We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A people friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
Ranked #55 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A people friendly hotel”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Icon is situated in a great central New Town location with the tram 1/2 block away and the Mustek Metro Station a few blocks further.The rooms are contemporary and sophisticated, and the Hastens bed and linen to die for. So comfortable! Perhaps the best part of the hotel is the staff. From the front desk, sales, restaurant and maids, everyone was personal, professional and friendly. This is not just a gay friendly hotel, it is a PEOPLE friendly hotel. They displayed a sense of joie de vivre, making my stay the best of the trip. I even was handed a breakfast to-go since I headed to the airport at 4AM. I stayed here twice and would not hesitate to book this hotel again when I'm lucky enough to visit Prague again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    353
    49
    7
    1
See reviews for
106
749
80
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

On the welcome card they said that they wished us an "iconic" stay - and indeed we had our best holiday ever.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better: everything worth seeing is in a walking distance reachable in 15-20 minutes, but it is not strictly in the center (Mustek station is 5 minutes of walking) so there is no need to struggle through the endless waves of tourists just to get home.

The staff is professional, and very welcoming, they were always eager to help us with any of our questions and always with a smile. After our arrival one of the receptionist ladies kindly escorted us to our room and showed everything important. We were also given a map and some instructions on what's worth seeing and how to get there. On the last day we could also leave are luggage in a locked room after checking out for having a beer, and going for a last walk before flying home.

We were accommodated in room #404. We can only speak about it in superlatives. It was really clean (and they cleaned it, and replaced everything every day), the furniture was excellent, the bathroom luxurious, and the bed... It was a hand-made Hastens bed, with some really comfortable bedding, it is enough to say that we never had a better sleep, got up refreshed and entirely relaxed in the morning. The internet both wired and wireless was fast and easily accessible from every point of the hotel.

The breakfast was included in the price, and it was served all day (!) in the hotel's tapas bar called "The Room". We normally had our breakfasts at 11, and we could choose from a selection of hot (omelettes, pancakes, sausages) and some cold (cereals, baguettes, ham, cheese) stuff. Everything was fresh and delicious. It is worth mentioning that we had one dinner in the tapas bar and it was also a wonderful experience with authentic tapas' and drinks.

So to summarize: we are really looking forward visiting Prague again, and we will definitely stay at the Icon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkVerebelyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

One of the best hotels I've ever been to. The rooms are clean, modern, beautiful! The beds are the most comfortable that I've ever come across in a hotel, the bed linen sooooo soft. The people in the hotel are very helpful. The guy who checked us in was tremendously friendly. And the hotel restaurant (tapas bar Room) serves excellent food, highly recommend it! The only downsides of the hotel are the breakfast (no variation at all, same thing every morning and not a lot of variety to choose from in the first place) but the hot things you can order are nice, though. Especially the pancakes. And the second downside is the soundproofing of the room, we stayed in 2nd floor facing the street and for the first night there were some people talking loud and laughing at 2 am which woke me up and could not get back to sleep until they finished about half an hour later. Also when cars drive pass on the cobble it makes a really loud sound that can be clearly heard to the room. First I thought it was the thunder or something. This did not bother my sleep, though. :) Also, we could hear noise from the room next door, the lady staying there was wearing high heels and we could hear her footsteps on the wooden floor clearly in our room. But despite these, I give this hotel 5 stars - what a wonderful experience. Will stay here again when visiting Prague! (P.S. Thumbs up to the air con! We heard that it is not so common in Prague hotels...)

Room Tip: Get a room that is not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel. The room was amazing and I couldn't fault it. The staff were really helpful and I particularly liked the fact that the tapas chef came out and had a chat to us after our meal to see if the food was ok. The temp outside was getting up to 39 degrees but the room was lovely and cool with an efficient air con. The hotel is in a really handy spot with Wenceslas square just around the corner (excellent sausages after a beer or three!!!). Would definitely come back to this hotel and recommend to anyone visiting Prague.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank darkestred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The ICON Hotel is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the sights of Prague. We walked everywhere from the location of the hotel. We stayed 4 nights.The entire staff was wonderful, helpful, and courteous. Beds were comfortable, room was clear, so everything was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The location was convenient and the hotel generally well kept. The service however was atrocious. Front desk staff never seemed remotely interested (except the lady who checked us in, who was very friendly). Airconditioning and DVD player didn't work and their response was 'the technician won't be in until tomorrow' we ended up fixing the DVD player ourselves and the air conditioning was never even looked at, despite repeat requests. On two occasions the room cleaners failed to replace soap and water. When we rang (twice) to get this fixed we were told they'd be brought to the room but they never came. On checking out I requested the room bill be brought up so my friend and I could figure out how much we each owed. We were told blatantly 'come down and get it'.

Breakfast was conveniently all day and night but the selection was poor with only a small single hot meal able to be requested from the kitchen and a lackluster spread of ham, croissants and fruit (and the worst coffee known to man).

A decent hotel let down by bad service and a severe lack of attention to detail. Would not stay again as only ever felt like a nuisance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhys925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICONSales, Manager at The ICON Hotel & Lounge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Rhys,

Thank you for your feedback!

Your experience with our service is disconcerting and surprising for all of us. Our front desk team receives constantly the best possible ratings from our highly satisfied guests since the opening until nowadays. Great number of our guest stays in contact with us to keep the friendly thread when they are back home.

Therefore I personally focused on your case and comments closely and couldn’t find fair explanation of your dissatisfaction.

I would like to refine, and I am sure you will agree with me, that our all day a la carte breakfast (07 a.m. - 11 p.m.) includes, apart from buffet, choice of variety of hot meals such as scrambled eggs, fried eggs, soft boiled eggs, omelette of your choice, homemade pancakes... We cook all items fresh on order with no limit of portions or combinations!

Espresso and special coffees are available in our restaurant menu and can be ordered extra on top of the usual breakfast coffee.

Nevertheless, I am very happy that you have enjoyed your spacious and well-appointed room and convenient location as well as free DVD rental, extra bottles of free welcoming water and 8% discount on payment of all your extras.

But, ...I would be even happier if I could have helped personally with all your misleading feelings already during your stay.

Renata Zizkovska
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed three nights and couldn't have been happier. Far enough away from the craziness of old town and central to walk all over town. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The friendly front desk would always drop whatever they were doing to give detailed directions and recommendations. If you're in Prague for the beer, Jama is across the street and has a good selection on draft. Breakfast is a nice bonus and Britta will brighten your day with her German/Spanish accent and smile. Great overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juddsonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#31 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Golden Crown Hotel
Golden Crown Hotel
#57 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jungmann
Jungmann
#17 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#75 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The ICON Hotel & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The ICON Hotel & Lounge

Property: The ICON Hotel & Lounge
Address: V jame 1263/6 | Nove Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#56 Business Hotel in Prague
#63 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#105 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The ICON Hotel & Lounge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ICON Hotel & Lounge redefines hospitality in Prague. Our small design and hip hotel is probably the most personal hotel in Prague and definitely the only one with a sense of fun. We have all-natural handmade Hästens beds in all rooms, free internet, biometric safes, MP3 connections, coffee making facilities, luxury linen and lots of smiles. Unique is the all-day breakfast which is served a la carte from 0700am till 1100pm in our hotel restaurant ROOM. The ICON - service with a sense of fun... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The ICON Hotel & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Icon Hotel And Lounge
Icon Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing