We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fine”
Review of Savic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Savic Hotel
Ranked #36 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I booked this hotel on the basis of the reviews and was disappointed to be honest. It didn't quite live up to the hype. The building itself was lovely and in a brilliant location and the welcome at reception was sweet. They also paid attention to our special request which was good. The room itself was big and clean if a little tired around the edges (torn chair coverings and some dodgy stains on the linen). Loved the bathroom even if it did have some wear and tear.

Unfortunately with the great location came the drunken rabble and despite the double glazing they had installed there was no going to sleep with the singing and yelling carrying on outside. Even so, the bed was comfortable and the room warm (if a little stuffy).
The breakfast was appalling. We only went the once and decided it was better off avoided. The staff were very keen to ignore us and it was only because I went and grabbed one of them that we managed to get some tea. The pancakes were swimming in oil and while my girlfriend said the yoghurt was good all in all it was pretty lousy fare for a 4 star hotel.
Generally speaking the reception staff are informal and nice, the house keeping was done in a timely fashion, the location was brilliant and the room comfortable and warm. Would I go back next time I'm in Prague? No. This felt more high end three star than four. This was decent but I have stayed in much nicer hotels in Europe for a similar price and don't quite understand what has people so excited about this one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank langkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 2,540 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Savic Hotel is the jewel in the crown of the city of Prague. It has a fantastic central location in the old town. All the main tourist attractions and sites are within easy walking distance. As for the hotel itself, it is an amazing blend of ancient and modern. The rooms and all public areas are finished to a high standard. Every area is spotlessly clean. All members of hotel staff are polite and will make the extra effort for their guests. The food is beautifully cooked and presented. I can heartily recommend the Pork Knee (you won't need any fries with this)! Don't miss the Three Silver Roses next door, a micro brewery with welcoming staff, good food and excellent beer. We intend to return to Prague some time in the future and would not consider anywhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is without doubt an exceptional hotel. From the moment we arrived we were offered a complimentary drink whilst the Receptionist checked us in. She then gave us maps and money off vouchers and told us of places to visit. The room was amazing. Wooden floors, mahogany furniture, Nespresso coffee machine with free coffee (which we were told to just ask for more if required), free safe, bathroom with toiletries, hairdryer, bathroom scales. I asked for an upgrade to the superior room in an email as this was a surprise birthday trip for my Husband and although I was given a price of only an additional 20 euros per night, on arrival I was told that we had been upgraded free of charge. My husband was presented with a bottle of bubbly in our room to help celebrate his birthday - lovely touch. The restaurant served lovely food, the waiters attentive. Breakfast was great - especially the pancakes - made on request. A perfect little gem of a hotel right round the corner from the Old Town Square - try it you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 307 superior room was exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dizzy2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Staying at the Savic Hotel for 4 nights gave us the opportunity to see the beautful interior, impecable housekeeping, good selection of breakfast, lovely Nepresso coffee machine in the room - my husband being a coffee lover was very impressed with this. The staff were always friendly and helpful and bi-lingual! We were offered a complimentary drink on arrival and made to feel very welcome. The location is excellent. We would recommend to friends and family. Thank you for a memorable stay in prague!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank right-to-reply79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Just a very short walk (2 mins maybe?) from the old town square. This hotel is a beautifully restored hotel has plenty of old world charm mixed in with modern features. The staff were very friendly and happy to offer advise on were to go (though it was our 3rd trip) and what to see.
The on-site restaurant was very good and quite reasonable, considering it's proximity to the old town square.
All the historic sights of the old town, Jewish quarter and castle are all within easy walking distance. So I would recommend this hotel as an ideal base for any trip to prauge.

**Review is based on a trip in 2006

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dazman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The room we had in the Hotel (room 406) was fabulous. Beautiful oak beams, spacious room, immaculate decor and above what we were expecting (and even above what we thought we had booked). The room (and the rest of the Hotel) was very clean, well maintained and obviously well looked after. The staff were very friendly, spoke good english and gave us tips on things to see, to do, where to eat and anything else we asked. Breakfast was great - the omlettes were cooked to order and catered for my "gluten free" diet - something which was hard to find in other establishments in the city. The hotel is superbly located, minutes from the old town square (if you go the direct route, unlike we did the first day!), but quiet enough to feel away from it all and be a totally relaxing break.

Room Tip: Room 406 - awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sooooooooooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

An amazing hotel which gives the feel of a boutique hotel without the associated price. When we arrived we were welcomed in a lovely lobby at a relaxed desk rather than the usual bland reception counter. Every little detail of the hotel is beautifully restored and wonderfully maintained.
This was our first visit to Prague and we will definitely be back and will definitely stay at the Savic.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 302 which was beautiful if a little warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#8 of 647 in Prague
1,775 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#120 of 647 in Prague
878 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 647 in Prague
2,473 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 647 in Prague
1,235 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savic Hotel

Address: Jilska 235/7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Prague
#26 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#33 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $91 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gothic and Renaissance building, which has in it the original ceiling in certain parts dating to the year 1319, is one of few in Prague. The Savic Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre at Old Town Square, just a few steps away, on the cobbled streets, from the famous Astronomical Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Savic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savic Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing