We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maly Buddha

Maly Buddha
Ranked #374 of 5,372 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Hradcany & Letna
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Definitely worth the hike as this place rocks.We loved our food and even more the ambience,wchich is nothing like many of the commercial touristic places in Prague.
We were just very happy there and we felt treated with smile and optimism which also isn t always norm in Prague.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johannes b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    99
    27
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Thai atmophere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Everything in this place recalls Thailand, specially the interiors. Food is really good and denifitely cheap. Portion are so huge and service is so fast! Let me point out that this restaurant in the only one in the area of Loreta Church. All around you can find just fastfood or bad turistic czech restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This restaurant was a little out of the way so we worked out that we would be closest to it after visiting Prague castle. Unfortunately it is at the top of another hill so unless you are looking to build up an appetite, grab a taxi. The restaurant itself has a unique appearance and looks worlds away from the Prague scenery outside, it really set the mood for the meal. We had a Vietnamese Phó with glass noodles and a sweet and sour fish dish (can't remember the name sorry.) Both meals we're fantastic in quality and quantity! The desserts we're a little underwhelming after the fantastic mains but this was a great experience on the whole.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattIbbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great break from the heavy food. Wonderful atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Being from Thailand, we are use to great Asian food. The food here was pretty good. But not what you would get in Asia. I guess that is to be expected. Pizza here is nothing like what we get in NYC either.

With that being said, we were very happy with our food. A great break from goulash. And the atmosphere is fantastic. We stayed for over 2 hours just relaxing and chatting.

The owner is a very nice guy and very attentive. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank craigt3365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not eat here if you are Asian!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Our experience at Maly Buddha was disappointing, to say the least. We read all the reviews and thought we were in for a decent break from heavy European food - boy were we wrong. It also doesn't help that I am Asian (read: high expectations).
We ordered the pad thai and chicken pho. The pad thai is super bland and oily, and did not settle well in our stomachs (at the risk of too much information). The pho was the better dish but also very bland. I asked for hot sauce which they charged me for. Thai food is inherently spicy! Hot sauce should be on every table! Last but not least, tons of ginger was dumped into the pho which completely overpowered the taste.
Do not come here if you are Asian or an avid Asian-food lover. Huge disappointment.

Helpful?
Thank vanessa_y_chan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Maly Buddha also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Maly Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing