We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great unique experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Botel Matylda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Botel Matylda
Ranked #56 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great unique experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed for three nights in March 2013. What a unique and pleasant experience. Very clean and great shower. Very good breakfast and dinner at adjoining boat. About a 15 minute walk to Charles Bridge but beautiful along the river. Very helpful english speaking staff. We were in room 12 in Klotylda overlooking the river with a french door balcony. Worth the experience to try. Will recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Get an upper deck room on Klotylda overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    168
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
43
365
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent two nights at the Botel and found it was a perfect base for our short break in Prague. The Botel is situated a short walk from the city centre but is well served by trams and the Metro should you wish to use public transport to travel further afield. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly and helpful member of staff who spoke good English. Our room was compact but well presented. A very enjoyable breakfast was served from a charming second barge/restaurant next door. Had we stayed longer, we certainly would have eaten an evening meal here as well. We would confidently recommend the Botel to others and happily stay there again ourselves.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that looks over the river as the other side of the boat doesn’t enjoy the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beenonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel nicely situated on the bank of the River Vlatava only a 10 minute walk from the Charles Bridge. It was superb from booking via Booking.com to organising a transfer back to the airport.
We booked a superior Double Room which overlooked the river and found this to be spotlessly clean. The breakfast in the next door boat offered a good range of food from cereal ,croissants ,cheese hams ,bacon, scrambled eggs etc etc
The tram stops on the road outside the botel you just need to make sure you have a ticket which you can get at nearby metro station. We took the #17 to Trojska and the a 15 minute walk to the zoo.(you can get a bus (112) if need be.
The restaurant was also superb offering a mainly Italian menu. (I can recommend the Pork) We ate there twice there and sampled more Czech fare other 2 days.
All the staff were helpful and English was spoken well, which put the likes of me to shame
Being picky the room lighting is possibly a bit on the dim side
It was really a quiet setting and comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel and next door restaurant are superb. The double cabins facing across the river with sliding door balconies are snug and cosy but have everything you could need.

The boat is about a ten minute walk from the main square which means its pretty quiet at night.

The restaurant is exceptional with great food, service and wine. And incredibly reasonable.

We would recommend this to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adihighpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdlale, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I and my German cousins spent 4 nights at the Botel Matylda on the 'Moldau' river in Prague. It was delightful. The Hotel actually consists of two barges/boats connected with one another by an outdoor restaurant terrace which we frequented often. The cabins, although small, were well appointed with modern bathrooms. It is just a very peaceful setting, a 10 minute foot walk to the old town and very quiet at night. We were there late June and it is quite crowded. So our nights were very calm so that we got a restful sleep after a full day of sightseeing of this true marvel of a city. She is every bit worth a trip.

Room Tip: We booked through hotel.com and did not get rooms facing the river. It would just have been nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigrid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
471 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here on October 2013 with two other couples. This is a boat on the river (stabilized so you don't feel it moving) What a wonderful hotel!! Reasonably priced, good location near tram, very nice rooms. They are a bit small. but none of us found them hard to deal with. Very nice bar upstairs with very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast in the morning. Free parking right across from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trotpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on the botel Matylda. Had a standard double room which was very adequate size. Very comfortable bed, tv, hairdryer. The bathroom was excellent with large shower. My biggest fear was how warm it would be as it was minus seven outside but it was quite the opposite as I was opening windows because it was so warm. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was good. Location is excellent, about 5 minutes walk to Charles bridge. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butmunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#25 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Praha 5
Botel Admiral
Botel Admiral
#255 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#61 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#32 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Matylda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Matylda

Property: Botel Matylda
Address: Masarykovo nabrezhi 36, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#70 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#117 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Botel Matylda 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Botel Matylda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Matylda Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing