We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Visit in Prague”
Review of Pivovarsky dum

Pivovarsky dum
Ranked #420 of 5,534 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must Visit in Prague”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Great and interesting home brews. My wife loved thw champagne beer. Many unusu flavors and solid IPA's and pilsoners too. Food is real good including, of course, dumplings. Must see place if you are in Prague.

Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    659
    290
    124
    113
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great beer, food is decent, excellent Prague experience.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very good choice for a visit to a good old-style Prague microwbrew restaurant. I would definitely recommend it, particularly to visitors to Prague who want to experience this type of Czech brewhouse place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Interesting and very popular place”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went on a Friday night and managed to get a table but there was standing room only as people jammed the entry waiting for a table. We had a pint of their house beer and then went for a "taster" of about eight small glasses of beer on a round wooden tray. This had some interesting brews, such as sour cherry, nettle and banana! We decided to eat there and I had goulash (the first of several during the weekend). To be honest, I had better goulash elsewhere as the meat was a little fatty and I wasn't keen on the "cannonball" bacon dumpling. Service was brisk and business-like but what I found amazing was that despite about twenty people waiting for tables they never rushed us. It has an authentically Czech feel which was nice. For those braver than we were you can get a "Giraffe" which seems to be a massive glass container of beer with its own tap, which then goes on the table and probably dispenses about twenty litres-heaven!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fivestarcomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Unforgettable yet Affordable”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Pivovarsky Dum is one of many great microbreweries in the the world's top beer consumer per capita, the Czech Republic. Prague is home to many establishments like Pivovarsky Dum that are a microbrewery and a restaurant at the same time --what makes PD special is that it excels at both! I liked the blood sausage and the succulent pork knuckle complemented with the season beer and a sampler (Try the coffee beer! As a self-confessed espresso addict here in Sicilia, their coffee beer is something to definitely try.) The pasteurization process in brewing beer lengthens its shelf life but evaporates some of the flavor --not here, beer is unpasteurized but the longer shelf life is not needed as both locals and visitors alike consume it in large quantities.

Oh and the its very affordable. Come here, you won't regret it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Coffee beer”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We purposely stopped by this place for dinner & drink for our first day in Prague. We started our dinning with an impressive coffee beer near the bar while waiting for our table to be ready! Foods are tasty especially the goulash, pork knuckle is huge (price by weight!). To our liking, this restaurant is crowded but not touristy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank junyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pivovarsky dum also viewed

 

Been to Pivovarsky dum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing