We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bohemian skyhigh”
Review of A&O Prag Rhea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A&O Prag Rhea
Ranked #563 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bohemian skyhigh”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked the hotel a day before arrival via mobile phone's web, did not read much of the place itself, only cost (including free parking) and location mattered. It was a bit surprising when we got there, the hotel was over 20 floors high! It looks quite shabby from the outside so immediately we though we had arrived to the ghetto. The reception had an updated decoration but the amount of hotel guests roaming there, mostly kids running around, just confirmed our thoughts.
Anyway, we were not disappointed in our choice, but curious to see what our stay would bring along. The biggest surprise came when the receptionist wrote our floor number to the key card; it said 20. We were going to have a penthouse!
On our way up we noticed that the elevators could cause some headache along the way. There are 3 of them and on a busy moment you are going to have to wait a while to get into it. After a couple of minutes we happily stepped on to the elevator, but, as there had been other people waiting for their lifts in other floors too, we stopped in almost every other floor. A bit frustrating to stand in the small space with strangers going up in a lift which stops every 10 seconds. Also on our way up we noticed that the hallways on the lower floors looked quite horrible, so were a bit afraid to see our room. But when we reached the top floor, the atmosphere changed a lot. There were no dirty carpets on the floor or any smells of smoking. A nice glass wall welcomed us to walk along the clean hallway to our room in the end. VIP floor, we thought.
Entering the room, we first saw an ugly grey carpet covering not just the floor, but also one wall. No idea why. The bathroom was clean and tiled not too long ago, nothing to complain about that (except a big sill on the floor when stepping out of the bathroom, almost fell two times because of it). There were two rooms, one with a balcony, beds, tv and the air conditioner. The other had a fridge, a sofa and.. that's about it. We didn't find the extra room useful. The balcony was closed, probably for safety reasons (the railing wasn't high enough to feel safe, immediately thought of the number of people the wind had blown down from there). I opened the lamella curtains and a piece of it fell on the floor. So they were broken. The tables looked really worn out, and I did not dare to look too closely the lamp shades as they seemed to be growing mold.. Otherwise, the sheets were clean and bed after all felt quite comfortable. And the view of course was maqnificient. You could see as far as the eye could reach! The sunrise a saw up there was quite something.
There were no remote control to the air conditioner (nor tv), we found out that you could get one after giving a deposit to the reception. Reluctantly we gave them the 20 euros, but it was worth it, it would have been to hot to sleep otherwise. Also a deposit for the hairdryer was needed. Other conveniences we did not even think about using, so can't tell how much money the reception is actually going to hold for you.
The breakfast was ok, quite versatile. Just remember that it takes time to get down as everyone else is also going to use the elevators to go to eat. Also remember to bring your key card to restaurant, otherwise the bouncer won't let you in.
All in all, it was a great once in a lifetime experience but probably wouldn't go there again, as there is no point staying in this hotel unless you get a really good deal and a room high enough to enjoy the views.
P.S. the stuff was very friendly to us, no bad comments about that.

Room Tip: Go high and definitely non-smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j0anna_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    63
    69
    46
    66
See reviews for
34
58
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

A couple of girls (me and my friend) bought a cheap trip to Prague at a "near city center located 3-star hotel". No stars in sight at that hotel, I can assure you. Even before we entered the hotel we started doubting if this was a hotel, or at least the right one. So far from the pictures on internet as you can come. A red painted, 20 floor soviet office building from the 70s, at least, 15 minutes with taxi from everything. Room looked like a grey parody without aircondition, but with an empty refrigerator in the middle of the floor. Never a smile or an informative answer in the reception. Extremely unprofessional. Just don't go there unless you're short in cash or want to live outside the centrum.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prague
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Reasonable price is only good for this hotel. Without air-con rooms with small, ugly toilets and unclean bathroom. It's good option when you are going only for sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Pawel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here for the Speedway GP. To be honest i didnt do my homework with regards to location but we got away with it as Prague is pretty cheap for transport. The hotel is a complete dive outside, full of graffitti and old scrapped cars in the car park. Once you go inside its clean but its like going back to the 1970's, very Life on Mars! Got to say though its the best nights sleep i'd had in ages! The bed was really comfy. One thing i noticed about Prague in general is everyone smokes everywhere. As a brit i noticed it more. The hotel stank of cigarette smoke. There is a smashing little bar inside the hotel, cant believe how cheap it was. The breakfast was crazy, not what were used to in Britain. Im usually quite good at settling for whats there but i really couldnt piece anything together for breakfast, not even a cuppa so we ended up breakfasting out. Bit of a pain since it was included in the price but then it was cheap to start off with. I would recommend staying here if you just want somewhere very cheap to go to sleep. Its definately not luxury

Room Tip: Check where you are staying compared to where you want to be in the day/night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manchesterbuggerlugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

me and my partner stayed here in 2009 and enjoyed every minute of it.the location is good just a tram ride away into the center of prauge or a nice walk we did both,very quite at night witch is always a bonus but if you like the night life there are plenty of clubs near.we didnt spend much time in the hotel but the time that we did we enjoyed it we found the staff really helpful and friendly.some people pay peanuts and expect far too much we choose this hotel because all we do is sleep and wash in there we dont go away to sit in the hotel for the whole week! if you dont have a high budget then this hotel is perfecto,,hope you found thid a little helpful dont listen to all the bad reveiws because it really is not bad at all.......!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JODIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Ex Office space turned to hotel room. Room furniture is made in 1970, totally ruined. The balcony door is locked with nails and the first thing that you see is not the view but the dove’s ….. So please check it first the status of your room. I believe there are good rooms but check it before reservation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lyudmil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Hotel very shabby on outside. Awoke literally when sun came up as transparent nets and curtains. From view of room was a building site. Hotel lobby and restaurant were clean. Breakfast very bland/basic.

You get what you pay for here.

Beer/food cheaper in the surrounding area than what it is in Prague. Good transport system in/out of Prague. 20 minutes via tram-metro or bus-metro.

Friend booked hotel for 9 guys so ok for that but not ideal for families.

Would not use again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glimmer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 10
Fortuna City
Fortuna City
#577 of 649 in Prague
384 reviews
Hotel Mars
#518 of 649 in Prague
128 reviews
Praha 6
Fortuna West
Fortuna West
#579 of 649 in Prague
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Hotel Ilf
Hotel Ilf
#347 of 649 in Prague
272 reviews
A&O Prag Metro Strizkov
#261 of 660 in Prague
225 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#8 of 660 in Prague
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Prag Rhea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Prag Rhea

Property: A&O Prag Rhea
Address: V Uzlabine 3068/19 | Praha 10 Malesice, Prague 108 51, Czech Republic (Formerly Fortuna Rhea)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 10
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #563 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A&O Prag Rhea 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our A&O Prague Rhea will get renovated from January 2017. At January 2018 the house shines brand new in the modern "A&O: next generation" design concept. - always best price on aohostels.com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your A&O Prag Rhea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna Rhea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing