideal place for lunch menu and seasonal menu, special occasions such as romantic, candlelight dinner, weddings, private celebrations and gala dinners as well as for press conferences, cocktails and wine tasting, live piano on request. Delicious Art gastronomy of the chef Tomáš Horák will be unforgettable experience for you. Just try it yourself..
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Triton is my favorite Prague restaurant. The food, service and the restaurant is a fantastic experience.
There are different great menu's, Czech, candlelight, honeymoon and a very nice a la carte. My wife and I will be back for sure.

Date of visit: October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Odyssey803493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 228 of 534 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were looking for a place with good quality local food and that we found at Triton. The fact that the settings were in a stalactite cave just made the experience even more special. Ok, fake stalactites, but well made, and nicely combined with Art Nouveau lamps and decoration. We had the "Czech Tasting menu" (which we had booked beforehand), comprising of 5 courses of the local cuisine and it was just lovely food. Waiters were friendly and attentive without being too much, but the plates did come in rather quickly so felt a bit that they just wanted us out again. This plus the music makes it only 4 out of 5 in the rating. The music was ok, but the same CD with favourites of the 80ies and 90ies on loop. Would have made the last point had they had some quiet piano music on the CD player. However, all in all a nice experience - to be recommended.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jrosbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a special night out and we found it at the Triton. The rather unique decor is fun and cozy as the space is very small and intimate. Our waiter was not grumpy, but rather more outgoing and friendly than is common to Czechs, perhaps because the clientel was largely foreign. The portions were generous, the food interesting and well prepared and we enjoyed a very nice Czech wine recommended by our server. The only negative element for me, and the reason I did not award a 5, is that smoking is still permitted in this restaurant, particularly irritating in such a small space.

Thank LeslieW196
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food is good but the same waiter is there who waited on us four years ago and he was still as crabby as the last time we went. Actually it was good for a laugh to see he was still the same. Good food though!

Date of visit: August 2013
Thank WhatsamataU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We wen t here for my 50th birthday, mainly because we were intrigued by the thought of eating in a cave(not very authentic, can see the concrete). It was the best meal of our trip, my husband who can be a picky eater would happily have eaten here every night. The service was extremely good, the food lovely, portion control nowhere to be seen my half duck seemed more like a whole one. My husband ordered the apple strudel for pudding and couldn't believe the size of the portion, it was the best part of the meal in his opinion. It was pricier than other places we had eaten but we felt it was worth the price for the quality of the meal and the special occasion.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank caline53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Triton Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing