We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Prague Classic City Bike Tour of New and Old Town
162

Book in advance
from
$37.92
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Franz Kafka Muzeum
from $37.92
More Info
from $62.15
More Info
from $62.15
More Info
Reviews (1,337)
Filter reviews
1,337 results
Traveler rating
514
458
246
71
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
514
458
246
71
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his life museum shop on display literature author exhibition trial peeing literary information kissing material video fountain context czech statues
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,337 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2020 via mobile

A lot of interesting life history, excerpts from his diaries and film about Prague in his lifetime, but it's SO DARK inside. Not sure if the darkness is meant to be symbolic, but it's too much.

Date of experience: September 2020
2  Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 17, 2020

I enjoyed visiting the museum, though at first I was directed to the wrong place instead and went to the World of Franz Kafka exhibition in the Old Town. Although I enjoyed it, it is best not to get the two confused! The museum is on the opposite side of the Vltava river and the nearest metro station is Malostranska. It's not too far to walk from there. On the way I discovered a charming park called Vojanovy Sady, which is set in the grounds of an old Carmelite convent. I would recommend going there to see the peacocks! There was a lot of biographical information about Kafka on display in the museum and about his difficult relationship with his father, also how he was split between the dullness of working as a civil servant in an office all day and his creative writing.

Date of experience: September 2020
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 5, 2020 via mobile

On arrival we saw a man in the shop reading a book, after persuing our own interests for a while the shopkeeper asked him to buy the book or leave. After a short discussion he left. Our turn came to buy the tickets and he took a little of his anger out on us. The museum has no staff, it seems no one ever checked our tickets. Inside you will find an interesting perspective on the life of Kafka, his loves and his writings. Certainly gives a new appreciation for the man, though it may be better to be familiar with his books before visiting.

Date of experience: September 2020
2  Thank alii691
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 28, 2020

As in all exhibits concerning literature: more reading than seeing.
However there is a wonderful little movie depicting Prague at Kafka's time.
A lot of information about his life, his relationship to his father, his abhorence of his job in that it kept him from writing, his relationships with women.

Date of experience: August 2020
1  Thank enelram s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 8, 2020

Kafka is not exactly known for writing light-hearted fiction, and this superb little museum is built to match that mood. Visitors walk through lengthy, dark corridors with exhibits of letters, photos, and other documents (it is clearly stated that they are facsimiles, so, no, they are not originals, and no attempt is made to convince visitors otherwise) that serve to contextualizing Kafka. In a city that seems to encourage entrepreneurs to open up shady, overpriced, and disappointing museums in any spare room they may have available in their apartments, this experience came as a most welcome surprise. We were, however, initially suspicious about the place due to the fact that we were “greeted” by a rather unpleasant employee at the reception desk; we prefer to assume that her vacant and disagreeable manner was an act to make our visit more Kafkaesque.

Date of experience: August 2020
1  Thank Olav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews