We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, clean room, delicious breakfast and good location”
Review of Hotel Sovereign

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sovereign
Ranked #92 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Tromso, Norway
1 review
“Excellent service, clean room, delicious breakfast and good location”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Excellent service, very friendly, helpful and professional staff. Spacious and clean room with mini bar fridge, kettle, safe deposit box and comfortable bed. A delicious breakfast. Only about a 10-15 min walk to the Old Town and Charles bridge, and a shopping street a few minutes walk from the hotel. We stayed there for 4 nights and will choose this hotel if we go back to Prague. Perfect for a city holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utpaatur2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    276
    45
    13
    9
See reviews for
84
407
55
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed in this hotel 2 nights. It is very conveniently located just next to Wenceslas Square. I was there on business so internet connection was important for me and was very good. Bed was comfy but to me very soft. The only thing i didn’t understand why i had to wait for 7 minutes before i get hot water in the shower. Otherwise all was fine and i would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie290309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel stay was excellent and it was one of the best hotel we had stayed throughout our 16 days trip in Europe. Breakfast was included in our room stay and it was more than adequate. Wifi was free and working good. The room was spacious and comfortable and had all the amenities that we needed like mini bar fridge, kettle and safe deposit box. They also offer various kinds of tea bags in the room that was complimentary! It was near to the central station and the wenceslas square but yet it is located on a quiet street which is great for a peaceful night sleep.

We had lunch in the hotel restaurant as well on the day of our check in as our room was not ready yet. The food was delicious and reasonably priced.

The only not so good point was that the aircon was not working as it should be. It was quite hot and stuffy and we had to open the windows but even so, my hubby was still sweating in perspiration when he slept at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeslyn_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Hotel is in a very central location near to lots of bars and resturants and only about a 15 min walk to the Old Town and Charles bridge. The staff were very freindly and professional, the rooms were very clean and there was a lovely breakfast buffet in the mornings. The only negative was the bar area, it wasnt really sure if it was a bar or resturant. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Really good staff. Very friendly and pointed some good restaurants and places to hang out.
Rooms were really good and always cleaned.
The only compliant i have is about breakfast. Was a little bit poor. Not a great variation of food.
It's a little bit expensive but it's worth

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank João C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I chose this hotel due to its central location (just off Wenceslas Square) and top reviews from tripadvisor. Was I disappointed? Yes, a little. While this hotel was spotless and food (breakfast and dinner) very satisfactory, I think the place lacked an ambiance. The décor was bland (very hygienic) and sparse. For a city hotel, the Sovereign offered a fabulous location for a reasonable price, but would some more colour and updated décor be too much to ask?
(**Service was mixed - from excellent service from most staff, but one or two members being less than helpful. . .)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Yasmin
Hotel Yasmin
#101 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Falkensteiner Hotel Maria Prag
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#149 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#75 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#55 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Exe City Park Prague
Exe City Park Prague
#164 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovereign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovereign

Property: Hotel Sovereign
Address: Politickych veznu 16 | Nove Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#75 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#76 Business Hotel in Prague
#81 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#110 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sovereign 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sovereign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing