We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice but noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ostruvek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ostruvek
Ranked #345 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Kiryat Tivon, Israel
2 reviews
“nice but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel was nice and clean, service was good, relatively to Czech standards...
We asked for full bed and got two separate beds, but the next morning got a new room.
One major problem is the noise coming from the railway, a noisy train every few minutes 24/7, almost impossible to leave the window open.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Yaniv Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    204
    73
    27
    15
See reviews for
58
238
22
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

A very good service for a good price, 3 stars hotel with spacious and very clean rooms, reception open 24/7. The breakfast and the food at the restaurant were very good and cheap. The hotel is at 10min by tram from the center, a bit tricky to find with the indications on the website, but the trams go often until late in the evening. The place is pretty quiet although we hear everything happening in the hallway through the door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Murielle948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I found Ostruvek Hotel as one with so many reviews on the internet and everything seemed to be great. So I decided to give it a try. We were very happy with our choice. Coming from Bratislava is very easy to get to the hotel if you have a map. The hotel is situated in a nice and quiet area of Prague 15-20 minutes walking distance to the centre and 10 minutes walking to the closest metro station. The important thing is that you have tram and bus station right in front of the hotel so there is no problem to get anywhere you want in Prague. All the transportation system is great in Prague. There are great restaurants and bars close to the hotel where you can have dinner at a very reasonable price. The waiters in this area not so touristic don't speak very good english!! We tried two of the restaurants during our stay and we were very satisfied.
We drove to Prague so the main thing for the hotel was that it has private paid parking, 4 euro / night but it is guarded so it's a great bonus for the hotel.
We had two double rooms which looked the same. The rooms are very clean and spacious and with good furniture, they seem renovated not such a long time ago. The furniture is in good shape, modern decor, exactly like in the pictures from hotel's site. The bathroom is very clean also and with a modern design. The hotel cleaning personnel does its job extremely well and this was a very important thing for us. Many of the reviews said about the noise that comes from the railway that is close to the hotel. We had a room that actually was on that part of the hotel but with the window close there's no noise to bother that much.
We had a double room with breakfast which by the way it's amazing. They have plenty of choices in breakfast and also a great terrace if you want to serve it outside during summer.
The reception staff is there 24 hours a day,some of them are really nice but some not so nice. An interesting thing and maybe annoying for some people is that you have to leave the key at the reception every time you leave the hotel. For us it wasn't a problem.
A very important thing is also they have wi fi internet in all the rooms and it works great! This also was a great plus for the hotel.
All in all I guess we had the best hotel in Prague with a reasonable price paid. We were really satisfied and we recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I've stayed there for 4 nights in March 2012. I choose this hotel because of the low rates (EUR 21/night) they offered and the fairly positive reviews here on TA. I found it to be a good hotel and they offered great value for the money. The whole property is well kept. The hotel has a beautiful exterior and the corridors are large and clean. The room was fairly large for one person and it has a newly renovated bathroom. Everything was clean. The breakfast buffet was good too. The Czech in general treat foreigners in a very skeptical and cool manner. The front desk was no exception. They help you with everything you need like selling tickets for the public transport and guarding your room key for you. But just don't expect big smiles or a warm welcome. Other than that the only real drawback of the hotel is its location. Yes, you can reach the city center within 15-20 min but I found it to be bothersome. Other than that it was a good hotel and I would book again without hesitation if they offer a low rate.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reiziger1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Price was good. Staff were nice and helpful. (Some more than others but that is normal). Breakfast was typical European with lots of choices. If you are a light sleeper as for a room that does not face the train tracks. Room was small but since our family of 4 wasn't in the room much it didn't really bother us. The triple we had on the 2nd floor had a slanted roof. We hit our heads a couple times but like I said, we weren't in the room much. Great resturant/steak house across the street with outdoor dining and live music. You can buy adult tram tickets from the front desk for 110kc. Turn left when you leave the hotel (out on the main road) to the next main intersection. Yellow ticket machine to buy youth ticket will be on your left between sidewalk and parking lot. Catch tram 24 to go to Wecleas Square. Hotel clerk can give you a map.

Room Tip: Tricky to find. Turn at the ally next to the gas station (Across street from Koliba). Push button o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennyfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

The staffs at the reception were not so friendly and helpful. We asked them for suggestions for lunch in the neighbourhood and were told to just walk around and find one. The bathroom was clean and spacious with big shower box. The bed was clean and comfortable. Didn’t have any problem falling asleep after a long day walk in the city. However, the carpet was a bit tatty. The room is equipped with a small security box which I found quite useful to put important personal belonging.

Great location with the nearest tram station (Otakarava) just 5 minutes walk away. Several direct tram to Wenceslas Square. Please check the timetable of the trams on the board placing at the lounge (didn’t notice it until the last day!). Breakfast was fabulous, we were spoilt by the vast choices. All in all, not too bad.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#212 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#484 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Praha 3
Apollon
Apollon
#274 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Hotel Abito
Hotel Abito
#412 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Praha 2
Anyday Apartments
Anyday Apartments
#68 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Praha 3
City Lounge Hotel
City Lounge Hotel
#333 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ostruvek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ostruvek

Property: Hotel Ostruvek
Address: Na ostruvku 345/2, Prague 140 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ostruvek 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ostruvek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostruvek Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing