We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Savic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savic Hotel
Ranked #35 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Staff friendly and very helpful. We got a welcome drink on arrival and information about city sights. Rooms are very spacious and clean. This hotel is within walking distance off a lot of the city sights. Definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,486)
There are newer reviews for Savic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 2,486 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

We really wanted to stay at this hotel having seen it on a previous visit and read the reviews.

First the good bits - nice welcome with a drink and information. bedroom a good size and comfortable bed. Breakfast was good with freshly prepared omelettes, eggs, etc. location is great

The disappointments - Bathroom was a bit tired - splash out from the shower rotting the base of the door frame and the sealant around the shower control was a bit manky. The wifi didn't work in the room - this was a pain as we has important transcontinental business to attend to and had to use the phone network to Facebook. The room was a bit overhot and the window couldn't be left open due to outside noise - not surprising given the excellent central location. Finally the room curtains were a bit thin and let in a lot of light meaning we were awake early.

Would I return - probably not as its quite expensive and the thoughtful touches aren't as comprehensive as they could be.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Destinationdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night break in lovely Prague, staying at the Savic Hotel. What a gem of a hotel in the old town, its rooms are palacial and fully equipped with all necessities (bathrooms supplies,hair dryer, nespresso machine and a kettle for tea (which was wonderful). The staff are friendly and as helpful as can be. We were greeted with a glass of sparkling wine and beer for our menfolk as their preference, and were given plenty of really helpful information about Prague itself and that was all before checking out the rooms. Breakfast was plentiful, with freshly cooked eggs and omlettes on request, a selection of hot foods, cereals, all continental cold food available (ham, cheeses, cakes coissants etc) and a good selection of fresh fruits.

The Hotel is a very, very, short distance from the old town square and accessible by foot to all areas of Prague, if you find walking difficult then there is plenty of alternative transportation.

There are bars , restaurants at every turn with good and reasonably priced local and international fayre. For example we had a three course meal at the brewery across the road from the hotel reception , followed by coffee, a bottle of sparkling wine and 3 large beers each for the men, which totalled £2,000 Korunas (around £60) for the 4 of us. (to be recommended). (Try the mushroom and potato soup, delicious).

We found another good restaurant, again take a left and left again from the hotel reception and a few yards on the right up a couple of steps is a restaurant called 'Romantica' (you have to go down into the cellar for the restaurant).

One restaurant we wouldnt go to again as the food was awful, is in a square by the 'Irish Bar', not sure of the name but a Pizzeria which had a large conservatory outside (cant miss it) , looked lovely but awful food!!

Everything else was truly wonderful. Our room was 305 which had a splended view of the hustle and bustle of street life in Prague and our friends 304.

If you think of going to Prague and consider this Hotel Savic, then dont hesitate BOOK IT!! YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. There is a little noise of revellers at night, but anywhere in the towns will be the same and didnt cause us any concern or lack of sleep.

Room Tip: Room 305 was excellent with a view. Room 304 very good too.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fourax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Came here to Prague on a very special trip. Staying at Savic Hotel made it even more so. This place is hard to get to, but very much worth it. We got a free upgrade when we told them what the special occasion was. Very nice service. The room was beautiful as well. Love the view of the Prague rooftops. Loved the wood beams inside. The bathroom was all marble. The restaurant is nice too. Cannot say enough how much we liked it here.

Room Tip: If driving here you may want to call ahead and ask for exact directions. It is not easy driving thr...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Savic deserves its high rating on Tripadvisor. It is a lovely hotel, in an ideal location, with very professional staff (mostly) – special thanks to Mira and Samir!

We opted for a transfer from the airport in the hotel’s car (700 CZK) and were glad that we did. The check in process was smooth, but the man who delivered our suitcases to the room – which we had to request – was abrupt.

We were in a twin room (No. 201), which was exceptionally quiet, for our 4 night stay. The beds were large and comfortable, and the linen and pillows were fine. Room lighting was excellent.
Amenities included a large desk and chair, a lounge chair, a Nespresso machine, jug, mini-bar etc.

The walk-in wardrobe had hanging and draw space, and a quality safe.

The marble bathroom was impressive, with quality towels, great water pressure, and L’Occitane products (soap, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion).

The free wifi, while greatly appreciated, was spotty at times.

The weather during our stay was freezing – literally – but the room temperature was perfect and not at all stuffy. The window could be opened if so inclined.

There was a lovely lounge common area on our floor, with an ice machine and shoe shine machine nearby.

Breakfast was good – omelettes and pancakes cooked to order; hot sides of sausages, bacon, mushrooms, and vegetables; a good range of breads and pastries; juices; a selection of fruit; cold cuts; cheeses etc.

The location of the Savic is ideal for walking around the city and for catching trams to attractions further afield. There is a plethora of mini-markets and restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel, and a huge Tesco supermarket about 5 minutes walk away.

One word of warning. There are stairs up and down everywhere, an unavoidable by-product of the building’s former life. My travelling companion fell heavily on the first day and spent most of her time in bed recovering. Thank goodness for the elevator.

I would happily stay here again – highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glynis031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We loved our stay at the Savic Hotel. It could not be better located - a short walk to Old Town and the Charles Bridge. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room included a lovely breakfast in a beautiful glass topped atrium. We stayed in the Jr. Suite which we loved, but a note of caution: This room is not handicapped accessible. There is a wooden staircase you must climb to access the bedroom. If you have no physical limitations I think it is well worth the climb!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julesg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We loved staying at the Savic Hotel and would definitely return. We had a Jr. Suite that was tucked away in the attic. It was a gorgeous room and was so quiet. I never saw another person except the maid! Our breakfast was included and was excellent. Location was wonderful. Walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandywalter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,309 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 647 in Prague
1,732 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 647 in Prague
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#75 of 647 in Prague
1,532 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#27 of 647 in Prague
2,386 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 647 in Prague
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savic Hotel

Address: Jilska 235/7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Prague
#26 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $111 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gothic and Renaissance building, which has in it the original ceiling in certain parts dating to the year 1319, is one of few in Prague. The Savic Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre at Old Town Square, just a few steps away, on the cobbled streets, from the famous Astronomical Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savic Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing