We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy Balkan meal on a quiet street” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gitanes

Gitanes
Ranked #791 of 5,323 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy Balkan meal on a quiet street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

In the mood for something lighter than traditional fare, we thought we'd give Balkan cuisine a try. On the menu are a variety of appetizers, grilled meats, seafood, and about dozen pasta dishes. After their high-protein diet of the past few days, the kids were all about pasta.

Pasta servings are generous at Gitanes, and two children easily split a single dish (~US$10). They chose the fettuccine with lamb and vegetables, which turned out to be green beans. The paella for two was moist and tasty, with mussels, clams, chicken, and tiny scallops. The fact that it served on a platter instead of from a paella pan was a minor detraction, but I did prefer the moistness of this paella vs. the one from the Little Whale (though I liked the inclusion of sausage at LW).

Overall, we felt the food was a very good value, though the price for a bottle of sparkling water was a tad steep, around Cz150 (US$7+). Atmosphere was folksy and warm. Service was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingAlpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    89
    38
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track and great good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience at Gitanes in Prague. The owners were friendly and the service was excellent. The decor is unusual and quirky and there was so much to drink in. The foods from Serbia, Croatia and Bosnia were home made and authentic.The gypsy band was a great touch and made the experience unforgettable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dragica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good quality and lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

My daughter and I had dinner twice here during a visit to Prague. The food was lovely, the service great - not overbearing but attentive and friendly and the restaurant was interesting and cosy. Prices very reasonable and no hidden extras included which we found to be an issue with many Prague restaurants. Can definately recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightful cozy Czech restaurant - with live music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Exhausted and staying next door at the Aria, with mostly rainy weather, we wanted something local and fairly unassuming. Gitanes gave us a lovely meal in a lovely ambience, with live string music, all at a very good value. We were most pleased.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SabaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Went here one Sunday night ,food was awful.
The food was burnt and really unappetising .
The service was poor too.
Really disappointed as other places were very welcoming

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Murdie192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gitanes also viewed

Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Gitanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing