We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one word: GREAT!”

BUTCHER'S Grill & Pasta
Ranked #125 of 5,498 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $2
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Description: Modern, contemporary, American style restaurant. We offer diverse American classics of exceptional quality. Best in steaks, having anything from local Czech aged steak beef, superb Argentinian rib-eye steaks to unbeatable USDA certified beef (New York Strip Steak, T-Bones etc.). Top salads, from original Caesar to Club, homemade pasta, grilled fish, little bit of us/mexican dishes. We have nice mixed box and open table seating with capacity over 150. Enjoy open kitchen view and watch cooks work on our superb grill. Every Friday live blues music :-)
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
445 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Just one word: GREAT!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Absolutely amazing - attentive, outgoing, friendly staff, amazing atmosphere, good decor, and fantastic USDA American steaks and other dishes. Could only criticize two things: the high level of unnecessary music inside the dining room room and soggy home made-french fries. Amazing apart from that, and well worth a trip if you are in Prague. We were cordially welcomed by the staffer Vaclav Hak, offered a choice of various seating and presented with a fine, very tasty pate with two kinds of crusty breads. My wife ordered so-called "mini" burger, highly stocked with various items, great tasting meat, in a portion for lady who could eat only half of it. For the amazing price of 89 CZK = $4.50!!! I had well cooked, juicy and tender barbecued spare ribs with home-made cole slaw and a heap of (little soggy) french fries. We drank quality French white wine and a soft drink.
The service was absolutely perfect, friendly, attentive - even from 2 waiters, and as said above we could do without the little bit too loud music, although selection of Presley, Sinatra et al suited our mood. However, after asking, the staff turned the volume a tad down. This restaurant is in a walking distance from major hotels such as both Hiltons, Marriot and Kempinski at the border of so-called center. I recommend it for a visit, both lunch and dinner. And a price for all this above: 22 (twenty two) dollars. What a bargain!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ota R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zdeněk P, Manažer at BUTCHER'S Grill & Pasta, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you very much. We now have a new 13 hour mix of american style music, that was taylor made for our restaurant, and we try to keep the level just about right. Sorry for fries, as said above, we fix preparation procedures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    254
    84
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good hamburgers without drowning those to majonais”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We eventually chose this place because Palanda one block away was full with drunken turists and we wanted something more peaceful place to eat. We took butcher's burgers and those were nice surprise. I haven't have many burgers which are good without majonaise but this was exception. The burger was juicy with well spiced minced meat steak and dish was visually rather different than I have seen (positive). Extra points for excellent homemade fries and red barbecue sauce dip. Service was good and food came fast.

Helpful?
Thank ArtoVuori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zdeněk P, Manažer at BUTCHER'S Grill & Pasta, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you very much. We prepare burgers as a fork and knife thing, and try to upgrade burger to a different level. We also bake our own buns (and other breads as well), so I hope you liked this too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent new steakhouse in Prague”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We knew this location in its previous 'Hacienda Mexicana' incarnation, but this is definitely an improvement. It's now a very good steakhouse with excellent service. The steaks were of excellent quality and cooked accurately to our orders. The accompaniments came in generous portions (perhaps a little too generous!) and the house lemonades were delicious.

A little expensive perhaps, but nice as an occasional treat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Has potential, but needs hard work”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The restaurant is on a quiet side street in Prague 1. You can see that a lot of money was spent on the decor, but it did leave us with a "hotel-restaurant" feel, and the led-lighting was not very warm and welcoming.

The menu looked interesting, and very typical American, which excited us. When the waiter came to take the food order, he enquired how we would like to pay (in cash or credit card), which we found to be a very strange and unwelcoming question.

For starters we have a mix of beef tartar, guacamole with chips and quesadilla, all of which were very well executed.

As for the main course, we chose one of their steaks,which the waiter described as "USDA Prime" but upon inspection in the menu were "USDA Choice" which is a lower quality (George Prime Steak does proper USDA Prime in Prague). The meat was cooked perfectly.

The burger only came with the bottom bun, and when asked whether I could have the top, they thought it was a very strange question. Most people apparently eat burgers without the top bun. The meat was well cooked and the fries were ok. I enjoyed the burger.

The desserts were all a bit disappointing. We asked the waiter for the selection, and were offered 3 choices (chocolate cake, cheesecake, tiramisu), and when my friend asked about the French Toast which was on the menu, the waiter said that he did not recommend this.
We ordered all desserts, to taste and share.The tiramisu was a disappointment (for a good one in Prague, visit Pizzeria Al Forno, next door), it was creamy and lacked flavour. The chocolate cake lacked inspiration. The French Toast was more a break-and-butter pudding.

All in all, it was a mixed experience. Service needs most work, and food has potential.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatthijsPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just one word: Awesome!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I was here with my girlfriend for the last evening in Prague. We found this restaurant on TripAdvisor and decided to go there for dinner.
The Service was womderful, they "smelled" it, if we needed something -> they also were very competent!
The food was wonderful, i have never eaten a hamburger (my girlfriend a Steak) this good.
I would recommend Butcher's to everyome, Who loves Meat and likes to have a tasty orgasm ;-)
Really good Restaurant! Visit Butcher's and find it out, must do!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Maximilian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BUTCHER'S Grill & Pasta also viewed

 

Been to BUTCHER'S Grill & Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing