We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MUST!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Botel Matylda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Botel Matylda
Ranked #56 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A MUST!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Boat Hotel Matylda was a great choice for our 1 night stay in Prague. We were driving from Germany & needed GPS directions so I emailed the information desk & received a response within the hour of where to drive & how to navigate to their hotel parking. I chose the Boat Hotel because I wanted something different and it was a great experience!! We arrived and parked in front and were able to get into our room very quickly. I wish I could remember the young man at the desk when we arrived because he was such a delight & helped with many of our questions. (In addition, he told us where to go to get the best exchange rate!) The other 2 front desk clerks were nice but not as well received when asked questions. The botel is small but we paid for a bigger room (executive double) and had plenty of space. The closet is big and the dresser on the side held our suitcases. (I could have stayed for a week and had enough room!) The bathroom was on the smaller side of things but the shower had enough space to get you clean! The bed was nice and it was wonderful to be able to look out your window and see the ducks swim in the river. (Make sure to ask for river side!!!) We were on the bottom floor so we heard footsteps above us in the morning but that wasn’t as loud as the ducks hitting the boat! It is a great location. We walked to old town and the bridge twice that day and never felt like the hotel was too far away. We didn’t use the restaurant and didn’t wake up in time for the free breakfast that was offered. I would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade for a bigger room and ask for RIVER SIDE!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keisen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    168
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
43
365
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
269 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Right on the river, at the edge of the old city. You couldn't ask for a better location. Most of the best sites are in walking distance. If you have a car, there's free parking on the wharf. The accommodations were very nice. It truly is an old barge, which has charmingly been converted into a hotel and restaurant. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, and the attached restaurant (Klotylda) was some of the best food we had in Prague.

My only advice would be to ask for an upper floor room. We stayed in the large suite on the lower level, and could easily here the people walking around in the room above us. Fortunately, we had enough to drink each night that it never kept us awake.

The time of our trip is listed as Feb 2013. This is incorrect. We were actually there in Mar 2012. Unfortunately, that wasn't an option.

Room Tip: Request an upper deck room, facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Was my husband's idea to try the boat hotel and have no regret for choosing this. First of all, for the ones travelling by car you are offered free parking (not so often in Prague). We were wellcomed by a friendly reception lady that gave us all details we needed. Rooms are a bit small (well... you are on a boat) but very romantic and clean, felt nice & cozy there. Minibar had a good beverages range and breakfast was decent. Althought we didn't had a direct river view room was still a pleasant experience. I did not really liked the pillows, that were extremely thin. Also, if you are noise sensitive is not the best choice for you, because you hear a bit the noise outside the room or your neightboor if he is snooring. All together great experience! P.S. 5 min walk to Karl's Bridge.

Room Tip: Maybe by direct reservation to hotel you can get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_Virlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed on the Klotylda boat for three nights over Christmas and we had a delightful time. Our room was below the Klotylda deck with amazing river views - you could easily reach out and feed the swans, sort of speak. We had booked the executive room, which was large enough with wooden furniture and a very powerful shower, albeit a bit dark. Breakfast was served on the Matylda boat, where the restaurant is. Not that much of a choice, but everything that was served was tasty and plentiful. Everything was of excellent quality. We appreciated the fact that the boats are located a 15minutes walk from the hustle and bustle, meaning that you can enjoy all that the city centre has to offer without bumping on the tourist parade all the time. Will be back.
Ps - the famous dancing house is located on the street above the boats. Nice to see every day!

Room Tip: Yes, river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnsiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

It is very nice place to stay. Not so much loud and very friendly people. Kitchen is also very well. For more quiet sleaping is better stay on the boat where is not a restaurant. City center is by walk distance.

Room Tip: Better on the boat, where is not a restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed in the Superior Double Room, no need to mention, river view.
It is located in the main boat, the boat with reception, Superior is different from Standard and even more expensive Executive Double is it has a big window, which is the main reason I chose.
And it was absolutely worth of money. My visit was in early Dec, in morning, it was a layer of smoke over the river surface. Amazing! When the sun rose higher, the smoke disappeared slowly, and you were greeted by lines of ducks and swan! So lovely!
Breakfast has plenty of choices. Every morning, I enjoyed their breakfast until almost 10am. I thought they wouldn't refill some of the nearly-empty dishes, I was wrong. Service was quite attentive and the dishes got filled too!
Also, you can trust the photos on their webpage.
Last but not least, the location is great too!! just 2 subway stations away from the old town. You can get more convenient means of transport than their instructions on their webpage.
Photos updated too!

Room Tip: River view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Our outstanding service began when I made the reservation. I had read to book a riverside room so I made the request. Shortly I received a reply that we could for 3nights but would have to move the 4th. I was okay with that but a bit skeptical, I must admit. Too many broken promises from previous experiences in travels. However, upon arrival it was just as promised. We were given room # 8 right next to the registration desk. I was afraid it might be a bit noisy with check- ins and outs but such was not the case.

We were able to secure free parking right in front and were given a sticker to put in our windshield so there would be no question we had permission to park there. This place is such a good location we never moved the car until we were ready to leave.

Even with back problems, I did not find the walking distances to things too far.

The room has everything you need. Plenty of hot water, which I appreciated after long cold hours of sightseeing. A very comfortable bed and if you need more pillows just ask. Being winter the room also had more than adequate heating.

We decided to eat at the restaurant next door and it was excellent. In fact, we ate there three different times. Service is top notch.

Also on the food front, breakfast was excellent. The variety and quality was awesome. It was fun to eat and watch the ducks, swans, and river traffic. A very relaxing way to begin the day.

This was a good value for the quality.

Room Tip: Any on the river side strictly because of the awesome view but on dock side rooms are exactly the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#25 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Praha 5
Botel Admiral
Botel Admiral
#255 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#61 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#32 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Matylda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Matylda

Property: Botel Matylda
Address: Masarykovo nabrezhi 36, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#70 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#117 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Botel Matylda 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Botel Matylda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Matylda Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing