We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacantion in Pague, great hotel and friendly people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aureus Clavis Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aureus Clavis Hotel
Ranked #538 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vacantion in Pague, great hotel and friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

I would recomend this hotel to everybody. Great location in the top centre, Exelent breakfast, Very, very friendly stuff.Ask them for everything you need. If you need to feel old spirit of the town durring your stay and accomodation, this is your hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jema05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
11
35
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

just got back from a two day stay at the aureus clavis in prague,firstly the location is good like other people have put on there reviews but unfortunately the hotel wasnt good,and this is mainly why
1.no view look at picture added.
2.no hairdryer/coffe/tea making.
3 tracing paper thin pillows
4 no receptionist hardly ever
5 tv but no signal
asked why there was no signal on tv manager said they all had no signal, the other manager knew nothing of this(think i was getting fobbed off).
asked why we were in a basement room when it says economy rooms on third floor up manager said they dont use upper floors in winter months(prague is cold 9 out of 12 months)
like other people have put if it is just somewhere to get your head down its a 5/10
if its something more book elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grads132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

This hotel cannot be the same place advertised on their website. It really is not a hotel at all, more so a guesthouse. It does not have the amenities that a normal hotel room has (phone/working tv/coffeemaker) and there is almost no staff. Usually I do not give bad ratings because I always do a lot of research ahead of time but there was no way of predicting how unprofessional and how understaffed this hotel is. There was a man outside, a sort of bouncer, a "manager" who kept referring to another person as the manager probably to make it seem more professional, and 1 housekeeper...1! I felt terribly bad for her because of the workload she had to do. The "manager" also seemed like he was running the restaurant and rushed us through the check-in process. There is no lobby and the pictures on the website are entirely inaccurate. I do not know where those pictures were taken but they definitely do not look like Aureus Clavis. Along with the unprofessional attitude of the manager the room was gross. While the bathroom was fine and clean, there was no toilet paper when we arrived. The bed sheets had small black hairs all over them and there was black hair all over the wooden floor. It was as if someone had swept aside all of the hair to where they didn't think you could see it. The view of Petrin Hill was nice but that was it. The sheets were not clean, even if they may have been washed there were still too many hairs. It was just very very unpleasant. While we had to stay the first night we left the next day (we were charged) and found an entirely better place...Hotel Ariston Patio. While the location is in the New Town 3 stops from Wenceslas Square by tram and Aureus Clavis is by the castle, Ariston Patio is a legit hotel with actual hotel amenities and a staff that is helpful. While all hotels have kinks here and there most of the time it is easy to put up with them. At Aureus Clavis it is too much. Regardless of how the room appears the sheets should NEVER have hairs on them. I do not think that is too much to ask. We asked for new sheets and while they were a little better it was still not acceptable. We used a plain blanket sheet to sleep on and it was terrible. The hairs swept to the side of the room were also too much to tolerate. The poor housekeeper was probably during her best but she just seemed to have too much to do. DO NOT stay here despite the hotel's website. You will be saving yourself the hassle even if you have to pay a little bit more for a different place (Ariston was much cheaper anyways). There are better places in Prague so do not make this mistake.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamsterdam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

We went to Prague for our honeymoon - one of the most romantic places in Europe - and were not disappointed, EXCEPT for the hotel. This hotel was toted as being 'romantic', 'quaint', 'authentic' and all within an attractive budget - err, not quite. The service was awful with the concierge being absent most of the time, tiny white lies about pricing and availability and an overall indifference to whether you enjoy your stay.
They put us in a basement room with very little light - it was dirty, mouldy, no towel rack, no toilet paper holder, the shower was TINY and didn't drain properly, bathroom door couldn't close and there wasn't any fan/window either, you could hear other guests walking/talking overhead well into the night, the tv was broken, no garbage container, telephone or alarm clock in the room, small/thin pillows, no pictures on the walls or anything to make the room special. All this being said, it is in a convenient location (between the Castle and Charles Bridge) and it was an affordable price. I just wanted to convey this hotel for what it really was... a good place to go for a Stag-do where all you do in your hotel is pass out at the end of the night without spending any significant time in the room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTony78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

Lovely hotel in an old renovated building,cosy,clean and confortable.Good breakfast buffet.The best location for pedestrian touring all over Prague.
The staff very friendly and helpful.
Highly recomanded.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise294458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

Very good location near Prague castle and the Mala Strana quarter. Situated in a renovated old house of the old town. Overall the Hotel does not meet average European Standard. Especially the cleaning of the room during our 4 day stay was bad. A bathtub stopper laid on the bathroom floor exactly at the same place every day, which suggests that the bathroom floor was never cleaned properly. There were no hangers to hang up the wet towels, no hairdryer was available. The old TV set was just a decor and did not work, not even a Czech channel could be seen. The WLan did not work in our room. The connection to the Internet was possible only very infrequently in the Restaurant Area. The nearest Parking possibility for our car was one Mile away in another hotel at the cost of Euro 12.00 per day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ups85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

My Niece and I made a trip to Prague and found this hotel online. It is a great location on a very historical street that leads to the Castle. We asked to change rooms as we were put on the 5th floor and the stairs were many. They switched us out no problem! If you are looking for an inexpensive, clean hotel with no frills, this is the place. I paid 200.00 US for 5 sights. The staff was terrific, the breakfast was nice and our room was large by European standards.
If your lookiing for luxury done't stay here..looking for clean and cheap this is your place!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdfan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#48 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Prague Hotel
Old Prague Hotel
#259 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Residence Green Lobster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Red Lion
Hotel Red Lion
#156 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Residence Bijou de Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aureus Clavis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aureus Clavis Hotel

Property: Aureus Clavis Hotel
Address: Nerudova 243/27, Prague, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #538 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aureus Clavis is a small, stylish hotel on Nerudova street in Prague's Lesser Town, right below the Prague Castle. The hotel is housed in a historic building dating back to the 14th century. Free Wi-Fi is available, and there is a restaurant serving Czech and International cuisine.The rooms come with satellite TV and a private bathroom. Most rooms offer views of the historic city centre, the Castle or Petřín Hill.Charles Bridge, the Old Town Square and the Jewish quarter are easily reachable on foot from the Aureus Clavis hotel. Guarded parking spaces are available a 10-minute walk away. Airport shuttle services are offered against a surcharge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Aureus Clavis
Aureus Clavis Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing