We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Delightful Hotel Experience in Prague”
Review of Botel Matylda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Botel Matylda
Ranked #80 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I and my German cousins spent 4 nights at the Botel Matylda on the 'Moldau' river in Prague. It was delightful. The Hotel actually consists of two barges/boats connected with one another by an outdoor restaurant terrace which we frequented often. The cabins, although small, were well appointed with modern bathrooms. It is just a very peaceful setting, a 10 minute foot walk to the old town and very quiet at night. We were there late June and it is quite crowded. So our nights were very calm so that we got a restful sleep after a full day of sightseeing of this true marvel of a city. She is every bit worth a trip.

Room Tip: We booked through hotel.com and did not get rooms facing the river. It would just have been nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sigrid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 588 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here on October 2013 with two other couples. This is a boat on the river (stabilized so you don't feel it moving) What a wonderful hotel!! Reasonably priced, good location near tram, very nice rooms. They are a bit small. but none of us found them hard to deal with. Very nice bar upstairs with very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast in the morning. Free parking right across from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trotpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on the botel Matylda. Had a standard double room which was very adequate size. Very comfortable bed, tv, hairdryer. The bathroom was excellent with large shower. My biggest fear was how warm it would be as it was minus seven outside but it was quite the opposite as I was opening windows because it was so warm. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was good. Location is excellent, about 5 minutes walk to Charles bridge. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butmunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent a long weekend away in Prague for my partner's birthday. After looking at several options for accommodation I came across Botel Matylda and thought that it would be a great idea and something a little different from your 'usual' hotel.
Botel Matylda was great, it had the location of being central, great views of the river and it was nice to feel like you were not in the middle of the hustle and bustle! The room we stayed in overlooked the river but I understand there are a few rooms that look onto land so it is worth when you book to request a river view. The room itself was nice, small but to be expected on a boat and the ensuite was good but obviously only a shower, sink and toilet! Reception is at the front of the boat which is always staffed and any questions we had they were helpful with.
For breakfast you go onto the second boat which is also great. (Although stepping outside gave you a little wake up call first thing). They had a great selection of buffet contintental breakfast and it was replenished regularly. The views are also great from the restaurant. We had dinner there on our last night which was excellent!! Definately worth going to dine if not to stay. We had to book quite in advance though due to the demand!
I could not fault Botel really, a nice stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melhanby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have nothing to complain about with my 3-night stay at Botel Matylda. It was my first time in Prague and I found it quite easy to get from the airport to the Botel using public transportation (you don't really need a taxi or a shuttle, use the bus and metro, the nearest stop is Karlovo Náměstí).

Our room was the double superior, with a view to the river, it was just excellent with a clean bathroom and hot water at all times.

Breakfast was quite generous with eggs, bacon, ham, bread, cereals, juices, coffee, You know, all the essentials and a little bit more, everything you need to start your day in Prague.

Charles Bridge is walking distance (maybe less than 10 minutes) along with some other landmarks.

The Ristorante has jazz nights which are nice but the cuisine is Italian, not Czech traditional cuisine so you might want to try different restaurants and maybe with better prices.

I'd definitely go back to Botel Matylda and will recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Obviously a room with a view to the river is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTadeo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stopped off while walking round Prague-this is right by the 'Fred and Ginger' Dancing Building. A really clean and pleasant venue, the staff were attentive and very friendly, the food and choice of drinks first class and excellent value for money. Worth stopping off if you're not actually staying on board.

Room Tip: Seeing the rooms they look very cosy and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuartkennedy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Love this restaurant. I lived in Prague for a number of months and this was my favorite little dinner spot. Try the minestrone soup, as well as the spaghetti with mussels. Make a reservation and request a window booth! the view of the castle at night is so fabulous. Easy to get to! And very kind staff with a great wine list.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Botel Admiral
Botel Admiral
#243 of 648 in Prague
249 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Botel Albatros
Botel Albatros
#322 of 648 in Prague
650 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#56 of 648 in Prague
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#21 of 648 in Prague
742 reviews
Praha 5
Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Matylda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Matylda

Address: Masarykovo nabrezi 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#70 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#116 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $85 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Botel Matylda 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Botel Matylda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Matylda Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing