We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place for a break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
Ranked #55 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

Just returned from a 3 night weekend stay in Prague at the Icon hotel.
Having read the other reviews we were confident that everything would be perfect and it was very close. Beds to die for, 10-15 mins walk from the old town centre and modern rooms with lots of nice features.
We would definately recommend the Icon, though there we are few things worth noting.
1) Don't rely on the iPod connection, take your speakers, it didn't work in our room and after asking three time to get it fixed I gave up.
2) The food wasn't great, breakfast was ok, but a chicken s/w from room service arrived undercooked
3) The bar isn't always available as they had 2 private events which closed it for the early part of the evening

Re Prague itself, make sure you dress for walking, its such a small centre everything is on foot and with winter setting in, dress warm and try to do a walking tours, they are ideal for learning about the place.Another must do is to find live music, there is so much make sure you take advantage, the guide books will point you in the right direction
Hope you have a great time :-)

  • Liked — Funky decor, really trying to be create somewhere modern and special
  • Disliked — Room was cold when arrived and receptionist put aircon on instead of heating
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LikeToTravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    347
    49
    7
    1
See reviews for
102
737
80
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

My partner and I LOVED this hotel, which completely surpassed our hopes and expectations (and we are picky travelers). We were in Prague for 5 days and couldn't wait to get back to the hotel after touring the city all day. Not a single complaint to lodge, and so many wonderful details to point out. First -- we think the design of the hotel is wonderful -- a contemporary, hip feel, but done with great taste and quality and attention to detail. (Some hotels use a modern minimalist design aesthetic as a way to disguise flaws or cut corners, but not the Icon). We loved all the decor details from the sheer purple drapes in the windows or the purple glass barrier in the bath, to the lighting "reveals" inset into the ceiling or the interesting wall papers in the bar. We were in room 209, which is a spacious Junior Suite in the back of the building with big windows for lots of light, high ceilings, a big sitting room with Flatscreen TV and DVD/CD player and speakers mounted on the wall. Lots of closet space and hangers, and a safe in the room. There was a good-sized bedroom with another Flatscreen TV and DVD player. The elegant modern bathroom was big, with a deep soaking tub and cool fixtures. The true glory of the hotel is the big luxury BED! It was incredible, fantastic. The hype on the Web site about the Haestens is all true -- it is the best hotel bed we've ever slept in. The linens were of fine quality, as well. We really liked the staff who were young and casual, but extremely helpful and charming, and they all spoke very good English. The breakfast in the cool "Jet Set" bar was fantastic, with a buffet of more than the basics beautifully laid out and then other delicious egg dishes made to order (all included in the price and served all day long). We asked for a side of bacon and got a pile of it! All the various travel sites had said the hotel was booked on our dates, but we had no problem booking the rooms right on the hotel's own web site and got a good price of $275 per night. We had good communications from the hotel via email before the trip. I'd asked for a chilled bottle of champagne to welcome us (it was my partner's 50th birthday), and it was a lovely bottle and was accompanied by a card hand signed by the staff of the hotel. A very nice personal touch. We were tempted by the adjacent Zen spa services, but didn't end up using them. The Icon is in an excellent location on a quiet side street within a few blocks of the edge of the prime tourist areas. We recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a high-quality contemporary aesthetic and wants a great nights sleep away from home!

  • Liked — The design of the hotel and the beds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2007

What a wonderful place.Right from the start-a friendly welcome,
introduction to the manager and reception staff,cases taken up
to our room,and showed us how everything worked,including
the fingerprint activated safe.It was all done with a smile;and
right throughout our stay it was this personal attention that
impressed us so much -they really cared!
The room,the wonderful bed,the lounge,the breakfast area
were all lovely,stylish and impeccably clean.
The breakfast was plentiful,either continental or english,
and all fresh and excellent produce.
All of this is enough to make this a great hotel,but the friendly
and tremendous care and attention from all the staff,really
puts it on another level.
The city is tremendous. We walked everywhere;but lots of
cobblestoned streets so sturdy footwear is advisable.
The hotel is ideally situated in the town and is so easy to
reach from the airport-No.100 bus and metro to Mustek station.
Allow an hour especailly for the return to the airport.
We had a great time and would love to revisit Prague ,
and it would have to be a stay at the Icon again!!

  • Liked — Abslutely everything
  • Disliked — Never been so sorry to leave a hotel as this one!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank troy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hulsberg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2007

Great hospitality, service with a smile in a modern atmosphere. Unique and central location everything in walking distance. Rooms were very comfortable with ipod connection and everything. Enjoyed the lunch and the ZEN massage is to be recommended.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank dutch23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

We have just returned from our first trip to Prague which was made so very enjoyable by the standard of Icon Hotel.
Excellent, amazing,stunning, perfect, can be used to describe this place, location - excellent, standard of bedrooms superb,breakfast, presentation and quality first class, reception staff extremely friendly and helpful. We paid 320 euros for 2 nights b&b, well worth it, no hesitation to recommending this wonderful jewel, you will not want to leave the lovely surroundings.

  • Liked — standard and cleanliness of hotel, efficient reception staff
  • Disliked — we didn't stay long enough
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank m0yramcsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2007

I was looking for some hotel for my business trip in the old town of Prague but bit more boutique place... The Icon was just perfect, few steps from main attractions in Prague, with great bar and restaurant, Zen wellness center and so helpful and friendly staff... not mentioning extremely comfortable Hastens beds... absolutely recommendable!!!

  • Liked — So stylish and friendly!!! And the location!!!
  • Disliked — everything was perfect...
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Swiatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

We have just returned from a romantic short break in Prague at The Icon Hotel. A true boutique hotel, very chic and modern - iPod docking station, flat screen tv on the wall, dvd player - even the shower gel smelled better than the one I usually use! Also the bed!!!! or should I say beds as it was nearly as big as 2 double beds put together! Apparently the King of Sweden sleeps on the same bed! They were so comfortable that if we hadn't wanted to do some exploring we would have stayed in it for our whole stay! The bar was very stylish with banquets around the side with bright silk scatter cushions to lounge on and the cocktails were superb. The staff were very friendly, particularly Stanislav, one of the managers.

The location was also a particular plus, only a block away from Wenceslas Square and walking distance of the castle and old town square where you can see the Astronomical Clock.

We didn't eat in the hotel, except for breakfast, as we wanted to try some of the local restaurants although I was a little bit nervous of the traditional Czech food. One restaurant in particular that I would recommend for a romantic first class dinner was Suteren - the only draw back was, although it is on the river, it is actually downstairs so you do not get the views, but the food was superb as was the service and half the price of the UK.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank BugsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#35 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Golden Crown Hotel
Golden Crown Hotel
#58 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jungmann
Jungmann
#15 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#78 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The ICON Hotel & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The ICON Hotel & Lounge

Property: The ICON Hotel & Lounge
Address: V jame 1263/6 | Nove Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#56 Business Hotel in Prague
#63 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#105 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The ICON Hotel & Lounge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ICON Hotel & Lounge redefines hospitality in Prague. Our small design and hip hotel is probably the most personal hotel in Prague and definitely the only one with a sense of fun. We have all-natural handmade Hästens beds in all rooms, free internet, biometric safes, MP3 connections, coffee making facilities, luxury linen and lots of smiles. Unique is the all-day breakfast which is served a la carte from 0700am till 1100pm in our hotel restaurant ROOM. The ICON - service with a sense of fun... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The ICON Hotel & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Icon Hotel And Lounge
Icon Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing