We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Casserol, Prague”
Review of Casserol

Casserol
Ranked #127 of 5,630 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Czech, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Description: Czech restaurant Casserol you can find on the Royal Route in the city centre of Prague. The attractive room of the Romanesque hall from the first half of the 12th century gives it an unrivaled ambiance which is enhanced by an open kitchen. This brings you a totally unique experience allowing you to really see 'what is being cooked'. Open 7 am - 10 am and 11:30 am - 12 pm However, the most important thing for you will be the dishes which are based on traditional Czech ingredients and recipes which are enhanced by modern methods, whether these dishes originate from an aristocratic or peasant cuisine. Together with chefs you can explore the secrets of Czech cuisine. You will discover another place to which to return...
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Casserol is excellent place for fine dining in the heart of Prague. Compering to the other restaurants usually offering the same dishes (goulash or cabbage with dumplings), this is really something special.
Service is professional and quick and the food… I tried duck pate as a starter and stewed cheek with red wine sauce and very tasty puree. Both dishes were delicious and prices are reasonable.
If you are close to Old Town Square or Charles Bridge, it pays off to visit!

Small tip: If you are not that hungry and passing by, there is lovely bakery at the ground floor selling various types of homemade pastry to take away…

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TomesTomas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ondrej D, Public Relations Manager at Casserol, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Tomas,

thank you very much for your review. We would indeed like to offer the wide but clear menu of our traditional dishes in a modern coat, from ingredients we are perfectly acquainted.

Regarding the small tip, upstairs is Krusta bakery from our family, hop on there, here are other reviews http://bit.ly/1l2mrm2

Kind regards, Casserol restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 721 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had an excellent lunch at Casserol. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. The cool basement location provided a nice break from the hot weather in Prague as well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ondrej D, Public Relations Manager at Casserol, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Gina B,

Tack så mycket for your review. We indeed have very good temperature in our basement. Cooling down in summer and warming up in winter, you can visit us again to prove us right.

Kind regards, Casserol restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We discovered this gem in Prague by accident! Fabulous food at extremely reasonable prices! We went back two evenings later and was again not disappointed!

Thank Evdr131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ondrej D, Public Relations Manager at Casserol, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Evdr131,

thank you for your review! Sometimes accident could be happy and beneficial one.

Kind regards, Casserol restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

My wife and I ate here whilst on a weekend in Prague. We stumbled upon the place whilst walking around the historic centre. I am fortunate to eat in many great restaurants when I travel on business. This is up there with the best, what a find! The service was exceptional, it was good value for money and the wine recommendation from the staff was superb. The meal was beautifully presented and was delicious. I would recommend it without hesitation and if I am ever in Prague again I will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DWS2913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ondrej D, Manažer komunikace at Casserol, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear DWS2913,

we are very grateful for such compliments you have provided. Especially from person who travels a lot and have a chance to compare and consider our restaurant great.

We will be very pleased to welcome you anytime in future, regardless it is business or casual trip.

Kind regards, Casserol restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I can't believe this place doesn't have a line of people waiting outside to get in. Everyone's food was beautiful and delicious. The kitchen is exposed so you are assured of cleanliness. And the dining area was very handsomely decorated. Do yourself a favor and order the duck breast.

1  Thank tranzam4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casserol2014, Manažer at Casserol, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear tranzam4me,

Thank you for spreading the word about our restaurant, your recommendation is our biggest compliment!

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you in Casserol again!

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casserol also viewed

 

Been to Casserol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing