We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic at best”
Review of A&O Prag Rhea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A&O Prag Rhea
Ranked #558 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My firm had booked this for me and after a tough day I needed to relax, but this place was so bad that I took one look at the room and asked for another one.
There was no other available, so I opted not to stay. First time I have ever done that.
Receptionist offered me another room, more expensive, but that was not much better, so I declined the offer.
When I walked in there was an overwhelming smell of cooked fat from the kitchens.
It looks like a run down block of flats, the whole place feels shabby and worn. The room I was first shown looked tired beyond words and there were no curtains to speak of, just paper thin blinds.
I hate bright light in the morning and this was on the sixth block, facing east, which turned me right off. The second one was marginally better, but not exactly invitiing -- esp not at the price.
It's near a tram line which takes you into town, but I'd give this place a miss.
At 72 euros per night, this is expensive and shabby, not a good combination.
The place was busy and tourists clearly like it, but there are better places around and the place badly needs some TLC.
I just had a bad experience, wasn't in the mood to put up with a substandard place. Free wifi in reception is a nice touch, but it means the lobby is often full of people surfing web.

Room Tip: You pay on arrival, which seems customary and I would ask to see the room before you pay rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rylandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_hfr, Front Office Manager at A&O Prag Rhea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear James,

thank you for your review. I am really sorry that you were dissapointed with our hotel. As receptionist told me, your company booked you our hotel for this price on not official website. Sometimes other websites offer things which we do not have it, so it is better to check our official website. We have already fixed the problem with kitchen smell. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the room. In our hotel you always must pay on arrival, but you can see the room first, this is your right. We take all your requirements to improve amnesties to make guest feel better. Thank you for sharing your experience. Best regards, Petra Klímová - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 256 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We've been there in december and the hotel is so far from any kind of transport. The room was clean and nice. There were a lot of high school students in the hotel as well. The food was fine nothing special,

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margarita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_hfr, Front Office Manager at A&O Prag Rhea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Margarita,

thank you for your review. I reckon that our hotel is not so far from public transport. The nearest tram station is 3 minutes by walk and with tram number 13 you are in 12 minutes in city centre - Wenceslaw Square so I think that for the price and travel time is our hotel great opportunity for our guests! Anyway we are glad that you were sattisfied in our hotel. Best regards, Petra Klímová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days 4 nights. Very basic hotel and looks run down like a big block of flats. Room was like a unit of 2 separate lockable rooms, one with 2 twin beds 2 seats, and large wardrobe and very dirty balcony! over looking beautiful views and the beds were very comfortable and clean. Other room had a settee and tv, only english news on one channel. Settee was a double pull out bed. Toilet and separate shower (lovely) which was kept clean. Really enjoyed our stay there, even though when we arrived we wondered what on earth we had come too!!! The links to Prague were excellent. Too far to walk, unless you're very keen on walking. There was a tram at the bottom of the hill and for 3 days pass cost approx £10, and could catch trams, metro's and buses all over Prague with this ticket!! Felt very safe going back to hotel late at night. Lovely position to see a bit more of the original Czech instead of city!! Would definately go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_hfr, Front Office Manager at A&O Prag Rhea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Liz,

thank you for your review. It is nice to read that you were happy with your stay in our hotel. We do our best to meet our guest´s requirements. We have already improved cleaning balconies - we cleaned them every stay but it happens that during your stay it is not cleaned properly because of many birds. Once again than you for your review because feedbacks from our clients always help us improve our services. We are looking forward to your next visit. Best regards, Petra Klímová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

It was a nice place to stay, although the building looks old. We had two bedrooms. Couldn't seem to figure out how to open the windows. i didn't like much the breakfast coz there was no daily variety. for the 4-5days we stayed, the breakfast was the same. they should improve on that. But i love the 24 hr wifi hotspot at the lobby.

Room Tip: i think they're pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blik1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_hfr, Front Office Manager at A&O Prag Rhea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your review, we are glad that you were happy with your stay. About windows - I do not know where was a problem, because windows should be opened normaly. The best way to solve this problem is go to reception and our service man can fix it immediately. Thank you for your time of writing this review. We are looking forward to your next visit. Best regards, Petra Klímová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fom_hfr, Front Office Manager at A&O Prag Rhea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

There should be some innovation on the building ,the elevator was too slow ,there was no aircobdition the windows weren't open properly .....it had an excellent view quiet and close to supermarket hospital tram /metro

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Andromachi454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_hfr, Front Office Manager at A&O Prag Rhea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your review. We are glad that you liked your stay in our hotel. Elevators works properly, but it can happen that another guests stop you at some floors, so this can be reason that you write that elevators are slow. Windows are opened properly, but if you have problem with anything you are free to open to our 24 hours reception and we send service man to check the problem and fix it. Thank you again for your time to write this review, we appreciate it. Best regards, Petra Klímová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

For price you pay, you get nice room.
We hava an apartman with 2 rooms and 1 batroom. One roome is a little small but ok.
Bathroom is separathed from toilet what is good. But toillet is too small.
Cleanless is ok. Food also is ok. They have wirelees.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Martina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 10
Fortuna City
Fortuna City
#577 of 648 in Prague
391 reviews
Praha 6
Fortuna West
Fortuna West
#580 of 648 in Prague
363 reviews
Praha 3
Ostas
Ostas
#339 of 648 in Prague
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#193 of 648 in Prague
1,607 reviews
Hotel Mars
#509 of 648 in Prague
135 reviews
Iris Hotel Eden
#138 of 648 in Prague
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Prag Rhea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Prag Rhea

Address: V Uzlabine 3068/19 | Praha 10 Malesice, Prague 108 51, Czech Republic (Formerly Fortuna Rhea)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 10
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #558 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $60 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A&O Prag Rhea 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our A&O Prague Rhea will get renovated from January 2017. At January 2018 the house shines brand new in the modern "A&O: next generation" design concept. - always best price on aohostels.com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your A&O Prag Rhea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna Rhea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing